Thread: weeked fishing on morton

weeked fishing on morton

hi ppl just headin up to morton is this weekend for a wedding but straight after im gunna wet a line .anyone got some spots within walking from tangalooma resort and wats the local bait there?

Re: weeked fishing on morton

how are you kiwiboy,i have fished along to the left of tangalooma a bit just walking the shallows,lots of stingrays and bream the odd tailer and whiting soft plastics are our lure of choice,berkley minnows in pearl watermelon and pumkinseed also squidgies.if you have trouble hooking anything take the plastic off your jighead and cast out to the stingrays let them swim over he jig then jag them thru the flipper great fun in the shallows you get some thumpers swimming thru too.cheers AL

yea mate, off the jetty there is everything from kingies to sharks been caught there, just not while they are feeding the dolphins

Bream galore off the jetty, use bread on an unweighted hook. Flathead and sand whiting off the beach both north and south of the jetty. Heaps of different species caught from around the wrecks. Good luck, I'll be there myself in less than 2 months.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

cactus_jack

G'day Kiwi,

If you walk up as far as the wrecks (about 1/2k north) and can cast over the channel you can pick up some nice squire, bream or flatties. Have also brought in the odd wobbiegong (released) and something that took a mates rod out of the sand and into the channel, when I swam out to retreive it it pulled against me into the current before bending the hooks and dissapearing forever (he had a 3 gang rig with a full pilchard, and yes it bent two hooks straight) don't know to this day what it was but it was big and strong but slow (maybe dugong?).

When I've been over there i've only had a beach rod, so have been able to cast over to the wreck with a large surf sinker, not ideal but the only way to get that far without a boat.

BTW beware of the current near the wreck if going for a swim, it can be strong and deceiving, had to pull more than one tourist out of there.

Cheers, good luck
    Cactus Jack