Re: crew needed for offshore tomorrow - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Re: crew needed for offshore tomorrow

Re: crew needed for offshore tomorrow

mack......

they dont realise
    not only is it cheap but the expertise that it takes to get them out there and then the experience required
    to locate and catch fish.
    some skippers ask for more then others for shared costs
    skippers know taking out crew, their costs are reduced so they can go more often and not out to profit from the exercise.
    its BLOODLY cheap.
    "whats the time"

sounds fair peter

Peter & all

I agree with you all the way. If you want to learn you pay for it, nothin is free. Just dont want to see guy's chased by the tax man cause he thinks they are running a business(making money). When all they are doing is providing a community service(sounds good). Thats why i think the right words are needed in advertising for a crew,as a safe guard for yourself.

Gibbo

Ausfish Addict

its not the tax man you have to worry about guys, its litigation if someone is hurt or killed while paying for a trip that is advertised. think about it. on the other hand there is nothing wrong with mates asking mates to contribute towards costs to go fishing. Just be careful with the wording. I would probably say " going fishing yadda yadda if anyone would like to come along and are able to contribute towards costs please contact me" or something like that.
    joe.

snappa, the times ive put a post up looking for crew ive had a good response, the longest ive waited has been less than an hour....we should put a guarantee on the days catch just to seperate us from our commercial friends who cant risk it lol 1 carton for anyone who doesnt bring home dinner that should keep the punters happy 8)

Jaybee, from people in the know ive talked to re that issue you are stuffed anyway ???

Ausfish Addict

how so Rob, if friends are going out fishing and sharing costs, and you have an accident, and you have insurance, you should be covered, however, if you advertise for people and funds, now thats a different story. please explain, i think we would all like to know more, because if a mate cant contribute towards costs of fishing and we have insurance, then something is wrong with the system somewhere.
    Joe

Surely they dont clasify it a "work place" cause you receive money? if thats the case we are all screwed

Gibbo

Big_Kev

Stuff the tax man how did the trip go Rob.
    Sunday will be the day for me and I may be looking for a deckie.
    Cheers Kev

Joe, in this case there is no advertising, we are all friends and i wasnt assuming who did or didnt have insurance certainly you should be covered if u do have insurance but again it gets complicated and thats why you have to check the wording as whats right for me may not be for you....as my policy reads...i am doing nothing wrong by taking people i consider friends fishing for the purpose of sharing the cost of a day out, Michael thanks for your thoughts. cheers Rob

hi

we are on a chat board asking for fishos to go fishing i would not include this as advertising as there is no commerical intent from the skipper.

i take a lot of different fishos out that i have never meet before. i post up my trips and all are welcome to come along.their costs are far below what a commerical charter would cost them therefore i can not see what i do or others , been deemed as a commerical exercise to make money.
    i was once asked if i had toilets on board (male and female) you guess it they were NEVER asked .... these are the fishos that are considering my posts and my web page as a commerical charter hence, the ones to avoid.
    i have been thinking of making up a sheet with instructions on it and i go through it before leaving the harbour.eg show how to use the eprib and where the it is located and also the same with the safety jackets. sign it off with them.
    what do you think.

"whats the time"

Good idea I reckon. I remember something about a skippers obligation to his crew in BnB?. You are resposible/liable,my interpretation.
    Its all about covering your arse these days, when all you are doing is trying to have some fun.

Gibbo

Peter, All Michaelg and Myself were trying to get across, is to advertise on any internet site, or else where, that it will cost you so many dollars to come fishing.
    It comes across as if your running some business on the side. It may never happen that someone might inquire into your going on's.
    But you never know whos looking into these sites, so it pays to be a bit more discrete with what you say especially regarding charges to go fishing.
    Its something you and your deckie should agree on that day and not broadcast to all.
    If it comes to the day as your were thinking or suggesting about making fishing partners sign some disclaimer to cover our butts.
    Its time to stop taking friends or anyone on trips, which would be a sad day indeed.

hi

yes i have no worries and i wasnt on anyone case.i know we as skippers are only taking mates out fishing.
    in my case i am playing with fire AS I DO NOT HAVE INSURANCE.
    something i will have to rectify SOON
    money dose things to people or lack of in a case where your fishing buddy is injured on your boat and then the bills come in.
    everyone is after a quick fix these days.
    and it is a sorry state of affairs.
    anyway lets go fishing and as a mate of mine says
    NO WORRIES
    "whats the time"

HMMMM Rob M,M a carten of Crown (worth over $40)
    if you dont catch a feed,or Snappa with no policy,what time are we leaving Rob .Snappa I'd reckon you've got a bit too much too lose. Cut through the red tape, no worries guaranteed .A mate in townsville is still paying big time for a boating accident from 1997.