Thread: bribie weed!!!!

Re: bribie weed!!!!

cuzza,,,,, it has always been a problem around the end of the each year,,,and yes it is mainly lyngbya,,, but disperses fairly quickly,,(usually),,

i think the point i was trying to make is that its not uncommon seeing boats now coming through the passage that have been working in close and ""stirring"" up sediment/weed etc etc on there way through,,,a prime example of which is one particular skipper who frequents the pebble beach bay on his way through,,,,why i don't know,,,,but he does,,,and this water is only a few feet deep at low tide,,,

all the best for chrissiemate,,,,,we'll catch up

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

yeah bloody oath mate, have to catch up sometime. i know what you mean about seeing the same boat in the same region - one $%rhole has busted our shark rigs four times now coming in too close - at 70 bucks a rig, we're never happy! dunno why he comes in that far either, we think he MUST know we're there! anyway mate take care and talk soon - have a great chrissy too!

cuzza

Choppa that is as rotten as the Lyngbya washed up at Red Beach. Shame on you.

try up the creeks mate i find it to be the only way around it

It's getting worse - not better! I was up there today (Tuesday 19th) and put my pots opposite the Bongaree jetty towards the outer green beacon. Got plenty of jennies and undersized bucks on the last of the rise, but only 4 keepers. There was a lot of weed on the pots each time I raised them but it was manageable. Thought I'd give them another hour of the run out to see if I could pick up a couple more keepers. When I went back to retrieve them all four pots had gone. I suspected what had happened so I motored out into the bay. Found the pots about half a kilometre from whereI dropped them with so much weed on the ropes that the floats were submerged and the pots were totally covered in weed. There was so much weed that I could not lift them out of the water until I'd cleared most of it away. I was lucky to get all four of my pots back. Needless to say I didn't put them down again. Picked up a couple of legal grass sweetlip drifting below the Avon wreck in between running the pots - fishing at anchor was a total waste of time with all the weed about, but drifting was Ok
    Cheers Freeeedom

gday freedom,

sorry to hear that it's still there mate. bloody great work on getting em back though!!!! yeah we were right near where you were when i wrote this post. let's just hope january brings better conditions! thanks for the update.

cuzza

Freeeedom
    I dropped 4 weighted pots out between Gilligans and the bottom Bribie last year. Found one at the bottom of the island and 2 up past the Avon wreck.
    I only found them when i was up there doing something else.
    What other people think about me is not my business: Michael J Fox.

Geez you were lucky. I don't remember it being that bad this time last year, so I checked my diary to see. When I did try crabbing last year I was launching at Scarborough and running into Deception Bay. Didn't get many crabs but not much trouble with weed either. Let's hope it disperses soon
    Cheers Freeeedom