Thread: bribie weed!!!!

bribie weed!!!!

gday all,

tried to go for a fish last night in the passage, just east of the bongers jetty, and there was bloody weed EVERYWHERE! just thick. couldn't keep the rigs out as they got engulfed immediately. never fished this particular stretch before, and noticed there were heaps of weed banks around. just wondering if weed is always a problem around here, or it's just this ridiculous winter weather we're having. there's weed right the way alond the north side at the moment - any thoughts? thanks heaps for the help.

cuzza

Re: bribie weed!!!!

I've been crabbing in the passage quite a bit recently and the weed has been terrible for the last couple of weeks. It covers the pots and the recent big tidal run then carries them away. Dillies are almost impossible to use becoming completely covered with it. The only way to avoid it while fishing is to drift
    Cheers Freeeedom

is this down the bottom end of the passage? i was thinking about going crabbing down there tomorrow (with dillies) maybe i will give it a miss.

Bribie weed? mmmmmmm what sort of weed. They say its good for compost for the garden.

signed tunaman

its that time of the year again cuzza,,, not unusual for december/january

it use to be worse when they ran the pro boats down it,,,but if you catch my drift,,,they work in close outside the bay around this time of the year,,,and even though this is not the PRIME cause,,,it doesn't help,,,,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

There are several types of weed in the mix, but the predominant (and worst) kind is heavy black masses of fine strands that are difficult to remove from the netting because they wrap around it and tangle again on the upstream side. It will take you 10 -15 minutes just to clean one dilly. The solution, if the weather allows, might be to go out into Deception Bay out in front of Godwin Beach and try crabbing there where the tidal run will be quite slow. I don't know if there are any sandies there at the moment. The last couple of times I've been up there it's been blowing up to 30 knots making crabbing inside the passage difficult. Also I've been getting about 10 jennies to every buck so it hasn't really been worth the effort
    Cheers Freeeedom

thanks heaps fellas! i just don't remember it ever being this bad - and it's been around since september. i thought it normally started to ease around this time of year, but who knows! what actually causes it?been getting worse every year i reckon.

cuzza

land_based

I have the solution Cuzza! Do your sharking around Redcliffe/ Sandgate way! I saw a 8 footer bronzey from Sandgate landed this week, heaps of pups around too, but all the sharkers that I talk to have been getting huge runs and losing rigs to some big suckers and they're all telling me nows the right time so I'm going to pull my finger out. I'm going down the pine now to try and round up some fresh mullet an eel for tonight!

gday rob pm'd you mate

Bribie weed???? Bongers jetty???

i could have sworn that was heading somewhere...
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

lmao deiter - just caught onto that myself! classic!

cuzza

we had a few pots in the passage yesterday it was all right until just before half full tide then that weed rolled in pulled one float under could not find the pot so if you see a white and yellow bottle float out from the parks there at bribie near the red beacon before you cut towards the cannels with b dicker on it you know who to contact for return of pot thanks

Choppa are you saying that the pros are partly responsible for the weed problems at Bribie? I hope not because that is outrageous. Most of the weed at the moment is Lyngbya, a naturally occurring blue-green algae. For goodness sake, get your facts right before making ridiculous claims.

matt campbell,,,,,i'm not saying that the pro's are responsible,,,,and if you read the report you'll see that,,,

what i am saying is that its not helping when you have a situation that is turning some of the weed beds around the island being disrupted,,,,,and if you want facts,,,,then look around the mouth of the passage and watch em,,,,,,

its funny how the tide in the passage runs both ways,,,,but the weed comes from the southern end,,,

caloundra is clean,,,,coochie is clean,,,,the front surf beach is weed weed weed,,,and so is pebble beach,,,

have a look at the mouth of caboolture river,,,,,talk to joff at beachmere,,,

but i digress,,,the pro's aren't to blame,,,there just not helping,,,,the same thing has occured since i've been on the island and thats over 15 yrs,,,and yes it is getting worse,,,but it was a hell of a lot worse when they use to trawl it

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

gdau choppa,

does the weed on the island become less of a problem early in the year like some other places? interesting observations too, makes sense.

cuzza