any1 use waders when beach fishing? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: any1 use waders when beach fishing?

Re: any1 use waders when beach fishing?

Whoops, must have logged on to a South Australian site here.

Have never used them and never will. Restricts my mobility too much and with water temps a min of 19 degrees have never found the need. Good jacket to keep the wind chill factor out a must however. But then I don't find the need to fish at night either with spinners doing as well or better during the day and the work load assisting in keeping warm. My surf fishing tends to be a combination of a fish and a swim and I enjoy that aspect of it. Keep a dry shirt and jumper in the truck for when things do become uncomfortable and of course a stubby cooler.
    Socks, tracky dacks - think Errol Stewarts had a slogan that fits the bill here.

Lindsay

Gorilla_in_Manila

The other alternative is Stormbird bib and brace. Like Nylon snow ski pants.

Keeps you warm in winter and not as sweaty as standing round in a rubber body stocking in warmer weather. Not actually waterproof since there are no shoes in them, but still warm and if you do get a wave down your waders, you are standing in it for the rest of the trip anyway. I wear my wetsuit / rubber "rockhopper" booties with them. Got splash proof pockets for smokes, car keys, wallet etc. My set only cost me about $40. I certainly wouldn't wear waders and don't usually bother with the stormbirds unless its really cold.

Jeff

Mine are Orvis with separate boots which are also really good to use on their own. They are expensive but I got them from my late uncle's family when they were cleaning up his stuff after he passed away. i also got one of those zip up vests with heaps of pockets which I wear on every fishing trip now.

When i hit ballina in mid july, i definately wear them.. Its way to cold being a QLD'r down there

totally agree with slider, restricts you way to much on the beach esspecially if you got to run 200m in under 10 sec to get to that big tailor before he pulls your rod out to sea

i problly use them once or twice a year if it is realy bad weather or a cold snap, and then yes its the tracky dacks with the socks pulled over the tops so you can slide into them easily.

other then that i try and avoid them... the adrenilin of beach fishing keeps me warm, especialy when its firing all night long or youv'e landed that big monster.

Drew

It's ok to sit in front of the pc inside the house at Noosa in September with a blanket over the knees and hot coffee and toasted sangers for lunch though isn't it? 'Bunch of softies'!!

Well it is raining outside.

jimlawler1980

Yeah slider I think most of us would be happy to be doing that right now.

Ah well back to work....

And its raining down here a strathpine to!

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

I wear them most times I am beach fishing, but most times I am fishing a beach its the middle of winter and on sunup or down I wouldn't use them in any other area as your balance and grip is limited bigtime and if you do go down and get too much water in them your screwed. even with quick release clips the water presure in the waders will stop you getting your feet out I usually use a long rainjacket over the top of mine and do all the clips or zip up then clip my gimble over the top of the jacket as tight as i can stand. Have been hit on the chest by a wave that decided to stand up when i ventured out a little to far to cast and didn't get any water in my waders at all due to being done up tight I did nerly end up on my arse in 4+ foot of water doing this though ...

They are a great adition to your beach fishing equipment but just be safe and never never wear them fishing the rocks!! Seen one bloke on fraiser get hit by a wave fishing indian head wearing waders and he washed back 5 metres across the rocks in between me and my dad (yes he was out a little too far also).. he was very lucky there was someone there to grab his hand and stop him going back out with the wash..

gota run, sorry this post is a little "messy" due to being typed quickly as SOME of us have to work (thanks Slider for reminding me of how lucky some are!!!! > Lol).

Tight Lines
    Brandon...

Am working mate - well was. Just serviced a TSS4 in prep for a spin at the mouth. The Lux will be working too with a high tide run.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Lol you call that work I tell ya i wish i never got into computers should have followed my dream!! Lol... I would prefer to be servicing my reels then what i am doing

Good luck with this arvos session Mate

Brandon...

what a bunch of softies
    when I lived in Sydney , we used to do sunrise beach fishing sessions in winter, always wore a pair of bordies and a decent jacket. the sand was so cold you'd rush just to put your feet in the water to warm them up

If it was a really cold morning I'd put on a pair of wet boots.

Quote Originally Posted by Slider
    Whoops, must have logged on to a South Australian site here.

Lindsay
    yeah mate....hardy bloody ha...just wait till you and Drew get old and soft like me...

there is only one thing worse than not going fishing, and that's freezing to death on an allnighter. sometimes even the bundy won't do the trick. Don't listen to the he men macho guys, go get youself some waders, be a big girl like the majority of us here..

Hey Linds, sorry I missed your trip to Bris, will catch up next time

Stu

I believe only cockroaches can handle the cold down that way Juzo. Think that's why my compass only has an N on it.

Down next Sat Stu and then away for two weeks - northwards.

Well if waders can contribute to catches like this one then I might go that way in my old age.

yep, he's one cool dude....might even grow into those waders one day

see Linds, age and experience will come to us all if we live long enough

Just one more tip on waders make sure you have a leak before you put on the socks, tracky dacs, jumper, jacket etc because trying to strip whilst holding a rod to do a pee takes a while!!!
    Karrier