Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

NQCairns

Re: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

G'Day Daintree, yeah too right it would take a week to wipe the smile of my face if I caught one like that , mine were not that giant GT's. I know Ron needs some weight up the front real bad in his rig, when you see mine you will understand why it is 1 up offshore, 2 up anywhere else, otherwise you would have a spot for sure. Whats this all my boats stuff? how many you got? glad you are feeling better. nq

Actually mate I'm still crook but I'm sure I'll be fine by then. Yeah I do have a few boats but you get that when your hooked on fishin. If I do get the chance to come what do you blokes say about going a bit wider. The truth is, the re is really only enough room for one boat on the wreck, two at a pinch. Check your charts and you'll see a 'mound' west of Thetford reef. A mate and I caught 8 Mangrove Jack there one arvo after work, the biggest around 4 kilo. We've caught some nice trout and estuary cod too on the few other occasions I've been. Also, another mate and I caught 20 Coral Trout (we bagged out by midday) at Thetford reef just a bit further out the first and only time we ever fished it. I don't fish out of Cairns much. Anyway food for thought. Let us know what you reckon.
    Cheers, Mark. 8)

isn't thetford a long way out ??? ??? ??? Not bad bagging out by midday tho. Good effort. As for a 40kg GT, WOW!!!! Woulda taken a fair bit of effort trying to get that thing in.
    Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
    Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'

How far from the ramp is thetford? how far offshore also? I'll be keen if everyone else is.

NQCairns

Just checked it out on some software. Ramp to Green = 27km, green to thetford=25km, ramp to thetford shortest route=44.5km.
    There is a shoal inline half way between green and thetford also rises from 36m to 18m . I guess Iam keen to go anywhere with company, but wouldn't it have to be a full day trip? I estimate in good conditions it would be near 3 hours travel return, 6 hours if it turns to crap
    Hey Daintree that mound if I got it right is 3km west of thetford and rises from 40m to 20m? looks good. nq

We are going to need the full compliment of safety gear also on each boat out there.

Also maybe any bigger boats which could handle it could take some extra fuel out, i think my 46 litres will be enough but it will be sniffing fumes by the end id say. But yea with company im keen to go anywhere.

NQCairns

Hi Tim, yeah 46l will be close, not sure if there really will be any bigger boats? Might be best if we make sure we can cover ourselves except for unseen events, carry an extra 10 or so litres you will be covered in all weather conditions, we might even have to share a tow .
    FNQT gave me the idea of carrying a spare bulb and hose to pump from one container into main tank, saves all that stress trying to transfer when it is lumpy. My main takes around 45L and I will be toping up at the first opportunity after the run out. The more I think about it the more I want to go nq
    Anyone with VHF?

I will put the idea to sean AKA vertico aswell, hes in innisfail and may enjoy a trip out. I think we are going to chase some cobia the same weekend in his boat.
    Cant wait for the trip, just hope the whether is good for that weekend. Even if it isnt good whether, i go up towards cairns atleast once a month so i will get up there when the whether is good.

Yeah that's about right NQ. It's worth a quick stop on the way to Thetford if you do decide to go. You may pick up a nice fish or two.

Hmm i hope this whether has cleared by next weekend. Is it raining in cairns? its pissing down in townsville. I may go try the wiers this arvo for some barra if they are flowing yet(doubt they will be yet).

Guys, I'm out for this weekend. My girlfriends brother and family are having their last weekend in the area before heading back down to sunny brissy. I've been given the task of taking them on a sightseeing trip up the river before they go. I'll jave to try catch up with you another time. I've heard a report of a 52 kg cobia being caught off the wreck last weekend. Anyone else heard this? Maybe it was 52 lb eh?

NQCairns

Thats a shame Daintree, but fair enough blood is thicker than water, I had a chat to FNQTinny on the phone and he said you had a spot on boat to share the driving. If things change yell out. 52kg i think that is even bigger than the cobia on the vid "land based addiction" must have been 52lb, woo hoo even that size would have been fun cheers nq

Who's FNQtinny. Do I know him?

NQCairns

Yep probably, Ron hits these boards every now and then, (recons he is really busy at the moment - yeah right and has a habit of dropping his moble in the drink) had a chat on the phone earlier and told him about this trip and the M&G idea sure he will be around soon to check it out for himself.
    Dr Dan you still intrested in this w'end? nq

Hey NQ whats the whether looking like atm? its just finished 2 days of rain here just hoping its not moving onto you guys.