What are gold bombers good for?

Thread: What are gold bombers good for?

What are gold bombers good for?

G'day fellas,
    recently purchased an A-long gold bomber (the smaller size) and was wondering how to properly use them. can you use them around sandbanks for flatty or are they strictly for the snags. Also, what am i likely to catch, i would be predominantly using it around bridge pilons and the like.
    thanks fellas

Re: What are gold bombers good for?

Golden bombers are the best lures for barramundi.

is the lure a deep runner or surface? theyre good on jacks,flatties, trevs, queenies, barra, cod etc

Just check out some posts by Geoff72, or give him a PM. Was fishing with him one time, we both tried a few different lures each over about 30 - 40 minutes (slugs, hb & sp's). Both put Gold Bombers on and within 2 casts each were on to big taylor.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

I got a big cattie on one 2 days ago

They are good lures though and can catch heaps of different fish

Brandon...

CHRIS_aka_GWH

i've used them to good effect on mackeral and tailor in the rainbow - the original thin tinned trebles take a hammering though so i usually upgrade to a set of vmc

personally around bridge pylons and the like i'd be using plastics, a prawnstar or a smaller tigher diver lure like a rebel crawdad. At night a popper could be deadly under a streetlight. Around bridge pylons the good fish usually hang in the pressure wave on the UPCURRENT side of the pylons and can be very tight against the structure.

Catching barra

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Depends on the model but usually in the 1.5 to 2metre depth range.
    Some are shallower depend on bib type and length.

Can't see why they wouldn't work in the shallows. But the trebles should be upgrade if you are chasing serious fish.

Great in the timber in the impoundments in Qld and rivers in the NT. Sometimes it can be the only lure that works on the day.

Just another weapon in your tackle box, but a well proven one.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

land_based

Use the big deep diving ones for big jew at night in the hawkesberry river down south,