Thread: Barwon Banks for Small Tinnies

Sportfish_5

Re: Barwon Banks for Small Tinnies

Yeah true about in close

Why would you drive over fish to maybe get fish out deeper

You don't have to go to the banks to catch good fish, and even if you do get out there, there are no guarantees that you will land a quality catch.

Spend more time on the close reefs and refine your skills. I get alot of satisfaction of taking quality fish in my 4.5 m tinny, usually from spots less than 15 km from land. IMHO, much more kudos in that than going where the fish are thick and helping yourself.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Would any kind fellas share a gps mark for murfies. i will try that option on saturday if weather permits and deckies availables. Or Is anyone else going out i can tag along??

Tim,

the major pinnacle at Murphies is S26 40 363, E153 14 343. Water depth is about 27 m and distance about 12 km from Pt Cartwright. I suggest you start looking for your own ground from here. Larger fish do not generally hold in the shallower part of a reef.

Good luck!

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Where is Murphies is it on the sunshine coast or of Brisbane. (Just wondering, hav'nt got any good spots yet)

DORO

Quote Originally Posted by DORO
    Where is Murphies is it on the sunshine coast or of Brisbane. (Just wondering, hav'nt got any good spots yet)

DORO

Sunshine Coast Doro

I think in the years to come there will be many little boats going out where only bigger craft dare to venture now days,they will be 4/stroke powered high sides and a beachy type bow, fully self draining.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo59
    I think in the years to come there will be many little boats going out where only bigger craft dare to venture now days,they will be 4/stroke powered high sides and a beachy type bow, fully self draining.
    I fully agree Jimbo59 as you just discribed my boat to a T except for the high sides!!! mines got low sides ( foam filled)but is full self draining so side height isn't really an issue ( i have good wet weather gear!! ) My last big trip offshore was a round trip of 280km's for 86 liters of fuel!

It regularly goes to the banks

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

guy's small boats on the reef pretty much how it is now how often do you see anything much over 20ft ? on my 16ft clark i have alum stabilizers welded on my canopy has being turned into a canvas cabin filled in the hand rails with alum sheeting next i'm putting flotation pods on back but leaving my motor where it is would love a self draining set up had one on a glass boat in nz where the waves break over you no worries at all will post pic of mine if anyone is interested cheers

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time
    [quote author=jimbo59 link=1155611534/15#21 date=1155806512]I think in the years to come there will be many little boats going out where only bigger craft dare to venture now days,they will be 4/stroke powered high sides and a beachy type bow, fully self draining.
    I fully agree Jimbo59 as you just discribed my boat to a T except for the high sides!!! mines got low sides ( foam filled)but is full self draining so side height isn't really an issue ( i have good wet weather gear!! ) My last big trip offshore was a round trip of 280km's for 86 liters of fuel!

It regularly goes to the banks

[/quote]
    And sometimes he just stands someone on the right side of him to save having to put the wet weather gear on!!!!

I have been out there several times in a 16ft Clarke abalone (low sides) .... and caught a lot of fish too ... there hasn't been many times that I have come back without having my bag limit ... if you are considering it I suggest you think about the following things

1) Weather ... has to be good (less than 10 knots) and at the hint of blowing up come straight back in? Learn to predict weather and make calls (even if the fish are biting)
    2) Reliability ... you have to be able to depend on your machine, can you?
    3) Fuel ... can you carry enough to get out there and back with a decent reserve? (With my 40hp mercury I used to carry 110L with 60hp FS yammy 70l)
    4) Navigational skills ... can you navigate back through bad weather by compass (not gps) if required? Always be aware of where you are at all times and know the heading to get back to port.
    5) Skill ... do you know how to handle your craft in adverse weather?
    6) Physical ability ... can you and your crew withstand the pounding if it does blow up?
    7) Safety gear ... is everything up to date and accessible? Does your crew know where it is and how to use it?
    8) Communication .. do you have a dependable VHF radio?

And lastly don’t forget to sign in to VMR and sign out when you get back inside the harbour.

These are the questions I ask myself before venturing offshore.

Sam

I know this post is not quite on the exact topic but the term “small tinny” means different things to different people and I always get criticisms from people about heading out in my “small tinny”

Many of these people also would not know their East from their West or upon viewing a glassy ocean, say things like “ it looks like a nice calm sea out there today” but they fail to notice the two metre swell cracking on the back sandbank right in front of their eyes!!!

It's the knowledge, experience and skill of the guy driving the boat that usually determines how far you can push it. How many times have you heard of blokes in nice offshore rigs who get creamed because they didn’t know what the hell they were doing? (For example, driving the boat down the face of a wave in the bar on the way in – boats don’t surf very well that’s for sure!!)

When I'm putting my 13 foot Quinnie in at the ramp, the boys in the 6mtr+ rigs laugh at me cause I say i'm going outside. (only just outside though)

One particular day back at the ramp, the smile disappeared off the face of a certain crew pretty quick when the wiseguys asked " so how'd ya go?" That's when I casually showed them the esky with the big snapper tails sticking out & said "yeah, not bad - only spent $5 bucks fuel too" (meanwhile, they've been all over the ocean, spent $150+ fuel and caught bugger all!)

I carry all the safety gear(flares, epirb, vsheet, radio, phone, etc, etc) ,

only go out when it's flat( and I know it's going to stay that way),

only fish in close (eg: 12 or 18 fathoms, Palmy, Mermaid reef or Fidos out from the Tweed) ,

have surfed here all my life so crossing local bars is not a problem (if you surf – you know how to read waves – doesn’t mean you have equal ability in driving a boat )

spent 8 years in the Coast Guard seeing plenty of big boat owners get pulled out of the sh%t!

and I am very careful to be aware of exactly what's going on with the conditions and any weather changes, etc. (which always give you plenty of notice if you know what to look for)

I am not advising every gumby with a 13 footer to think they can just head on out there but if you have the experience, safety gear, a reliable outboard with plenty of power and are careful, fishing in close on good days is definitely possible – and you’re rarely on your own out there anyway.

Mick.

P.S - went out to Fidos on Sat nite, Tweed bar was cranky on the bottom of the runout, worked hard for half a dozen squire, and then a magic carpet ride back in after the evening land breeze flattened the chop out and the top of incoming tide turned the bar into a lake - love it !!!

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]