Thread: How's Fraser ?

How's Fraser ?

G'day All,

We have a trip planned for Fraser in 2 weeks.

We will be mainly at Orchid Beach / Waddy Point and I was just after the "heads up" on what has been caught and where.... and is there any weed around this year?

My first trip to Fraser was last year, and we struggled to get a line in the water due to the massive rafts of weed all up the coast.

I cant wait to get up there again ... there is just something about Fraser.

Re: How's Fraser ?

Gorilla_in_Manila

Pete,

Make sure you read the new legislation that has come into effect today 1 sept 2006. GSS marine park.

One line / one hook, the whole length of the east coast of fraser. I'm not sure, but I presume the one hook defenition still allows up to 4 ganged hooks to be counted as one hook as per current dpi rules, but better check it. But guess snelling 2 hooks to hold a livie is out.

jeff

Giday Pete , was at Fraser last weekend . No weed and great fishing friday but by sunday morn wind direction changed and the weed made it very hard but still heaps of fish around .
    cheers brad

Headin out of Brisvegas tomorrow to Fraser for a week , so will let u know when I get back, although it sounds as though the weed is back.

Seamus

Ahhh Slider ... I didnt read your other post 'till now... (I didnt even know the stuff was called Hincksia weed)

Looks like fun again

Gorilla, thanks for the advice on the new rules ... I looked on the DPI site, but couldnt locate them ... any ideas / links?

G'day Brad, I did read your report ... sounds like you had a good trip and some good fishing. You certainly managed a good variety.

Seamus, good luck and I look forward to hearing your report when you get back.

Gorilla_in_Manila

Dereck has put up a post in the news section.
    Maps and rules on the various links on the epa website.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1157022068

Jeff

I gotta get 'round the site more.

Pete...I'm jealous!!!

but then there gotta be some reward for hard work...hope you enjoy your hols and bag a heap of SNAPPER BAIT!!!!!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

There's been a couple of good posts on Fraser recently, if you missed them......
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1156310604
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1156057267

G'day Rhys,

I'll catch plenty of bait if you can take us to the Snapper

(I cant seem to catch Snapper)

But I am very good at catching bait

Scalem, thanks for that ... I have been deliberately avoiding the fish catch posts, as having my boat in dry dock and watching everyone else partake in my favourite passtime is a surefire way of creating manic depression [smiley=bomb.gif]