Thread: EVANS HEAD .... having a w.e. away - any tips?

EVANS HEAD .... having a w.e. away - any tips?

Hi guys,

A mate has a beach house down in Evans Head (NSW) and we're all going down for the w.e.
    Thought I should pack a rod and maybe target a jew or at least a bream or 2 from the rock/breakwall. Is the Evans River a nice/healthy estuary?
    I've never been down there before and my mate isn't a fisho so ANY help would be appreciated.
    If you don't feel comfortable posting your spot X here feel free to PM me.

Many thanks in advance,
    Herby

Re: EVANS HEAD .... having a w.e. away - any tips?

Unfortunately you are coming just a couple of weeks after the Evans Fishing Classic. Things are often quiet after this but more so on the reefs than the beach. Looking at the weather as far as friday the swell will still be up and the wind strong so I hope Saturday improves for you.

I would look at the beaches for jew if they are fishable and maybe flicking inside the wall with plastics for them and flathead. I would expect some Tailor to be around the wall as well. Maybe with the swell some fish have been pushed into the river but I have not been down there for a couple of weeks so have not heard anything.
    Eat well, drink in moderation, exercise often and yet you still die anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by Hookem_Herby
    Hi guys,

Is the Evans River a nice/healthy estuary?
    Is ok for now BUT. The local council seems to think a poo pipe in the river is a good idea. They want to pump "treated" sewarge into the river about 50 metres inside the entrance with every runout tide. Where does the poo go? what happens when peak holiday season coincides with monsoon rains? Probably not going to be a nice healthy estuary for long. Council doesn't want to spend money on a more enviromentally freindly sewerage treatment system and the voters of evans head don't have enough political weight with a council covering a large regional area.

Tell your mate to find out all he can from the locals (preferably surfers and fishers) make sure he knows "all" the facts and get his voice heard. If he bought property there, I'm sure he'll not be keen to see the beaches littered with cigars and the river ruined.

I'm sorry to hijack your thread but the question triggers an emotive response.

I only heard about his on sunday when I was down there for my Surfboard riders club round. I only know part of it so far. there's got to be more to come.

As for the fishing........I havn't wet a line there for years. 10 years ago I did a bit of rock fishing there. lots of rock ledges to the south of the river. take a back pack and go explore. theres heaps of deep ledges to find. The beach always seems to produce in the gutters. Good Luck.

hi herby, yeah its a clean system at the moment, lets hope it stays that way , i am heading there this w/end also with a bunch of blokes from tintenbar fish club. we will be mainly fishing the river for flattys bream etc. there are plenty of spots down from and around the bridge that can be very productive at times, soft plastics being the go in these areas, possible jew off beach and tailor and bream as alistair has pointed out. we will be in van park in a couple of cabins and 4 or so boats, youre welcome to come say hello , my boat is called Mystique, blue and white with maroon cover, drop in for a sherbert or 2 !!!!! cheers Maxi

Thanks guys!!! Really appreciate the replies.

Orbyroo - no problems mate, glad you voiced your concerns. Always good to bring these things to the attention of others. I'll definitely let my mate know, sounds like something that all the locals should be informed about.

Maxi - if I get time mate I'll drop in for that Sherbert! lol
    Even if I drop in just to say hi and to meet another Ausfisher
    Where's the Tintenbar Fishing Club? Up past Tin Can Bay in Tiaro Shire??

Thanks again,
    Herby

Up the Bar!!! I played for Tintenbar soccer club some years ago (90-93)

Tintenbar is a locality just outside of Ballina. Was once a thriving community with several pubs in the gold rush days. I had a friend who lived on the creek just downstream from the bridge. as kids we would swim in the creek and dive for china.... that is cups, saucers,plates kind of china. Apparently a big flood washed the last pub into the creek.

cheers, Roo

Could try the beach at Broadwater, or take the track past Chinamans beach to snapper rock. Tailor and jew.
    Or keep going onto Airforce beach and down to Jerusalem creek.

Havent been down that way for 15 years. Theyve probably closed all those beachs, or do you need a permit?

Used to rip down Airforce beach in the Mainline ute.
    No, im not that old. It was the old mans beach truck.
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

no permit required at the present but they did try it on. local power won over, wer'nt they a happy lot !!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by maxwellson
    no permit required at the present but they did try it on. local power won over, wer'nt they a happy lot !!!!!!
    Dont believe everything you hear or read. I was/am on the original commitee that brought all this about and while I was a voice against closures of any sort I was still only 1 voice. When it came down to it there was only really one organisation (with alot more clout than mine) that really wanted to close it to all, no guessing who that was as they like to close off most public land > and they tended to take it over and push it along. The rest is history and fortuately sence prevailed but I have read alot of media, both from fishing and other media and am disappointed how often the facts are bent till breaking to try and prove a point. The next 6 months (the Pied Oyster Catchers breeding time) will be interesting. Hopefully a good result for both sides can be had come January.

Now off that topic Went for a drive down the beach at Evans this arvo, what a big swell. Dont like the beach fishing opportunity this weekend.
    Eat well, drink in moderation, exercise often and yet you still die anyway!

Don't forget your fishing permit Herby. I think the minimum is 3 days.