Lowrance service under the microscope

Thread: Lowrance service under the microscope

Lowrance service under the microscope

I picked up my new boat two weeks ago and the Lowrance 3500 Global Map would not pick up satelights. After many conversations with Lowrance trying to discover what the problem may be I was told that if I sent back some components to test and they were not faulty I would be charged a service fee . So my only option was to work out for myself what may be wrong through trial and error . the only way I could achieve this was to find someone with the same unit and swich components untill I found the problem. This is where I must give BCF a huge THANKYOU, they helped me set up another unit on the dash of my boat and spent an hour with me trying to sort out the problem, the thing is I didn't even buy the unit from them. Now that BCF and myself have sorted out the problem for Lawrance I can't just get the new parts from BCF and send back the broken parts, Lawrance had to send me a consignment note to get a courier company to pick up the parts and take them back to Lawrance at Tweed Heads so that they can now test them to check that they are definately broken >. The courier picked up the parts this morning and said they would arrive at Lawrance on Friday. I am now wondering how long it will take them to send me some parts that work so I can go fishing for the first time in my boat. I will keep you posted on the outcome, hopefully I will be able to give them a good wrap for getting the parts back ASAP, I sure hope this unit does a good job after all the drama.

Re: Lowrance service under the microscope

G'day Maxi
    Mate I have found Lowrance service to be brilliant, They paid for freight and arranged a courier. New sounder unit back within a few days of sending the old one!!! They did this a couple of times for me. (and it may have been power probs with my motor that caused the problem)

They get a big thumbs up from me [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Regards.....Tony

P.S. I am sure that if there is a fault with the parts you are returning, they will pay the freight...no questions asked.

thats ok Tony BUT still doesn't help maxi much.a few years ago I had problems with one of their gps and received stuff allback up. REsult is garmin gps on board two boats and no more hard earned dollars will ever go to lowrance.
    simple.

BG

I found lowrance to be more than helpful when I had issues with my new sounder,
    There will always be an exceptions and bad stories,

Cheers Ben

I can't see the problem Tracker
    The whole unit could have been sent back to lowrance for testing, they would have arranged the courier to do so. Providing the fault was with the unit,and not a user/operater or improper instalation problem, ( which they cannot control) they would have rectified the fault and returned it at thier expense!!
    If the unit was installed in a new boat by a qualified person then one would assume that it was done properly, and therefore a problem with the unit must exist. If it was installed by some one not Qualified then they must be responsible for testing to make sure they have done it correctly or obtained qualified assesment, before the unit is returned or pay the assosiated costs.

Regards.......Tony

i got to agree with tony ,,,,,,,ive had problems with a 107 and the people at lowrance have been great .. i have had quick turn around times and have been given a new unit twice now without any delays ...arch

Tony,

You do have a good point, however the unit was installed by a professional and I suppose after sorting out the problem for them with the guy at BCF who has vast experience in this field, I thought that maybe Lowrance would have trusted the word of one of their dealers and let me take the parts I required instead of having to wait another week or so. I must say that the guys at Lowrance have been polite and are paying the freight and I am thankfull for that. I suppose I don't think it is really fair for me to have to fork out another $20 fuel and four hours of my time for a new product that should surely work straight out of the box if there is any quality control. Anyhow hopefully the guys at Lowrance check it out and get it back to me quickly and I will be a happy man. Thanks for your input I really appreciate it.

No worries Maxi!!
    Hopefully they will get ya back on the water a.s.a.p.

Regards, Tony

CHRIS_aka_GWH

am i missing something ?

You have a beef because Lowrance were honest with you & tried to save you a buck ?

BTW the unit isn't "straight out of the box" if a dealer or tech has fitted it. Why aren't they part of your concern - didn't they turn it on to test ?

It has also travelled a reasonable distance around the globe before being juggled between warehouses in Oz.

I have found Lowrance to be excellent in handling my queries & the units themselves do an excellent job compared to other common brands I've seen in mates boats. I've had my units for 3-4 years now.

Ausfish Premium Member

Hi MAxi,

What was the outcome?

Good luck,

Quote Originally Posted by CHRIS aka GWH
    am i missing something ?

You have a beef because Lowrance were honest with you & tried to save you a buck ?

BTW the unit isn't "straight out of the box" if a dealer or tech has fitted it. Why aren't they part of your concern - didn't they turn it on to test ?

It has also travelled a reasonable distance around the globe before being juggled between warehouses in Oz.

I have found Lowrance to be excellent in handling my queries & the units themselves do an excellent job compared to other common brands I've seen in mates boats. I've had my units for 3-4 years now.

I am with you Chris,

If you only picked your rig up Two weeks ago.........head straight back to the dealer. It is still there problem.
    Did they wire it up correct ?

Maxi
    Not having Lowrance 3500 Global Map should not stop you going fishing .If you find it too depressing i will be more then willing to lend you my sextant...

Ahoj

Hey Guys, got the global map parts back from Lowrance and they work . Thanks for all your input, the only drama now is getting the Navionics card to work . Looking forward to doing some fishing.

"the only drama now is getting the Navionics card to work"

My mate bought his around cause he couldn't bring anything up on it,I toyed with it for awhile and it had me stumped,eventualy I zoomed it right out and found the card marked "East coast of Aust" was actualy the chart for Norfolk Island.

Thanks Banshee, I'll give that a go.