Thread: gold coast seaway

gold coast seaway

im keen to get down to the gold coast seaway one early morning before the sun comes up, will be using poppers,slugs and diving lures.
    has the wall been fishing well lately and what have been the best tides?
    will be going early next week, so if anyone else is keen,would like to catch up down there for a meet and greet and get some pointers on fishing off the wall.
    cheers all,have a safe and happy new years night.
    geoff
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Re: gold coast seaway

HI are you boat or land based their are plenty of good options just be careful if you are land based as those rocks are dangerous mate all those options would work the fishing can be pretty good in the seaway early lots of luck bluefin59 [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

early morning and dusk are best. Have been spinning there quite a lot lately. Got smashed on a 65g knight but what i recon was a big trev spat the lure. Millions of black fish around if u r into them. Lots of trev if you can get them on the bite. Bonito been caught.gt's and some school jews around. couple of samll whiting , trev and dart off the jetty. Generally been a very slow season on the seaway i recon though ,hopefully the coming summer months make it a bit better . Just make sure to have a good long rod that and fast reel to skip over the snags if u r on the wall and you should not have any probs. Also be carefull of the boats when casting out the can easily cut off an 8 dollar lure.

Hey Paddy, by black fish, do you mean Luderick?

Used to fish for them many years ago, but must be 15 years since I did it. Still got all the gear and it is great fun on 2 lb line.

For off the bank (my tinnie is a bit small for the Seaway), you got any suggestions where I should try.

Thanks,
    Norm C

Head up towards the nerang river and flick a few lures and plastics at pontoons, or you could try under the bridges. If you want a feed of good size whiteing then head to the council chambers with a few yabbies.

Cheers jason

Geoff,

Mate there are many many options in and around the goldy for fishing.
    They seaway can produce great fish, but there are alot of land based spots as well

Norm

Was down at Tully creek a few weeks ago, it was thick with Ludrick.

Aj

gogecko

HI Geoff,
    from what Ive heard, the wall is not fishing well in daytime lately. Its still OK at dawn or dusk tho. Try and fish near the pipeline, you should see it clearly marked about 100-200 m W of the tower. Theres a drain outlet near there as well. Id be using silver slugs and aiming for Trevors. Big flathead will take a 3-5 inch SP if you use a heavy jighead like 1-2 oz. Poppers work ok closer to the rocks, and hardbodies are OK if you see the bait schools coming thru the middle.

The jetty is now open again. My mate fished it the other day and saw plenty of trevors and dart.

yeah norm i mean luderick. lots of people target them here too. Supposed to be good fun but have not bothered with them yet!!

thamks for the tips guys,got a crook young fella at the moment but will definately be going down b4 i start back at work next week.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Had a snorkel there yesterday morning on the high tide.
    We dove from the pipe platform where divers go in to about 100M East of the tower. Huge schools of luderick so if you target them there are plenty of fish. Trevally were plentyful with the large ones and large parrot a bit deeper say 5-10M off the rock ledge. Plenty of rigs to collect and it makes you wonder what some people fish with...
    Fish in the seaway are educated so to get a decent fish you need to present well not fish with a housebrick or you will simply feed the millions of stripeys and other schools of colourful fish that will strip your hook. I'd use the tinny to get off the wall.
    Good luck.