New color Sounder for Deep Water

Thread: New color Sounder for Deep Water

New color Sounder for Deep Water

Hi ...I am currently looking at up-grading my 1KW Lowrance X15-MT to a new color sounder...has anyone got a good replacement they could suggest....i mainly fish from 60-280 Fathom....only upgrading because the old Lowrance is Mono....I have also got a Raymarine DS500 but it doesn't like to work out after 100-150 fathom....

Re: New color Sounder for Deep Water

G'day Snelly,

You will get heaps of different replies about this.

The newer Lowrance LCX 110 is very good, and is available 1 kw as well.
    Good value for money, 10" screen, gps & sounder for under 4 grand.

The Raymarine C80 / 120 or E80 / 120 is also an excellent unit.
    12" screen, gps, 1kw transducer option, and can hook radar straight into it as well ... but be prepared to part with $10 grand for the lot.

Anything Furuno or Koden in 1kw is also good quality ... but for me, the Raymarine is the best value for money in the top end stuff.

For what you are doing, you will be well advised to stick with 1kw

Yeah Thanks for that Pete...the thing that pisses me off is that i cannot use my 1kw Transducer on the new lowrance units cause they have changed the plugs...that really shits me off....just another gimmick....

HI Mate

Get a wiring diagram and wire your own plug

Shandos

I posted a forum recently to see if this was able to be done ...but nobody answered me

snelly

not sure where u r, if u have electronic/wiring issues u could try someone like Trymax Marine at Capalaba, they're geeky electronic types.

Thanks for the info, Just really shits me that manufacturers change there stinking transducer plugs so that you have to buy the whole package....i have also read on here somewhere that a couple of other members have Raymarine DS 500 fitted with 1KW transducers ???...I also have one but it only is available with the 500kw trannie ?????

Trymax at Capababa are the gods of sounders, transducers. It would definately be worth talking to them. I think they can adapt different transducers to sounders.

Whichway.

G'day Snelly,

You are better off replacing the transducer as well ... they do get tired (or deaf) over time as well.

I know it can be a pain to change transducers, but it is worth it in the long run.

Plugs can be changed quite easily, and even changed from brand a to brand b sounder ... but it is better to get a new transducer.

I never commented before about people putting a 1kw transducer on a 500w sounder.
    Absolute waste of money.
    It is the same as connecting a $1000 set of 500w speakers to a Walkman CD player - it wont have the power to drive them.

It revolves around the power of the unit to drive the transducer.

Therefore, make sure your unit is rated to 1000w rms before considering upgrading the transducer.....

'nuff said.

Would yo have the phone no for Trymax..? and i didnt say you commented on putting a 1kw trannie on a 500w sounder...i read it on another string here somewhere..??

Sorry snelly ... crossed wires here .... I meant I hadnt bothered saying anything to the others that had connected 1kw transducer to 500w sounder.

I didnt mean that you were saying that I had said I had connected....

anyway....

Trymax ... Ask for Scott Watson (07) 3245 3633

Thanks for your help Pete..

i have had lowrance lcx 15mt,jrc ff50,now running new furuno 585 awsome unit great screen & daylight viewable. jrc has bottom discrimination ,furuno bottom lock i thought i would miss bottom discriminaton but you can still determan bottom hardness on the 585 if you have experiance in sounders for mine the 585 wins on screen size.

Thanks Soulfish....was looking at going to the furuno....they seem to be the go with most commercial fisherman, so that must say alot...cheers Mick