Thread: Best sharks to eat

Best sharks to eat

Bit of flake and $3.00 of chips thanks, vinegar yes please.

Us Mexicans eat heaps of flake or shark....Lots of it is Gummy shark or school shark which is real good to eat.

Just wondering when fishing, what shark do you eat, and which don't you eat. How big do they have to be before they taste ordinary or toxins are a worry? Those bull sharks that are so plentiful, I imagine you need at least 50-60cm to get a fillet, not sure legal size...how big is too big?

Re: Best sharks to eat

I like wobbies between 3 and 10 kg.
    Lots of work to turn into 'fish cocktails', shallow fried in a light batter, served with sea salt, lemon wedges and sweet chilli sauce for dipping, and lots of ice cold beer. Green salad optional.
    Very nice indeed!

best ating of the Sharks, (though I am not a big fan) are Hammerheads and smaller Makos.

Hammerheads are good, I do like the bulls if they are taken in clean water and bled immediately.

I reckon 6ft is the max I would take, the rest get let go unless they are gut-hooked.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

what about the shovelnose.
    i know a spot nearby where they are in palgue numbers

are they any good?

Yes, shovels are really good eating.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Flake in Queensland USED TO BE mako (or blue shark) which is and internationally recognised gamefish. They predominantly eat tuna and have firm white flesh. Our southern (and confused) bretheren eat the scum dredging, muck eater we all know and love out of confusion. Lately though southern flake has been intruding into the queensland market place thereby affecting my enjoyment of the fish and chips i buy. Best eating size for most sharks would be about 2 1/2 to 4 feet. Any smaller and you have trouble with getting good meat off them and any bigger and they start getting a bit chewy. If you have to cook it as fish bites of cocktails then its a rough eat. If it cant stand alone on its own merits as an eating fish then you're keeping the wrong fish.

a Mako and a Blue shark are two entirely different species, the mako is quite good eating (but not for me) and a good fighter, the Blue Shark is not good eating or fighting and catching one is not a sought after experience.

You're totally right about the difference in species Noelm. I should have read it more carefully before I posted it to avoid confusion. The mako and blue shark ARE different species but they are often both sold as flake. Sorry for any confusion.

white spot shovelies are the best eating

While at it ,shovellies are actually rays
    Best i ever had were elephant or ghost sharks .
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

I'v been told the reef sharks (AKA.... Black Tip) aren't too bad on the chew... personally, not a big fan of flake due to the fact of the amount of time it takes to prepare the fillet, and re-sharpen the knives.

I love flake or shark. Being able to cram it down without the worry of bones. Nice sweet moist flesh. And two battered scallops too thanks. You gotta have scallops.

Anyone eaten skate? Sells very cheap in some Asian fish shops. I trust the price reflects the quality?

black tip reefies, yum.

so tell me more about the shovelies??

what are they like and how do i prepare them after capture,
    might go catch some friday night