Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best Fishing Session Ever!!! (what's yours?)

Best Fishing Session Ever!!! (what's yours?)

Hey.

Today, I went fishing in the Maroochy River, fishing from the bridge that leads to Chamber's Island and the island itself, I arrived early in the morning at about 8am, and fished right through till 3.30pm. the conditions were looking bleak at first glance (low tide, murky colouration of water and outgoing tide). Despite these conditions I thought why not? So I did up my typical river rig (ball-sinker, brass swivel and a Mustad All-Round size 10 hook. I threaded my sandworm onto the tiny hook and threw it in, within minutes I was haulin' Whiting like you wouldn't believe. I totalled 12 Whiting, 1 Flathead, 1 Silver Biddy and 1 Bream for the day and I was over the moon with joy. I caught enough Whiting for a few dinners but all fish were released unharmed to fight another day although I almost throttled the Flathead because it spiked me twice with its barbs (OUCH!).

Anyway please tell me about your best fishing sessions I'd like to hear about them.

keenfisha.

Re: Best Fishing Session Ever!!! (what's yours?)

Best session so far for me is off the rocks at indian head at Fraser island. Unbelievable fishing, and non stop hook ups. Soon as my bait hit the water the fish were fighting over them selves to smash it. Even though i got busted off many times, it was awesome. I guess there is the added anticipation when you are re-rigging your rod, and almost panic, "hurry up and get that bait in the water". Then the next day we headed over to the other side of the island to Moon Point for a crazy whiting session and cooked it up fresh that night. BEST tasting fish.

It was a great week off fishing.

J

nice session mate, well i can remember when i was young i always used to go out with my old man and his mate in 2 boats and a few other people my old mans mate is always in the no how with the whiting, he would always no were they where, i can remember everytime i we went out with him the whole time we were fishing it would be like drop and pull----drop and pull--drop, pull on a hand line, but we would have to stop at 300 whiting coz no1 wanted to scale and fillit anymore then that

cheers dave

while not the most productive session, my most enjoyable would have to have been on last friday. I work at Thursday Island SHS and as part of the yr12 marine studies course we have been doing a rec fishing unit this term, which culminated in us taking out the school boat (7m alloy cat) with the 5 students to a reef about an hour west of the island.

When we got there we spent about an hour trolling around, producing one nice mac, and a few big GTs, with many double and triple hookups. We then anchored up to do some bottom bashing, ending up getting smashed by huge schools of trevaly (and a few too many batfish ) having up to 6 hook ups at once, everytime a bait hit the water! this went on for about an hour till we ran out of bait, so we started jigging slugs, which produced bigger bludger and golden trevaly. Now most of these kids had never fished with rods and reels before, so they were having an absolute ball!

Here are some pics of the day, unfortunatley my batteries died after a few hours

The conditions heading out:

Nice mac:

In recent times it would have to be yesterday (sun 12/11) had a poor days fishing off the Tweed and as a last resort to even get a bite we went in the direction of Cook Is. found some birds working and someone flicked a spinner to see what would happen. from that moment on and for the next hour we were on to Kinggies. We boated 11 keepers and a 1/2 doz bonito. Almost every cast we got smashed, we only had 2 spin sticks on board so took turns in having a flick and nearly every cast was a double hookup. Must of tossed back another doz undersized kingies aswell, there were fish every where there would be 6 or more chasing a hooked fish
    top end to the day
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

Steve_Monckton

Had a few over the years but one that sticks in my mind back in the mid 80's was fishing what was known as "middle fishing" on the Gwydir river. Rode a motorbike in with a 2 piece rod,small eggbeater, 6lb line and a 25mm chrome barrell lure with pig hair hackles tied to the barrell and a small propellor on the front. Rainbow trout and lots of them. All catch and release, I caught over 100 trout for the day and up to 7lbs. Remote and serene. Good for the soul. Cheers.

Had a few but one that sticks in my mind was an april day back in the late nineties up at Emu Park. It had been raining for three days but we decided to go for a fish anyway since it was a good tide. On the way to the boatramp the rain stopped and we were able to stay dry although it remained overcast. A couple of throws of the castnet and we maxed out on live prawns and poddy mullet, there was bait everywhere and the creek looked so good with water running off the mudflats from the heavy rain we had been getting. 1st cast I nailed a ripper King Salmon( 7.5 kg ) on a live prawn then next cast a 20 kg Barra on a live mullet - so stoked!!!. I actually put my gear away after that so I could finish the beer I had opened before the first cast. Pics to follow.
    " AINT NO FUN WATIN' ROUND TO BE A MILLIONAIRE "

2nd cast Barra !!
    " AINT NO FUN WATIN' ROUND TO BE A MILLIONAIRE "

Fishing at hervey bay one day at a spot in gatakers bay that we frequent a bit, had been fishing there mostly at night, so i tought what the heck, well give it a go durin the day. In 1/2hr i had landed a 2.5kg tuskie and a 4kg 70cm blackall and droped a few big hits, all caught on 8lb line, large green banana prawns and landbased thats day ill never forget

Few months back, went out to the shipping channel with 2 mates (so hungover i near burleyed a few times).
    Got out to our fav pylon round 7, started flicking slices at the pylons, letting them sink all the way and cranking in as fast as we could, Just about every cast I hooked up. We ended that morning at 9 with a total of 40 Macks, 10 keepers and my first ever Mack Tuna.

Mine is a tailor session off the tweed.

would bite anything

was like that for about two hours.....so much fun

Steven

I have a couple, but the most recent was february this year.

We spent the day trolling hutchies and beyone in Grand_Marlins yalta odessa. Picked up a hell of alot of dollies, a fre macks, tuna and my forst Wahoo.

The reports up in offshore reports... Hutchies and beyond. Awesome day.

Another would have been on the old charter boat I worked on... we spent hours with baits inamongst the baitschool at shallow tempest for no return, and then headed north... hooked into the dollies of decent quality and landed my first there just dropping yakkas out and waiting for them to get smashed.

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Sounds like some good days and nights out fishing but my best was about two months ago at bribe just in the passage. I joked to my friend how good it would be to catch enough whiting for lunch and go back early ( we only started at nine) suddenly bang one 37cm whiting to start the day off and from than on it was just whiting after whiting all up we caught 10 in 3hrs so it wasnt bad all of them were legal and we had a great lunch of boneless whiting beautifulley crumed. My best three hrs of fishing iv experienced.

Thanks Younstar

October 1st 2006. Coincided with my 18th B'day. Blowy as hell on the rocks at Waddy point so found a secluded little spot. ended up with 60 tailor between 4 of us, over 20 going to me and all around 3-4lb. got half on slugs and half on bait. to top that off i broke me pb tailor early in the day with a 72cm, 6.5lb tailor, and then finished the day off with my 2nd pb for the day at 74cm and 7lb. Was absolutely awesome. Capped off with the broncos winning the premiership that night. WHAT A DAY!
    JAckash

Most memorable, fishing the surf at Southport, used to go there often and usually came home fishless until one day walking over the back of the sandhill, we saw blokes lined up shoulder to shoulder right up the beach, with a good sized opening right in front of us, they all seemed to be fishing for Tailor using gang hooks and pillies. While a mate and i rigged up we noticed no one was catching anything so i decided to use a single hook rig with a yabbie (we pumped a few before we went down there). First cast had barely settled in the water and BANG, i was on. Hauled in one of the biggest Dart i'd ever seen. My mate rigged up the same and we were into them for the next hour and a bit, huge Dart, one after the other. Filled the esky then started catch and release. Great afternoon session...