Hey, wanted to know whether anyone has any tips for fishing Cleveland/Raby bay from the shore/jetties etc.
Keen to know what people catch, and what kinda tackle seems to work.
Hey, wanted to know whether anyone has any tips for fishing Cleveland/Raby bay from the shore/jetties etc.
Keen to know what people catch, and what kinda tackle seems to work.
I took my kids there to fish off the public pontoon near the restaurants etc.
We had a bit of fun drowning baits and caught a few tiddlers from under the pontoon - no keepers.
Later in the arvo, I caught a reasonable flounder on the bottom using anchovies.
The missus got bored with sitting there, so we had to leave >
I have seen reasonable schools of mullet hanging around there too. They weren't interested in any of the baits that I had on me at the time, but might take to prawn pieces or dough???
Could also try some soft plastics late in the arvo or early morning if you were a bit more serious.
This time of the year should produce good bream anywhere along the shoreline (Cleveland Point & around ferry terminal) at mid to high water amongst the coffee rock and in the mud around mangroves and shoots. Fish light using a 00-0 running ball sinker on top of a size1-1/0 baitkeeper hook (94427 mustard i think). Use chook gut (fisho from baitshop is good) don't be afraid to load the hook up as the horse bream will take the lot. Early morning or dusk will find you trying to fight/lift them away from allsorts of structure. Shallow water is ok as the bream came up with the tide scrounging the banks.
.....................Billy
Get on the public pontoon in the harbour........ youre not supposed to but hey, its a public pontoon after all.
fish no lead, dough or peeled prawns. Let the hook sink slowly up against the pontoon.
There are some stonker bream sitting under the pontoon, when the hook sinks below the pontoon, they jump out and tak it. best times last hour dark first hour light, just in that hard to see type of dawn.
Gidday Pipebender,
I've not tried here myself, but people often fish along the retaining walls at the entry to the Raby Bay canals. It looks a likely spot, but you might lose a bit of gear.
G'day mate,
I fish at Cleveland Point all the time. Usually do okay. This time of year near the new lighthouse, whole pilly on a gang of 3/0's no lead at high tide @ dawn or dusk you should get a feed of Tailor.
Failing that, anywhere near the end of the point with little weight and pilly cubes or chicken breast on a 1/0 and you'll pick up some nice Bream.
You never know what you'll get there - pretty well caught most species from this spot.
If you see a little fat fella fishing out the back of a white Tarago, come over and say g'day.
Beggsy
Where is this public pontoon?
I've been fishing the Raby bay canals a bit. not the spot in the picture, the next one on the city side....right next to that guy from savage gardens house.
getting a few nice size Tailor, last weekend it was just ells, ells and more ells
Public Pontoon as per pic below
G'Day PB,
Mate I haven't fished here personally either, but I've seen plenty of people having a go along where the red line is too. I've heard reports of bream, small squire and small GTs, might be worth a look.
Good luck,
Tony![]()
Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak
Thanks for all your help fellas, I'll keep an eye out for ya Beggsy![]()