Wooli - any info

Thread: Wooli - any info

FishOn

Wooli - any info

I and others will be going to Wooli shortly for a week. We will have a 6.5 m boat and will be fishing offshore (hopefully). I am trying to get as much info before we get there.

I was there once a few years ago just for a look around. I seem to recall the entrance being very narrow (about 10m), and short, with rock breakwalls (facing NE) that could develop into a hairy crossing in particular situations.

Any comments on the bar/entrance would be appreciated.

Has anyone got any locations, points, and info what to catch where? Or any other advice?

Thanks greatly in advance.
    Trevor

Re: Wooli - any info

therte is a charter operator at wooli , i would suggest a trip over the bar with him or at least watch him a couple of times, alternatively the river has plenty of options to explore. take care on that bar mate, yes it is skinny and tretcherous at times. Cheers Maxi

G'day mate, have to agree with Maxi.
    Another option, have a squiz at Minnie Waters , beach launching but quite safe. Went out in a cat once that was 7 metres and no hassles launch, or retrieve......and there are close in reefs if needed. Also, a lot closer to the Sandon reef system. If you decide on Minnie, follow another boatie out through the channel.

wayne_cook

hi trev i fish up that way a few times a year.
    the bar can be nasty so most of the time i use the minnie ramp.
    watch the mps areas but there are plenty of good grounds with pearl perch reds tuskies all being fairly common .It is a good area and can produce well if u work hard,but u do have to look around.The big Island is always worth checking out if the currant isn't to strong or the alligator gars arn't in plague proportion,but u shouldn't have to go that far.

cheers bear

Trev,

Did a charter at Wooli earlier this year, and all of the above is correct. The office for the charter is next to the servo and pub if you wanted to drop in and have a chat about the bar etc.

Seamus

Nah...you guys are way off...no fish, lousy launching, killer bar...nothing down there , why not Yamba

Good luck

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Play nice Rhys!!

Seamus