Thread: am i the only one?

am i the only one?

the other day while driving down the goldy with a mate at 2.30am to see if the mackeral are on palmy yet we wondered if we are crazy. We are so obsessed with fishing and have been for a long time that anything slightly fishy gets us excited. I have read posts on waking early etc. for a fishing trip but a 1.45am wakeup has got to be ridiculous, i love it, but does this mean i have more than the bug? ANY support would be re-assuring!

Re: am i the only one?

That seems absolutely normal to me Then again people look at me funny when they launching at 7 am saturday morning and im already putting the boat back up the trailer.
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

Sometimes I plan for an early start(4am or later) and get so excited about going fishing I ring up my mate, also not sleeping, and we go very early instead.

Your perfectly normal Bellco, I sometimes have 2.00am starts, trouble is I don't finish work till midnight & even after a weeks fishing the Swaines, I've had my boat out in the bay the next day..

Quote Originally Posted by Idletime
    Your perfectly normal Bellco, I sometimes have 2.00am starts, trouble is I don't finish work till midnight & even after a weeks fishing the Swaines, I've had my boat out in the bay the next day..
    Been too Swains a couple of times and found myself wetting a line after having to go to the toilet in the middle of the night # it has to be done #

I normally can't sleep the night before a fishing trip so any times a good time #

I'd be spewing if iI slept in that late In summer I leave home at midnight .... 1am in winter All perfectly normal

perfectly normal... why waste good fishing time by doing stupid things like sleeping there is always tomorrow night for that
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

marlinqld

absa bloody lutely normal mate

try to go to bed at 11pm, wake up at 11.45pm pm lay there for a couple of hours then back to sleep, wake up again 45mins later then lay there Nah ring the fishing buddy and go early.
    whats not normal about that???????????
    Murf

All normal.....even though I go through agony thinking its all too hard....but its just so fabulous when you're on the water, before the big crowds, and that sun starts peeing over the horizon!! Great to be alive...then back to the ramp to enjoy the antics of thiose sleepheads dancing their reversing trailers through the crwods!!!

I have driven down the Logan Motorway at 2:30am and all I see on the roads are other fisho's towing there boats, occasionally see trucks and stuff.

This is very re-assuring I can tell you.

Then when I pull up at the ramp at 3am, or 4am there is always a line up at the ramp to launch etc.

It does feel a little odd, that time of the morning, or even earlier but don't feel alone, and don't pay money to see a shrink!
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but you are totally f####### nuts,,,,,,,

just like the rest of us

seems like you are in good company here mate, thanks to the lack of daylight savings, 2am is now the get up and out time to be on the water before the sun, unless of course you just do an all nighter, seems a bit easier that way.

Mind you, I was waiting for my mate to pick me up for a session one night, was ment to be at my house at midnight, but the b@stard put his head down at 11 just to 'close his eyes' and I couldn't get him till 1am, it was 2am before we go to the water > > >

Quote Originally Posted by DaMaGe
    I have driven down the Logan Motorway at 2:30am and all I see on the roads are other fisho's towing there boats, occasionally see trucks and stuff.

This is very re-assuring I can tell you.

Then when I pull up at the ramp at 3am, or 4am there is always a line up at the ramp to launch etc.

It does feel a little odd, that time of the morning, or even earlier but don't feel alone, and don't pay money to see a shrink!
    The missus's always up me because I can't sleep and toss and turn before a trip. My excuse is I don't want the alarm to wake her. I tell porky pies to her a bit though. I'm just excited #

BeeCole

Well...... All I can do is give you an example of our style !

My employer has been kind enough to give every employee one day off as a christmas pressie. I'm taking tomorrow off.

The only thing is that i don't work a nine to five job....

So every night this week I've been leaving at 6 - 6.30pm after starting at 7am each morning.

I've had to make sure that I do the five days work in four days.

BUT IT'S WORTH IT !

I've been trying to get on a particular charter boat for the last 3-4 mths(after going on some fairly ordinary ones).

The only day available for the next six months was on a weekday. So I grabbed it.

So off to bed soon then up at 2.30am - fish fish sish... then back to work on Saturday to make up for the work I miss on my day off. - Some present from the boss hey?

then on Sunday I reckon we'll take the tinnie out....

Whether it's on a reef, or in the river, there's nothing like soaking up the fresh air under a beautiful sky - getting a fish in the boat is a bonus!

I can't understand guys and girls at work who don't like camping, fishing or whatever. we are so blessed with this great country.

So I think you're spot on - it's the others who don't understand who have a problem !