Thread: NOT AGAIN!?!?!???!??!!!

NOT AGAIN!?!?!???!??!!!

I'M AM A DEEPLY FRUSTRATED MAN!
    I HAVE FINALLY FIGURED OUT WHERE TO GET THE LOCAL LIVIES CONSISTENTLY.....SO WITH THE LEAD UP TO THE FULL MOON AND A FEW NICE HIGH TIDES AROUND NIGHT FALL IT WAS TIME TO CHASE SCHOOL JEW IN THE RIVER.....THEY'RE THERE ALRIGHT, THE LAST TO NIGHTS HAVE PROVED THAT.....WITH EVERY BAIT THAT HITS THE WATER GETTING EATEN....BUT I'M STRUGGLING TO HOOK EM....BASTARDS! IM USING A SINGLE 4/0 MUSTAD PENETRATOR HOOKED STRAIGHT THROUGH THE NOSE OF THE HERRING....THIS ALLOWS THEM TO SWIM WITH EASE....BUT I CANT SEEM TO GET A SOLID HOOK UP....THEY HIT THE BAIT WITH A SCREAMING RUN (PRESUMABLY TO KILL THEM) THEN WILL SUCK AND PLAY WITH IT FOR A WHILE AND FINALLY SCREAM OFF AGAIN.....IVE TRIED STRIKING THEM AT ALL STAGES OF THE "BITE" BUT WITH MIXED RESULTS.....WOT DO I DO? IVE TRIED USING A SNELL WITH TWO HOOKS, BUT IT HASNT INCREASED THE CHANCES NOR THE RESULTS....DO I USE CIRCLE HOOKS? IM WORRIED ILL F%$CK IT UP WHEN I STRIKE.DO I STRIKE? SHOULD I USE EM OR WHAT?

TO BE OR NOT TO BE?????

THIS IS AGONIZING....TO KNOW THEY'RE THEIR BUT NOT B ABLE TO CATCH EM....

PS THEY ARE ABOUT 2KG BUT SOME BIGGER ONES ARE PRESUMED TO BE LURKING AROUND......

ANY HELP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED.....

I'LL LEAVE IT TO THE BRAINS TRUST OF AUSFISH TO RESOLVE MY WOES.....HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: NOT AGAIN!?!?!???!??!!!

BUMP

I would go a circle hook, and let the fish hook itself... Jewies commonly run with a bait in their mouth, so it isnt unusual for them to spit the bait under the slightest suspicion. Let them take it, but dont wait around too long, and simply apply pressure without a big strike of the rod.

Alternatively use a stinger hook and sit the stinger near the anal fin... Herring aren't the hardiest livies so a stinger hook may affect their mortality rate.

Better yet... If you are certain there are soapies around... then use a soft plastic... this technique should result in an instant hook up! I catch the majority of my jewies on plastics...

Good luck

thanks mate.....ive tried the stinger hook, but it does seem to make them die alot faster.
    ive tried placcys, trust me.lol but they seem to have an accquired taste of herring......i dunno......so how do u actually set the hook with a circle hook? i use a baitrunner.....do i just snap the reel into gear or what???? do i just applied a lilttle more tumb pressure on the spool until it comes up tight????

any help would b much appriciated......

ps. all fish are released!

Magicmarlin, where arre you fishing for them. I am targeting the crafty buggers myself and having simialar problems.
    Jewienewie

Marlin Magic,

Thats right, let the rod load itself up... You dont need to strike with a circle hook.

im with daz use a circle hook but let it hook its self

MM,

School Jew love worms. Sand or blood worms will work in the river. A 2kg fish will engulf them. You will not have to worry about when to strike. Some of the old salts swear by beach worms for really big jew too.

Give it a try, even if it is only another rod out on the side of your live baits. Use a metre of trace and fish as light as conditons allow. Top and bottom of the tides are best.

LW

thanks for all that have contributed.....i fish entirly in a system in far north nsw.....its not renowned for its jew action, and very few people ever fish it for these buggers although i believe the population is somewhat fragile.....to lone_wolf mate ive used worms in the past and they are deadly but i seem to hit a larger run of fish if i use livies, plus the bream and lil pickers are also a problem so, livies it is....plus i often get jack, tevally and steve irwin sized croc-flathead thrown in if im using herring/poddies. i would like to get into em with placcys tho....i recently used some berkley gulps in the pogey shap.....with not so much as a bump.....do they really work that well after dark? i think i must just have it stuck in my head that they cant, (i must just be in denile that im a spastic lure fishermen.lol) anyway thanks again and if anyone else out ther has any questions or ideas for me to try i would be very welcoming....

thanks again

mm

Left_Hand_Gun

Magic Marlin
    Can't help with the problem as i don't target them but I'm sure as hell glad that the Sharkies targeted Ricky!!!
    40 years without a trophy! Maybe now eh?
    Sorry all, I know it's a fishing forum but couldn't resist when I saw the Rooster crest.
    GO THE SHARKS!!!!
    See you
    Left Hand Gun

...ps. spent the arvo putting rod holders in my NEW Perception Swing.
    Here I go...

Magic Marlin,

I went through the same phase... Not having confidence with a new technique or product! I remember when I was first introduced to braided line opposed to monofilament... I wasn't very confident, and thought that it would adversely affect my fishing. Likewise for soft plastics...

However, I was persistent and motivated myself... I finally built up the confidence and both these products have improved my fishing...

Just keep trying!

thanks dazsamfishing...ive got all the confidence in the world when using them on other species.....but yeah i guess its up to putting in the hours....

and left hand gun......dont get me bloody started with the sharkies and ricky stewart.....mate im heading down in november to do preseason for the roosters flegg side.....we certainly lost a great man.....hard to replace.....

thanks to all

Left_Hand_Gun

Magicmarlin

Good luck with the footy.Who do I look out for in the Roosters flegg side?
    Best
    Left Hand Gun

Magicmalin, i fish the richmond river ballina for them, so you fish this system much for them? Let me know how you go regarding the circle hooks, i am very keen to hear from your experience with them.
    Jewienewie

ummmmm.......well lets just say it rhymes with Marty Kennedy.

jewienewie......will let u no how it goes.....