good Value VHF radio @ Dick Smith (Hornsby NSW)

Thread: good Value VHF radio @ Dick Smith (Hornsby NSW)

good Value VHF radio @ Dick Smith (Hornsby NSW)

Hi guys
    I was in Dick Smith Hornsby tonight and saw they have a Uniden MC535 VHF radio for $99.95 (This is identical to the GME GX548 from 1-2 years ago)

Its a discontinued product or demo stock clearance. Im not sure if every store has them or just Hornsby or how may are available.

They keep their radios in a locked cabinet at Hornsby so i would have no problems buing a demo radio from them. (just check the box to make sure you get the bracket, power cable etc)

Just a heads up for anyone in the market. Its a good price i reckon

Rod

marlinqld

Re: good Value VHF radio @ Dick Smith (Hornsby NSW

Thanks for the haeds up mate. I am in the market for a VHF. Will check out local dick Smith this morning.

Are you sure it wasnt a receiver/scanner only? There are lots of those on the market, different brands including a GME model of receiver only.

marlinqld

Rang the Hornsby store. They are a NSW only sale, no Qld Dick Smith's have them. They are a transceiver.

They only had one left at 9.45am today.

if someone can get there in the next 5 minutes I would love one at that price....

marlinqld

After looking at them on Uniden's web site, and reading the specs, i think they are pre DSC technology, as they are a discontinued line.

Still, if they dont have the new DSC technology, so what? For $98 i would put one in my boat no worries.

Unfortunately they dont have any more. I have a copntact down there chasing a lead i got on a couple of them.... wont know till monday night, but if my contact can get one for that price its going in my boat.

Hi Mike
    Yep they are a good price.

Ive used the GME branded units (look identical) in several semi commercial boats and my own and never had a single problem with them.

Ive bought a couple of UHFs (for 4x4) from the DSE Hornsby store before when they were on a clearance price and I was veryyyyy happy