whats your biggest flathead?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: whats your biggest flathead?

whats your biggest flathead?

G'Day boys,

just wandering what your biggest flathead is, whered you catch it, and what did u catch it on.

My biggest flathead is currently a 73 cm one caught in the canals of pacific harbour at bribie ive also caught a 69 cm in there. I caught the 73cm on a pink prawnstar and the 69 cm on a red and gold surecatch lure. the rod and reel was a ian miller raider 5 - 10kg one i think cant remeber from memory and a shimano cruxis.

Re: whats your biggest flathead?

i caught a 90 cm flatty at yamba last year on a piece of mullet off the southern wall, along with 2 trevally, but thats my biggest.

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

hey mate
    my biggest is 80cm on a raider rod 2-5kg on 6lb leader and 4lb line with a 2 inch powerbait

T-roy

Ausfish Platinum Member TheSaint's Avatar

60cm on a 2" powergrub tho i have lost bigger only metres from my feet..

Mine's an 88cm flatty from Kalinga Bank, Jumpinpin subdued using a 4-6kg Shimano T-curve rod and a Shimano Chronarch reel loaded with 12lb braid. Squidy fish in gary glitter colour.

the biggest one I hace ever cought was this big <------------------------> No really it was I promise...... Ok I have no idea of the lenght of her but she was a big girl and had to be pushing 90+ cm. She took a scrappy old piece of mullet ment for a bream
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Well this year have only caught and release the three over the metre, but a few dozen just under.

Release them and then watch some of the trophy hunters around the area catch them and kill them to put in local paper or nail the head the a telegraph pole.

Can't figure these folks out, have a fair idea of the rivers around here and have fished them on and off for over fifty years. With now no commercial fishing in system, the small flathead are starting to make a comeback, but you need to leave the breeders alone.

Bring on regulations in NSW for large Flathead.

The local competition has the idea and for the last four years, any flathead over 70cm can only be weighed in the CATCH AND RELEASE SECTION.

Will give it a plug 12TH ANNUAL PUTT BENNETT FAMILY FISHING FESTIVAL 12,13,14 JAN 2007 at Mylestom about 20mins south of Coffs Harbour.

Merry Christmas and it great to see the big girls swim away.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

I caught a 60cm flathead drifting between the green beacons on the Logan River three weeks ago. My son caught a 55cm one. Both caught on frogmouth pilchards.

Unfortunately I saw another boat pull in a huge girl that looked over 80cm. She was dispatched and thrown in the esky despite being over the legal limit.

Both of ours were freed to catch again another day.

A guy i know got a 120cm+ specimen earlier this year.

My best is a 93cm.

Hey Guys,

Mine is an 88cm from Jumpinpin, caught on a 3 inch Bozo's lure, 6lb fireline and 14lb Vanish leader.

Does anyone have pics of these metre + flatties, as I have never seen a genuine metre + on a ruler. Hopefully in the next couple of years we'll see more this size in SE Qld with the 40-70 slot limits.

This is the flatty i posted about. PIc is off a phone but you get the idea of the size... Its a 6ft mans leg also, not a midgets.. haha

Also the fish is not mine, i wouldnt want to take the glory

pimp_my_boat

Big fish Dan.
    My best is 86 cm caught in the pine river. I was working the banks near bald hills creek for an hour using 4"pearl watermellon plastics for no result. I change over to 3" pumpkin seed on a TT jig head and wacko I was on.
    "Big fish great fight". No evidence as I did not own a camera.
    Went out the next day bought a digital camera.
    mick

89cm, The Pin caught on a whole pille.

Slient

My PB was caught at seaway early this year sallowed livie and careful unhook and had quick snap and released her into water....
    Damn...I forget to measure...guessed between 85 & 90cm

mines 65cm and mates is 75 cm, caught in the pine using sp's