Thread: Kingie Reef?

Darryl

Kingie Reef?

Just reading an article in a fishing mag about offshore Gold Coast and it refers to Kingie Reef, does anyone know where this is that could steer me in the right direction?

Darryl.

Jim_Byrne

Re: Kingie Reef?

Darryl, I dont know of a reef by that name, but is there a reef of Kingscliffe in Northern NSW?

Darryl

There is a reef system of Kingscliffe Jim but the article says off The Goldie, Ive never heard of the reef though.

I have got marks off kingscliffe that hold kingies but thought this one would be closer?

Darryl.

There is a reef right off Kingscliff.
    I have talked to many people who have fished it.
    I reckon that would be the reef he was talking about.
    Do you know how far offshore the reef was???

cheers jono

Hi Darryl,

the Kingie reef is well offshore from Southport. Haven't got any marks as it's a bit far for the 3.9 explorer but the reef is very well known amongst offshore fishos on the coast so someone should be able to give you some directions.

It think it got it's name because of the kingfish they catch there, (surprise, suprise!) the local charter boats have been flogging it for years. When you see a charter boat on the news with everyone holding a kingfish, guess where they've been?

Jono, you're not thinking of Cudgen reef/Kingscliff bombies straight out the front of the bar are you?

Mick.

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Darryl

Cheers fellas, sounds to me that it is the 50's n/e of the seaway where all the charter boats hang.

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Jackinthebox
    Hi Darryl,

Jono, you're not thinking of Cudgen reef/Kingscliff bombies straight out the front of the bar are you?

Mick.
    Yer mate thats the one.
    Often heard it referred to as Kingie reef.

cheers jono