Thread: Haughton River & Morris Creek update?

Re: Haughton River & Morris Creek update?

hi silent ...... fished morris a fair bit when i was a burdekin boy cold shuts the barra down a fair bit, they will hang in the deep holes tho use your sounder (drift over the holes motor off sounder on) and bang em on the head with rattlin spots or use lazer pros where the flats run off into a gutter on the last half of the run out. there are some sneeky rock bars up salty gully that hold good jacks all year round if you use fresh slab mullet (big)

Slider is right Giru International Hotel is a must for a coldie.

All us x NQ's We may need to get together for a beer one day

BigE

Hey Silent,

I feel where u are coming from mate........I moved from Forest Beach to Coffs Harbour about 5 years ago and have not experience the fishing of NQ for a while........ I've planned a trip with my mates to Hinchinbrook leaving on the 5th July and returning on the 15th.....I can't wait......Are there any reports of people fishing the channel recently with any luck?.....I'll be staying at Lucinda for 5 days then Forest Beach for 3 days (fishing around cattle,crystal and orient creeks)....then Townsville for 2days......Any information will be a blessing...

Aaron

Slient

G'day BigE,

Just thought about "meet & greeting" at Townsville boat show on 24/25th June I think which I saw Ad at top. I try work out if I manage my time cos I only stay in TSV for 3.5 days yeah that's short life

Hey Aaron,
    Perhaps you have seen, pass me somewhere it’s really a small planet
    Crystal creek is excellent for landbase fishing especially casting lures for MJ and an odd barra. Cattle creek can be great when you need a boat travel to open and reach the mouth of river then the bless wait!
    Note no boat ramp at Cattle creek.
    When you staying at Lucinda and Forest Beach you can't miss out the greatest fishing spots out there... Hopeful someone will provide you latest info...

Happy fishing
    Silent

I camped the Haughton on the weekend. Bugger all crabs and fish. I think we were just unlucky though. Old mate is right, the guys at the Tackleworld are the bomb rockets for honest info around here. I'm a regular there and they never bullshit me. Stick to live prawns for barra around this time of the year. In this season they tend to prefer them over live mullet. Put two or three on the same hook. They agitate each other and prove an irresistable feast for the preditors of the creek. Good luck mate. Save some for me, huh!!! Check out the bohle upstream too. It's hot too trot right now.

Slient

Hi Mahihahah,

thanks for info and I am counting 8 days to go Hooray and I probably go to Morris Creek for my luck...
    Stay tune

Happy fishing
    Silent

Silent, Did a run today to Morrisey. Didn't end up going the other day when I said I was gonna. Got 9 crabs and a nice jack,absolutely shocking conditions. Fair Dinkum it was that windy it just about blew the paint off the boat. Saw my old mate the croc up the big side creek, he's getting up towards 13 foot I reckon, very scary animal. There still seems to be fish around but this wind's making it hard, should be OK when you get here, we're due for some calm down.

Fished Morriseys two weeks ago mostly small stuff. Took home a feed of bream, cod, two grunter, and flatty. Pretty slow really.
    Have fun

Slient

Thanks guys I'm still counting 4 days down [smiley=laola.gif]

Highly recommend a visit to Tackle World and a chat to Danny, Terry etc

I saw them last October when I was up that way, they got me locked with some beautiful fish, including this 102 cm Barra !!!

Tackle World Townsville "You Rock" !!!!!

Highly recommend a visit to Tackle World and a chat to Danny, Terry etc

I saw them last October when I was up that way, they got me locked with some beautiful fish, including this 102 cm Barra !!!

Tackle World Townsville "You Rock" !!!!!

Craigie

Slient

Hi Craig,

Your barra gave you the bliss...
    Thanks for your recommendation and I will try fit my time to pop in Tackle World Townsville

Happy fishing
    Silent

So how did ya go??
    I grew up in giru but now live far away, talkin to the old man he has caught some grunta on hes last trip to Morrisey, the trick is to go fishing just after those late storms they been getin back home. The run off stirs the whole river into life.
    Dam Tackle World givin away the local secrets >

Slient

Gidday matty,

Here my report if u interested I wish fishing there often till a better chance. never mind and there's always "one day"

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB...1151380334/9#9

Happy fishing
    Silent