Thread: fishing at caloundra qld?

fishing at caloundra qld?

g'day guys, just wondering if anyone can give me heads up on fishing spots or locations at caloundra as i am going up there for two and a half weeks over christmas. i will have my 12foot tinny with me but have no sounder at the moment. i prefer lure or soft plastic fishing for anything from flathead to mangrove jacks. also heard there is some rocks off the headlands that supports larger species? appreciate any input. thanks.

Re: fishing at caloundra qld?

looks like not too many replies so far, I was up there a few weeks ago now and did not have any real info before I went, so I will tell you what I found, along Golden Beach (from the shore) you will find a boat hire place, had a spin there and scored a couple of decent flathead, then went up to the powerboat club (near the boat ramp) and got a couple more, I did get a "lift" across the Passage with a guy, almost straight across from the boat hire guy and there is a big sand flat that drains into the main Passage and got a couple of trevally from there on the run out tide, and aother flathead, tried the bridge near the Powerboat club and got taken around the pylons by an unknown, and scored a couple of smaller trevally from there as well, as you have a boat I guess you can try all those spots, then plenty more that are hard to get to from the shore, thats just a brief insight into what I found as a 'tourist"

there's good fishing for flathead on soft plastics on the sand flats towards the mouth of pumicestone passage. but it will be busy, and i mean busy, so you should aim to fish very very early. fish for whiting after all the boats and jet skis have gone to bed.

also plenty of nooks and crannies to explore in a little tinny the other way down the passage, and up bells creek.

I wouldn't recommend taking the 12 footer out through the bar to get to Bray Rock, even though there are usually good fish to be caught out that way - the Coast Gaurd don't need any extra work.

mate do a search on caloundra and it should come up with a dozen queries just like yours.... There are plenty of places to fish around caloundra that will hold fish. Yes, off the rocks can be good, i have launched a 12ft tinnie from the ramp on the kings beach headlands. If you pick the right day then it is fine, but alot of times it would be too hard to get the little putt putt out there.
    if you like chucking your soft plastics there are plenty of places round the passage... once again, just check the old posts. good luck and happy fishing.
    lloyd

lloyd has the right idea mate, the spot is popular and you will find plenty of info both in the saltwater section and the EBR reports. Just walking along golden beach with a bag of placcies and jigheads as the tide lowers should give you plenty of opportunities at a flathead or maybe even some trevors or bream. Best of luck.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Hi ttr305 there are heaps of good spots here at caloundra from the passage bells creek if your keen send me a pm and we will hook up for a fish be it in the passage or at some of my spot x offshore in my boat

Mad if you dont take up the offer i reckon ttr305. Go out with someone who knows the area, they should set you right. And if you don't catch anything, just sneak off to the fish shop and buy a couple of whole fish so the missus doesn't laugh at ya Not that I would ever do that