Customs Page Update - Page 4
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Customs Page Update

Re: Customs Page Update

did sundown marine write those words under your picture wyoming???
    I do buy from our local fishing outlet when i think its a fair price! so dont judge me on a few purchases i make from the states, to save me hundreds and a few less overtime hours.
    If it wasnt for guys like me then sundowner could charge what he wanted.
    do you think sundowner is posting hes ads in here because hes a nice guy doing you all a favour??
    wake up pal.

daniel

I have read through these posts and have been following it with interest for days now. I didn't intend to get involved because I don't know a lot about importing/duties/taxes and policies which is what the thread is about, but I now feel I need to make this observation.

I want to qualify my reply by saying that I have no financial interest in Sundown Marine. I am not being asked to make this reply or being paid for its content. I am writing this reply in the interests of fairness and the interests of Ausfish. The are my thoughts alone to respond to some of the content contained in this thread.

Given one Ausfisher has turned this personal, hitting at SM and any who are seeking to be concillitory like Wyoming and from the agro tone of the posts, bagging one of our site sponsors and now beginning to question the integrity of other members I feel the need to give my $20.00 worth.

Sundown Marine is a business and like every business that sponsors this site is looking for return on sponsorship dollars, what is wrong with that?

And if they have specials to offer (see tackle chat discussion) or information to share on importing/duties/GST that will help members not get into trouble with authorities isn't that only going to help us???

Tax/duty evaison is a crime and Sundown is attempting to provide the same quality service and info to members through this medium, not just build a case to buy from them that the skeptics would want to make us think.

The jury is out at the moment while Sundown is researching the debate...which is the point of the thread...but I note that in their responses never have they got personal or resorted to bagging members or anyone else..and they aren't saying "buy it from me!!!"

To balance their presence here, and being sensitive to the possibility of being misconstrued with the kinds of thinking HLS is coming with, Sundown Marine have clearly committed themselves to provide the most competitive prices possible and most qualified expertise available to see Ausfish members get the best possible deal and support on gear they as a business are able to give. And they are following through...just look at the many positive posts from those of us who utilise their services...

Wyoming's reflections are right IMO...and I want to support Aussie dealers with my money...Its our economy...I pay tax here...I will eventually retire here...get a pension here if Superannuation continues to under perform....Local businesses employ my mates...who have families to feed to...why just think of self???

I'm not saying we shouldn't shop for the best possible deal...but shop here. I'm sure we have all paid too much for marine/fishing gear at one point or another, but Sundown are doing their level best to provide quality service with competitively prices product and follow through on their promise.

Nobody's judging you Daniel...but when you point the finger at someone there is always three pointing straight back at you. I can appreciate the attempt to save a few dollars and cut the overtime hours back...but have you ever shopped at Sundown?

I'm glad you support your local tackle shop (when YOU think its a fair price) but have you ever considered that if everyone took the same attitude to you...saving comparitively few dollars could mean more employment for more of your Aussie Bro's and Sis's rather than just thinking of yourself? What have you got against an Aussie business making profit? Isn't that is why you have a job???

And I think you overstate the case when you say "If it wasn't for people like me Sundown could charge whatever they like". Mate, I was shopping at Sundown saving good dollars and getting quality advise long before you even came on with that overstatement...Sorry Mate, I think you overrate yourself and others like you and have come in Hook Line and Sinker!

Man its a small world some people live in...I wonder who it is that needs to wake up mate? No offence intended but if the cap fits...pull your head in!!!

We've got to look at the bigger picture here...

Like I said...my $20.00 worth...

now lets get back to the debate...
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Barrymundi

lol well said

so iam the only one thats been a bid harsh on sundown??retail is a tough business. i have been there got the t-shirt. you should read the whole disscussion before you start having a go at me REV. this site is for opinions and i will have my say like everyone else.sundown marine was stretching the truth a little about what will happen if you buy overseas.and he got caught out. Sundown and i have IM but he never got back to my questions i have personally asked him.he said he wasnt avoiding the questions but is getting the information and he will get back to me. SO YOU DONT KNOW HALVE THE STORY.
    sometimes when we write on here it sounds worse when written then if we were in a room having a discussion.
    if i were you rev i would venture a little further than over the NSW border on your next trip. you might just sneak a deal in your bag on your return trip from the states and then maybe your opinion would be worth 20 bucks hls

I have been following this post 4 sum time know and dont really know where it it is gona go from hear.

i couldnt agree more with revs57, if it wasn't 4 australian companies making a dollar, where would we make our dollars to live????

there is always going to be people that import to save money but at the end of the day it isnt a risk that i would take!! there the people that are going to have the problems and have no one wanting to help them! let it be there problem!!

i'm staying with bying in aust and always will. at least i know that when my kids grow up and want to go fishing and boating that there will be places out there to get all my gear and at good prices. not having to wait 10 days 4 my gear to turn up in the mail.

Bill Collector

mmm you certainly changed your mind quick bill collector. but like i said everyone is entitled to there opinion. i guess paying double is ok for some.
    if i have offended anyone in anyway i apoligise. i think this subject has drifted off course from its original subject.
    we are all different and come from different backgrounds. i have drifted from aust to america and europe for over 20yrs due to work.now i live back in australia permanently and i feel the prices are too steep. but hey so what thats only my experience and opinion. and iam free to do as i wish.
    all the best daniel

Well HLS, it seems that you are an angry person even if I only know HALVE the story and I thank you for your in-depth analysis. For such a worldly person, I'm surprised that you chose to return to Oz where everything that you buy, you are constantly being ripped off. Could it have something to do with thye lifestyle perhaps?

For your info, Sundown didn't write my words - I live on the south side and I have only visited them twice in the last 6 years and on both occasions, they were for very good deals which I gladly took up. Similarly, I have visited Glen down at Motorama once for an excellent deal (note that Glen is not related to me nor do we owe each other money). I too, returned to live in Oz after 20+ years of living in the US and Asia - pay the price or p1ss off.

My point is that its quite legitimate to buy wherever you want, but don't bag the Australian suppliers simply because you can get a better deal overseas.

As for the other readers of this thread, I had to wonder when someone would come to the rescue of the retailers and I'm pleased that Revs, Al_NFI and TBC came in defense and I hold my position that if we all bought from overseas, fishing and small business in Oz would be in deep doo-doos.

That's it from me.

Hey Daniel,

I wasn't having a go at you mate...just offering my opinion and suggesting reasons why you might be able to take a chill pill.

You turned the thread personal...cracking off at Sundown and Wyoming...and now me...sure Ausfish is a discussion forum where people are entitled to their opinions, but not at the expense of ripping into other people or site sponsors. Mate we need our sponsors particulaly when they are doing a great job...just check the thread on Furuno 600L electronics chat...

You tell me I only know half the story...I read all the posts...I said that the Jury is out...did you miss that? We are all waiting for Sundown's reply, including you and its coming...so why the personal attacks mate?

Yep, your right...when you've lived overseas you get a different perspective on the global economy thing...and local prices can seem to be inflated...but that doesn't change the fact that we live in the land of Aus and should be doing our darndest to support our local lads to ensure a service for now and the future. Why send your bucks to USA where their business pay tax and their tax system tips more than 14 billion dollars per fortnight into weapons of mass destruction so they can control and manipulate the global economy?

I'm suggesting there is a bigger picture that we all need to consider...and its not just about saving a few bucks...

And mate, I was in the States earlier this year and didn't buy one skeric of fishing gear...my business belongs to my friends...relationships are worth so much more than money...wouldn't you agree?

You've apologised for any offence...so do I if my post caused you any grief or injury...yes this medium can be hard to communicate attitude...you are intitled to your opinions but please be careful to stick to the topic and not let things turn personal.

By the way...Cairns ins't the only place to catch good reefies and pelagics. Northern New South Wales provides some great fishing too...that completes my $20.00 worth

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Man, Greg you opened a can of worms here mate

back to the debate...

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Sportfish_5

mate i wasnt talking about fishing gear. your changing the story.otherwise this would be posted in the tackle section.
    i have had loads of IM inquiries on this site on how to go about buying from OS. if you think saving more than halve the cost of a gps is wrong then so be it.
    actually you have me all wrong iam not angry iam actually quite amused at what you write about paying through the nose to keep the retailer afloat. meanwhile he drives by in a BMW and waves to you in your oldshitbox . hahahaha
    i have made my last post in this section. we are not getting any further.because really you dont have a clue.if you want a discussion by phone by all means leave a number and il call you.

There you go getting all personal again...I'm not sure that I'm the one who doesn't have a clue...ahhh...what's the point! Some blokes just don't get it do they???
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Ummmm,

Didn't this start as importing from OS (customs update?) and since it's in the Electronic Section are we not talking about Import Marine Electronics??

So how did we get onto talking about sending the poor ol Aussie marine retailer broke? Electronics are not the B & end all of a marine dealership. Last I looked at Sundown or Springwood Marine for that matter, there sure as hell was a lot more on the shelves tha Radios and Sounders.

Lighten up guys, some agree some don't, but there really is someone here in good ol Aus thats making a lot of money from Electronics, sounds like it's not the retailers tho ... but the question is who .....

Best part about this forum as far as Sundown Marine would be concerned, is they have tapped into their customer base/market and are receiving free feedback .... priceless.

We love their deals, advice and support so keep up the good work fellas. But on the down side or perhaps an opportunatey for improvement as far as marine electronics are concerned, the Aust Marine Industry need to get their act together to work on bridging the big price gap that currently exists. If people can save 40% or more on big ticket electronic items, you better believe that there's going to be a lot of blokes go for it.

Well thats my 2 bobs worth ....

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Yeah too true...good on ya Skippa and with only 2 bobs worth...I had $20.00 worth a post or two ago...you cheapskate!!!

Sorry for the diversion guys...

And yep...I agree Skippa...

Someone is making heaps - Importer? Wholsaler? Institutions that manipulate the money market and make a killing over night varying currency rates .5cents? Everyone wants their cop...

Cutting out the middle men certainly drops back the cost...and the "buy it overseas" option will be attractive to we fisho's with limited resources...

But I still reckon there's a bigger picture to consider...

Back to the debate
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

luress

I couldnt help my self after reading this little gem.Y ou say it is cheaper in the states and yes you are dead right , but that didnt keep the 4 lads employed I had in my tackle store.You would fall off your chair if you seen the margins I had to work with on big ticket items 5 - 15 %.But what I have also seen is the margin what the importers have on the same gear 85 - 100%.I used to get the customer bringing there recently bought shiny gold reel from the states in, because it had a niose in it , I used to think I like to stuff this fair up your butt ,but like good retailers we try our best to fix it for you.So please fellas give us a chance to compete because bass pro doesnt employ any aussies.If you need to know about my shop manner ask ALNFI he was one off my customers now we are good friends
    regards gary
    x 7 to 7 bait & tackle