Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Lowrance x107c

Re: Lowrance x107c

The 102cdoes not have dual frequency which means it runs the same beam spread, whatever the depth, which means in deep waters you could be picking up a rough area of a couple footy fields which doesn't help put you ontop the action. It also runs 300w RMS output where the 107 runs 500w output which states a depth reading of 775mt instead of 279mt. Now that sounds like an overkill but they rate the depth capabilities in absolute optiumum conditions (water calarity, salt and temp levels etc.) which means for a better idea of weak signal return, turn the meters to feet. So whatever the depth, the return quality pictured on the 480 x 480 pixel screen is not gonna leave much to be desired. Both good units, but the 107cdf is worth a couple extra $. If you want one, PM me, but stock times are ???.
    The LMS 480 is not a bad unit, but stand alone units make life a lot easier. The casing and screen are the same one used in the 107cdf but it is only greyscale and the sounder strength is much the same as the 102. I've gone for the GPSMAP 172c as a plotter only, which can ??? be used as a 500w sounder also with the purchase of the GSD 20 black box although will not have 1/2 the functions of a stand alone sounder . Good luck .
    Cheers, Jay

im still in. Jay, i was in sydney last week and dropped into bias in....mmm i think out chatswood way and they had 1 in stock. he offered it to me. are they pulling our legs?

Thanks Jay that helped heaps. Any idea on a price though for the LMS unit? IT would suit me as using in shallow waters and in a small tinny. From what you've said, the 107 is the way to go for the other boat but it's my brothers so I'll chase him up this weekend and get back to you on that one mate.
    Cheers, Mark.

LMS = $500 USD. Not too sure of their longterm reliability so if buying in Australia you should be able to work one down to around $1000 ???.
    Cheers, Jay

bias at tingalpa said to me the otherday that they are having trouble getting lowrance untis. and i wasnt even looking at buying one so it must be true (one would think)

I know the mob at Bias slacks creek. I will know when they get stock and with there buying power, they should be one of the 1st to get new stock. Chatswood must have a unit left from the 1st delivery which was in May but I'm sure you'd pay a bit more for it.
    Cheers, Jay

Still no news Jay?

Regards, Tony

im happy to wait
    Standing by..........

Well I'm waiting, but getting sick of it > . Hopefully soon but easier for me to accept as my boats two weeks behind schedual .
    Cheers, Jay

Why dont you download the simulator of the unit from lowrance web-site and check it out ?

Thats too frustrating, insanefisho!!!

Regards, Tony

I have downloaded it and played with it for months.
    love that unit.

G'Day Tony,

I've been lucky enough to have a 107c now for a couple of weeks. Attached are 2 photos of it in action. It's very easy to use, especially as I came from a Lowrance x91. I normally use it in split screen mode, but on this occasion I was showing Mrs skip how to read it (and why I needed to spend $890 to help get better fishing results )

I've found it a very clear unit with plenty of power and the color makes it easy to read too. The way I've set mine up is with some overlay info to keep an eye on things.
    The top figure is Depth
    Water Surface Temp in cel
    Next is your speed in MPH
    Distance travelled in MPH
    and last is Volts (battery con)

These 2 pics were taken on a reef up in the Whitties (more about that later) from memory off Hook Island near Hayman and Langford Reef. The speed reading was our drift speed.

All in all it's easy to use yet still a powerful little unit that doesn't cost the earth. Mine was bought from Wynnum Marine... the guys there couldn't have been more helpful. They ordered one in and it only took 3 days, I guess I must have been lucky, but I did stress to them that I needed/wanted it soon as I was heading North and wanted it onboard before then. They did say there could be trouble getting one as they wre unsure on Lowrance's instovk levels of this unit.

Tony 8) PS not connected with Lowrance or Wynnum Marine, just happy user.
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

These 2 pics show some larger fish hanging off bait fish around one of the many Bommies. The larger fish turned out to be Red Throat Emperor.
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

thanks for the informative post.

I can't wait till i finally get my unit.