-
Ausfish New Member
houseboating coomera
I am going on a houseboat in the coomera river friday 11th aug.. Will try my hand at sp fishing for bream and or flathead. Can any one suggest some general areas around the there I might give a try. I have a reasonable size tinnie so I am mobile and not restricted to the houseboat. Most of fishing to date has been in the pine river and north.
Any help would be appreciated.
REgards
Dean b.
-
Re: houseboating coomera
Did a houseboat in the coomera a couple of years ago mate. Spent a lot of time at the pub but a good spot worth trying is the rock walls in front of sanctuary cove. Cod and trevally are a good bet all year with moses perch a close second. Give it a go late in the day and you might nail a jack. Cheers
-
how long you on the water for????? I would recommend the pin area, five ways and kalinga bank overnighting in the bedroom, if wind in south east. All the above in beacon to beacon. Good luck, may get a jewie at top of tide swan bay entrance.
-
around the mouth of the north arm can produce fish most days, either that or around the mouth and inside pimpama river.
-
Last time I did Coomera Houseboating we had no lucj with the fish - mostly rays and a small bream.
There were plenty of Mud crabs though and some of them came from the most unusual areas - like Sanctuary cove area and other high traffic areas.
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks to you all for your suggestions I will give them a go. In answer to the first question I pick the boat up friday arvo and drop it back monday morning. just my wife and myself going so minimum drinking therefore I hope plenty of fishing time( yes she likes fishing).
Thank you all once again.
Dean
-
You can get some good size fish were you picked up the the boat from lol, jacks, bream, flattys so on.
-
Ausfish New Member
Went houseboating beginning of July and moored just of Currigee near the kids camp, not far of the seaway, had my boat for fishing the seaway but caught lots of bream just on the houseboat, only trouble there is the boating traffic that comes by, some of the larger boats don't care how fast they go the wash can be pretty big.
Irene
-
just make sure you read the map and use your brain when navigating the coomera...otherwise youll end up like every other houseboat...high and dry, with big white paint marks on the front after hitting all the beacons.
-
Mate they are a challenge offshore though otherwise I'd give you a few marks,
-
g'day mate . if u get down to near the seaway dritf incoming in your tinny from inner seaway wall opp wavebreak on straddie side . use 3 o;s on pillie with no weight on 20plb leader.get in close near the gibbers and get the net ready. good luck.. ; D
-
Opposite sanc cove theres a boat ramp and a few houses and jetties. Anywhere along there is good.
Also try the intersection of Coomera rvr and coombabah ck near jabiru is. Anywhere along the esplanade rock wall or bridge pylons.
Come to think of it, any rock wall will do.
andrew