Spinning for Tailor? - Page 2
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Spinning for Tailor?

Re: Spinning for Tailor?

Just been down the beach to see if any tailor are in the gutters - and they weren't. But took a couple of shots of the gutter as an example of suitable tailor water.
    There are rocks in the gutter, plenty of whitewater and a good opening to the sea.

Another similar gutter

was that taken today linds??

looks 100% better then at 6 this morn

About 11 o'clock Stu - looked good and I had trouble driving past without chucking something at it.
    How were the worms this morning? Ready for the weekend traffic flow through Noosa Harbour? Expect there will be a few chasing the Noosa river bream that are being reported everywhere.

worms were tough this morn but got some decent sized ones, yeah def some stonker bream getting around, back out tonight to see if I can get a couple more.

Someone has to feed the females in your family. Looks like the rain has gone anyway. Must have had 3 - 4 inches here last night. Should get things moving in the river too. What was this post again? That's right - That extra fresh will have the tailor at the mouth lookin to chew some slugs hey.

Flash

Quote Originally Posted by Slider
    Sizes from the top - 25 gram
    - 40 gram
    - 45gram
    - 55 gram
    - 65 gram
    Thanks, Lindsay.

Pretty simple aren't they?

Simple but very effective Flash.
    As a point of interest regarding metal lures and casting. All slugs travel through the air with the hooks trailing - no exceptions if it's being cast properly. So therefore the lures should be weighted at the head end and not at the hook end as is the common belief. And that's the way we weight these. Check it out, I think everybody will find that that is the case.

Right on man!

Any tailor spinning newbies reading this should take note of Slider's comments regarding "rocks under the water".

That statement is pure gold!

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Slider,
    the very first post I read on Ausfish was 'Beach Bliss' and from that very moment, this devious little mind has been pondering how the buggery to make these sliders. I've spoken to scientists (really!), scrap metal merchants, armourers and just about anyone who has anything to do with lead. I've been racking my brain trying to figure out how you made a mould for a thin slider. I tried unsuccesfully to cast a few myself, more than a few times. Then I hit upon an idea.... 4 or 5mm diametre copper tubing!!!
    Varnish a 4 inch length of copper tubing. File and smooth the sharp edges around the openings. Find some lead sheeting or make some (I poured hot lead into the lid of a paint tin and then beat it thin) and cut into strips 5mm wide. Wrap the lead strip around the varnished copper tube leaving equal width between turns. Super-glue/Araldite seems to hold it in place. This produces a barber-pole effect between dark lead and shiny copper. I carry some strips of sandpaper in the tacklbox so when you're ready to go- just 'shine' up the lead with sandaper and off ya go!
    I've only made one prototype, and will be heading down to Northern NSW to try on Sunday morning.
    Now, do you cast yours in a mould?
    For me part of the joy of fishing is outwitting your target. Having grown up in Africa with a keen angler for a dad I was taught to approach water quietly and sit still & watch for 10 minutes before fishing, never take more than you need and I ALWAYS ate whatever I kept. Dad made me eat a carp once that I brought home to 'show'! When fishing with my son I always stress the joy we experience when fishing together and contrast that against the possibilty of never fishing again due to poor fish stocks resulting from undersize fish being kept, spawning females being kept, pollution etc/ etc. Even now when we see someone with a fish, son asks "Was it legal dad?".
    Respect and protect- that was my dad's motto when it came to fishing. Things like closing a farmers gate or a treating a 5 pound bass as delicatley as a 4 inch minnow. This is the mindset I want to TRY and get my son into. Once it's been instilled early, kids take that with them throughout their life- and pass it on...
    Also having lived in one of the most disgustingly dirty & cramped cities in the world (London - 6 years) I appreciate every breath of fresh air Australia has to offer. I respect nature and realise that it is up to US (no one else) to look after it NOW (not when it starts showing signs of wear & damage) and this is the mindset I'm trying to get my son into. I look at the kids that hang around the shopping malls here in Brisbane and wonder how much direction and guidance they receive. I know the mentality towards child rearing has changed since we were kids (remember getting a good hiding for being naughty?) and I firmly believe that the next generation coming to the fore need firm direction when it comes to matters fishy. I know I'm crapping on a bit, but I especially believe that the future of our fish depends on the habits we instil now.
    (ion@ecn.net.au)
    P.S. Great article in QLd Fishing mate, I see your sliders' reputation is growing fast!!!

Think I know every rock on the eastern seaboard jackinthebox. Just move from one patch to the next until I find the fish - Hoping to find myself at Cape York eventually.
    Is a good idea when spinning over rocks to pull the bail arm over and start the retrieve just before the lure lands on the water. This prevents the lure from sinking and snagging on rocks and assists in getting strikes from nearby fish due to lateral line registration of the landing lure and feeding instinct excitement by the already speeding lure. Hope that makes sense. It also helps to bring in the 'belly' of the cast line particularly in windy conditions.
    I'll keep adding to this post as the thoughts come to mind and is the best way Tony that all the info that I have can be archived on the site. I hope that isn't a problem for anybody?
    I would also greatly appreciate input from fellow spinners as the variables associated with this form of fishing are too great for one angler to have all the answers. I learn something every time I go spinning and with the wealth of knowledge that exists amongst Ausfishers, I / we can all learn a lot here.

Lindsay

Jim bream, I applaud your good attitudes to life but am saddened that you have spent so much time trying to make sliders. The method I use is extraordinarily simple but if I were to tell you, I would have to kill you afterwards. So sorry.
    Just a little story as to how the slider thing started for us.
    Sitting around drinking and jibberin one night, one of the boys mention that someone told him about sliding lures to catch tailor with. We've all responded with 'that's it' as we knew it had to work. But we had no idea how we were going to make one. Chris from Snapper Fridges was first by using 2 pieces of cut to size stainless with a central groove that when the 2pcs were migged together created a hole. Took him about an hour to make and it was cumbersome. It did however catch a 4.5kg tailor on the first cast as mentioned earlier in this post. It worked but simply wasn't practical to make this way. In talking to Pedro at Pedros B & T Tewantin, he suggested I give Prickly Pete a call whose slugs I had been using for years. This I did and said to Pete that I had an idea involving his slugs that would allow me to catch big tailor. And that's all I told him. Pete said 'come around and have a coffee' (or 16) and he gave me his address which was 200 metres from where I'd grown up for 24 years.
    So I drop in and meet Pete at his house and he lets me inside and then passes me a slug while he makes the coffee. The slug (made in Denmark) has a hole through the centre. So I say 'Pete, how did you know?' Petes' response was - ' I thought about it for a while and then figured there's only one way to catch big tailor on slugs and that's to slide them.' He then said - 'I've got a mould downstairs for them'. So downstairs we go fighting our way around masses of rods and slugs and tailspinners and lead - the place was chockers with fishing related stuff.
    He then proceeded to pour about 20 sliders with me by now pretty excited asking all sorts of spinning related questions. It was becoming increasingly obvious that I'd stumbled onto a master angler that had in his hands the answer to all my problems.
    Pete and I became good friends and we spent countless hours (and coffees) talking (rather Pete talking, me listening) about all sorts of fishing locations, styles, species etc. I learnt a massive amount of info in a very short space of time. Sadly Pete developed throat cancer and passed away only 2 years later. I miss him greatly.

Now Jim, I have no idea where that mould is these days and that's not how we make them now. Suffice to say that it has become even more simple and I am able to have plenty of slugs at my disposal at all times.

Brought a tear to my eye reliving that first meeting with Pete. Often Gary Howard would be sitting with us drinking coffee around the kitchen table, talking fishing - what else.

Lindsay

MJC85

Hope your getting all this?

Slider,
    first off, thanks for taking the time to reply. I too had a fishing mentor- luckily for me it was me dad. (Rhodesian Bass Champion 1972/3 ?) Fished since he could walk, all over the world too (military man). Learned more off him over a beer or two than you would fishing for a year. Sadly, we're seperated by 3 oceans and a couple of continents. Hopefully flying the old fart out here for one final hoorah before he puts his slippers under the bed for good...
    As for your 'secret' I completely respect your privacy and will figger it out sometime. I have a few acquintances who are metal fabricators- might have to ask for some lateral thinking from the tigheads. Anyhoo- Looking forward to my first tailor on Sunday morning. (pleeeez god, opleezopleezopleeeez)
    Taking the neighbours digital camera and a coupla ziplock bags will post if anything (decent) comes in.
    Looks like the enamel is drying on those thin-rolled barrel sinkers....
    Have a great weekend matey!

Ausfish Platinum Member madman1's Avatar

Top info Slider.

I am hoping to get up there some time soon to try lures on Tailor / anything!!!

Hopefully we can catch up!