the more chain the better,but, of course you have to be able to store and readily use the anchor som some common sense must prevail, a general use would be about 2 to 3 metres.
What is the appropriate length of chain to run on a Reef Anchor as pictured below on a 5m Glass Long Boat?
Dicko
the more chain the better,but, of course you have to be able to store and readily use the anchor som some common sense must prevail, a general use would be about 2 to 3 metres.
G'day, the length of the boat is a good rule of thumb for anchor chain, though you need to be able to handle it all comfortably. If you have a bowsprit and roller, carry as much chain as you can handle safely.
The chain generally holds the anchor in place, and so holds the boat in place.
rgds
Can you get away with running less anchor chain if you use a anchor springer?
Just be a little careful with the lenght of chain particularly in smaller boats as sometimes it's the chain that snags not the pick and you can loose your pick this way! In bigger boats you can pull the chain with more force thus dislodging it but its harder in small boats.Originally Posted by gelsec
I like 5-6m of short link chain and if you feel you need more wieght to keep the pick down go heaver gauge
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
Just be a little careful with the lenght of chain particularly in smaller boats as sometimes it's the chain that snags not the pick and you can loose your pick this way! In bigger boats you can pull the chain with more force thus dislodging it but its harder in small boats.Originally Posted by finding_time
I like 5-6m of short link chain and if you feel you need more wieght to keep the pick down go heaver gauge
[/quote]
Very true about the chain snagging, I reckon if more scope is used snagging will be reduced as the weight on the anchor and chain should be horizontal, not on an angle up to the boat.
Short link chain is the way to go, it's stiffer than standard long link.
Chain length similar to boat length was what I was getting at, unless you can do all chain.
p.s. when did SpelChek appear.
dicko 1980,
The general rule of thumb is the chain should be the same length as the vessel. If fishing in a coral reef area then the chain should be removed completly, to reduce the damage to the coral out crops.
I find that by threading an inner tube or two from a bicycle on to the chain, it reduces the damage to the side of the vessel and keeps the noise to a minimum. It may also reduce the chance of the chain snaging.
Remember the chain takes all the force out of wave surges etc, thus reducing the actual pull on the anchor.
Tight Lines
Split-shot
Split-shot, how do you ever keep anchored without any chain? I have tried it and it didn't work for me.Originally Posted by split-shot
Dicko, I use 4 m of 8 mm chain for my 5.3 m polycraft. Works well for me. I have never used the type of anchor that you included in the pic, but it looks more designed for rocky reef than coral reef to me. Everyone that I fish with use the standard reef pics that look like four prongs of really heavy gague wire.
Leo
Split-shot, how do you ever keep anchored without any chain? I have tried it and it didn't work for me.Originally Posted by Leo_N.
Dicko, I use 4 m of 8 mm chain for my 5.3 m polycraft. Works well for me. I have never used the type of anchor that you included in the pic, but it looks more designed for rocky reef than coral reef to me. Everyone that I fish with use the standard reef pics that look like four prongs of really heavy gague wire.
Leo[/quote]
I first saw this anchor when I bought my Hooker, as there was a guide boat next to it running the same setup. I was told by the guys at Hooker that they worked a treat. I then showed a photo of it to a mate of mine who is an ex-line fisherman and he said that's all they run on their dories, but only carbon steel as they can lose a few on trips. I only made mine out of stainless as I get it free from work. I'm a Boilermaker
dicko
Leo
I find that if you are fishing on a true coral reef, then your reef pick will have no trouble setting on an outcrop of coral. Anchoring up this way tends to fray your anchor rope, so be careful, but it minimises the damage to the coral. On some reefs that I have fished, they are now anchoring bouys to the bottom and boats must use these at all times. Eco tourism areas are all in favour of this practice.
Tight Lines
Split-shot