I heard they are running around wellington / victoria point bighting on worms and squid. A report I heard of a fellow catching circa 200 out the front!!!
Good luck. Let us know how you go!
hi everyone , heading up to southern end of bay on sunday does any body know if there are any winter whiting about my kids are exited about catching some & whats your best bait .
thanks
shubee
I heard they are running around wellington / victoria point bighting on worms and squid. A report I heard of a fellow catching circa 200 out the front!!!
Good luck. Let us know how you go!
thanks madman1 ,just saw the the weather forcast & its not looking too good for sunday ,might have to let them grow for another week.
shubee
Took the kids out fishing for whiting last Sunday. The whiting were a bit hard to find, but finally found them in the Small Ships Gutter in 25ft of water. The kids had a ball. The whiting were biggest whiting seen in a couple of years. Called it a day after we had put 50 in the esky. I didn't want to have to clean any more when I got home.
Dinner was nice that night!
A good little spot I have discovered for winter whiting is a spot in Tingalpa creek.
There is a house boat of sorts, anchored up in the creek, in front of the dirt boat ramp, on The Esplanade which runs off Railway Parade at Thorneside.
Anchor up between this house boat and the railway line bridge at high tide. This area is a large sand flat and winter whiting school up here and subsequently good catches can be made.
For land based fisherman, standing on the bank at the dirt boat ramp with a good cast, will put you right on the whiting feeding spot also.
Another benefit of this spot, is that even if it is too windy to venture out into the bay, you can still do some fishing and expect to make a good catch.
Hope this helps
Louis
Further to my preceeding post.
With regards to bait, I don't think that you can go past blood worms for whiting.
Use sizes 6, 8, or 10 long shanked hooks.
There are plenty of winter whiting around at the moment and also the occasional golden lined whiting.
Remember that there is no size limit on Winter Whiting, but a size limit of 23cm applies to Golden Lined Whiting
Louis
On another subject. # Tingalpa creek is quite a good mud crab fishery.
Despite the, "Forget about crabbing in any month without the letter 'R' in it rule", people, including myself, are catching crabs during winter these days. #
So perhaps think about dropping some pots also.
Louis
thanks guys , tingalpa creek seems to be a pretty good spot for boat & land will have to give it a go
thanks again
shubee
A mate of mine went over to the Banana Banks last week and landed over 200 between him and three others, on cribbies but I reckon when they're schooling you can catch just as many on squid strips. I have sat side by side with mates using worm while I'm using squid and I haven't done any worse...........................Billy
Shubee, i took my 4yo off wello last week, 12ft tinnie, middle of the day. out through the leads, turn left at the second last set and travelled about 200m toward the huybers.
we were getting the buggers on squid strips. Shaman is right, this time of year, you are wasting worm. if they aren't thick, its a different story tho. caught about 30 in an hour and her little arms were tired, so called it a day. i think i got about 5 of those, as i was busy baiting and de-hooking. great fun for the kids.
plenty out there, good luck.
damo
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.