PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Mangrove Jack
Hey guys, i'm new to the forum . I tasted magrove jack the other day for the first time and it was delicious!!! And now i really want to catch some , has anyone got any tips on how to catch mangrove jack?? Do you guys reckon they would be commom in the noosa river? What strength fireline and leader should i use? And i am going to get a new rod & reel setup for tartgeting mangrove jack, so any ideas of what would rod, reel would suit tartgeting mangrove jack only?
Mate there are plenty in the noosa river from what I have seen and heard. They are easier to catch in the warmer months of the year as the are more active.
I have not cought or targeted them yet, but plenty of Ausfishos do and I'm sure they can help you out on setup and gear for them.
Look in some of the previous posts in saltwater pics and you'll find some pics of noosa jacks. I have never fished noosa but will give you my 2 cents on general jack fishing.
I would use 12-15lb fire line with 15-20lb leader and fish late at night or early morning near some structure with a live poddy mullet. I don't know what rod and reel you got so can only recomend 2500 size spin reel with 2-4kg rod. If your drifting rock walls for big brusiers you will have to use heavier gear but the above is good enough for your average jack(1-3kg). Use 1m or more of leader with a small or no sinker. I hook the poddy through the nose with mustard hoodlums or big guns. Fish the summer/autumn months for best results. Good luck.
Mate check out/keep an eye on the fishingnoosa website, they have weekly updates on what is being caught in the river.
I am still to land one of these hard fighting specimens, however i'v hooked up and lost a good number of them in the woods bay area by using live bait (herring)
I think your best bet would be to go and have a chat to the guys down at Davo's, they know what their talking about.
The closest I have come to a JACK is also by eating one. I am trying as well.................I am using 30lb braid with 60 lb nylon leader. Been smashed up very very close to rocks up here in Townsville and I suspect Jacks. I will prevail as will you and one day we can both post pics of our first ever Mangrove Jack.
The challenge is on for who gets the first Jack........he!he!
We had a lot of success on a NT holiday a few years back. The idea was to find the snaggiest snarliest bit of river bank - usually where the bank had collapsed and left old standing trees out of the water. Get right in the middle. Lower a piece of squid into the snags - raise it back a metre then sit and hold tight. They would hit like freight trains.
Thanx for the replies guys!! I fish from a kayak so by the sounds of things i'm going to get towed a fair bit when i catch one of these things , sounds like fun!!! I'll prob go down to davos now get a new setup , i just love buying new gear, lol.
Try betwen the two lakes, where the river narrows and is full of snag. throw lures right into the meanest territory you can find and hang on.
Also, try under the bridges. Fish in hard against the pylons. A good trick is to throw SP's up against the tide flow, let them drift down and hit the bottom, then bounce them along with the current against the base of the pylons where there is lots of rock and concrete. SWIK soft plastics in the 7.5cm and 10cm sizes fished on heavy TT jigheads are a good option here. Try the Pearl or Livebait colours to immitate the prawns they are feeding on.
hey mate i go catching jack on the gold coast and get a coupple. i use 20lb braid and 14-20lb leader on a 17lb diawa over head rod with a cronarch 101bsv so any shimano reel would be suteble for jacks and live herring or pottys will work but i stick to lures havent use bait in agesso like a ralpla husky jerk or a bommber would be good hardy bodys but for plastics i would use a 3 inch gulp shrimp or a squgie slik rig hope u get a few
zach