Thread: Hayes Inlet Flatties

Hayes Inlet Flatties

G day all.
    Hope everyone has had a good xmas, and that everyone was made happy by Santa and the fishing gifts that he seems to "deposit"every year.

Im off to Hayes INlet tomorrow to try for some flatties and was wondering how to go about it. Im not sure how muddy the sand is, and whether i can wade out at all without sinking up to my neck in mud.

Can anyone tell me if the side closest to brisbane, or the redcliffe side of the bay is the most productive for low tide fishing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays

Cheers Rob

Re: Hayes Inlet Flatties

Rob,

Suggest you try at the bottom end of the tide. The bottom is sandy and you can walk out to the edge of the channel. Have seen a lot of people flicking plastics, but do not know how successful they were. Should find flathead, bream with the occasional sole.

Happy new year.
    Tight Lines

Split-shot

Rod,

Forget to mention that the Redcliffe side would be best. If fishing from the Brisbane side you would be in the Pine river, but should do just as well.
    Tight Lines

Split-shot

cheers for the advice split - shot. it looked the more fishy side, but i wasn't sure about the mud.
    I will be giving it a go.
    appreciate the advice

Quote Originally Posted by Robsie
    cheers for the advice split - shot. it looked the more fishy side, but i wasn't sure about the mud.
    I will be giving it a go.
    appreciate the advice
    Let us know how you go Rob.

I am on old north Brisbane boy and have moved to Cairns; I last fished that region about 7 years ago and it was pretty much over fished and a waste of time then.

Long gone were the days when I used to be able to bank on at least one nice fat 35cm plus flattie every trip :-)
    I'd like to hear that the fishing there is back to what it used to be!

Andrew.

Andrew.
    =============
    W: www.agt.id.au
    M: 0410 834 486

mangrove_rat

hey mate, i live at brighton and would fish the brighton side, you get more, and better quality this side, especially if you walk almost to th bridge, and work back towards bald hills creek mouth, this puts most people off, as its more than a 50m walk from the bank.....us lazy fishers. another decent spot is between sandgate pool and lovers walk(cliff st, near church) at sandgate, park anywhere between there and walk out at low tide, there are some real nice fish there that people dont know about, ive caught fish up to 90cm (flathead) there are alot of rays though, scary unless u wearing waders, hope it help, cheers, can do

Gday Robsie,
    mate, I fished Hayes this arvo for a couple of hours on the low into the turn of the tide.
    Results were a nice keeper around 55cm, a heap of small rats around 30 and enough bumps, rattles and nudges to certainly keep me interested.
    Water clarity is down at the moment, I couldnt see my plastic in a foot of water, but it didnt seem to make too much difference to the flathead, how ever they wern't as aggresive as usual, with a number of what felt like good fish grabbing the softy, but failing to hook up.
    SP's of choice today were squidgy fish in black and gold, 70mm long with a squirt of berkley scent to sweeten them up.
    Hope that helps
    Brian.