PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Scarborough Reef
g'day guys, i've never fished at scarborough reef before and am keen to go and have a try there. this could be a silly question but how far does the underwater part of the reef stretch out before it becomes mud again? i'm asking because i just want to know how close i've got to be to the bit that pokes out the water before i should use a reef pick. am i going to discover this myself by losing a few anchors? thanx, john.
After spending several dozen dives around scarbie reef looking around I think you should be looking at a light reef pic for there. The current there is next to nill so you only have to contend with the wind and a lil wave action.
I have recovered over 20 anchors from that reef during those dives and given most away. There is broken rubble and rock outbreaks scattered for up to 200m from the main reef sections so there is no hard and fast rule of how far away will not snag an anchor. Simply use a light reef pick that is easy enough to straighten out.
thanx for the tip split shot. the home pc is a bit slow for google earth but it's on the work one so i'll have a bit of a bludge and check it out. cheers. i live just over the other side of the bay from redcliffe and have fished the deception bay area for years but never really fished the reefy fringe of redcliffe so i'm keen to give it a whirl.
paddles go there at low tide and check it out there is some good reef out there quite capable of some good squire snapper at low tide you can pick your spots and come back at high to fish it it would be good to get some advice of some locals that know the reef well i think send fishing dan a pm he is in that area and might give you some advice
g day all i was just wondering if maybe few people could put a few pics up of some snapper they have caught off the reef as i was there today and all i could catch is snags lol would be great to see a few pictures of other peoples catches cheers matt woods
thanks dynamic i'll do the low tide recce first. matty have a look in the reports there's a few in there. it sounds like being pretty quiet and going when it is quiet is the go if i have read between the lines of some of those reports.
Paddles - Do a search through this section (And reports) for "Redcliffe" and "Scarborough". There has been heaps of stuff writen about it. If you find anything written by Dezzer, REMEMBER it! (He is God in that area )
In terms of plastics, go for the bigger ones 4"-5". Salt Water Assassins, Zooms & Berkley Powerbaits have done well for me. Use as little weight as possible (1/12th-1/4Oz) but all dependant upon current.
Your best option is actually to do multiple drifts rather than anchor. Then it won't matter what anchor you've got Drifting lets you cover more ground, and find the fish.
Cast the plastics ahead of you, let it sink, give it a few flicks up, then let it sink again - all the way back to the boat. Repeat That's about it! Fishing with plastics is actually really easy.... It's the getting fish bit that's hard The best thing to do though is just get out there and do it. Have patience and keep at it. Once you get the first couple, it will all click into place.