Invite tag along Green Is Wreck - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

NQCairns

Re: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

G'Day Tim it's been raining o/nite mostly got 10mm last night, just odd showers around during the day, it's actually a nice morning for a trip out bugger all wind around. Did you do the weir trip? nq

Yea we tried the weirs this morning, they are all flowing now. forgot the cast net though so we had to use some SP's which we had in the car but the fish would only harrass it.
    Good to hjear the whether is looking ok, cant wait for the weekend. Who is coming by the way?

NQCairns

Well at this stage just you, your mate?, me, Ron and Dan if he is still considerering the idea, so 4 boats. A 50% turnout for these things is good in my experience. The only way I wont go at this stage is weather or by myself. nq
    Anyone elso out there up for the trip?

Well as long as the whether is good you wont be alone because im damn keen to get out there and will be up on friday night. You still coming dan?

Guys, I'd love to come, but unfortunately, have to head out to Georgetown over the weekend, gotta help my sister transport some shit out there. SO NO FISHING!!!!!

let us know how you go. I'd be keen for the weekend after if you reckon that you can drag yourselves out there again

You guys head out to Fitzroy at all? Pleanty of good areas out there. Lot easier to get out to more regularly. Had a guy i know catch a marlin on a handline out there! Just off little fitzy.

Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
    Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'

Fitzroy would be awsome, thats a fair distance off shore isnt it? Do you go in your tinny?
    I dont know if ill be back up the following weekend unless this weekend turns to shit and i dont go. Too bad you cant come, i will catch some fish for you . As long as you can make the M&G

Fitzroy isn't that far off the coast. it takes a while to get out there, but it is just a short hop from Kings point (mainland opposite fitzroy) to the island. Yeah, i go out in my tinny. You don'g need anything big. People go out in 12 ft punts on a good day! I think it is a lot safer an option than green, so can head out there wehn the weather isn't that flash.

May yet have the opportunity to come out. Georgetown has been flooded in, so i'll have to head out there when the river goes down, so if i can get some stuff organised, i may be able to come out. You going on Saturday or sunda? Keep me informed, incase i can still come.

Still looking fairly wet in Tville! Weirs should be over by now shouldn't they?

NQCairns

Hi Dan good to hear you might make it, i was quietly wondering where Kings Point was . I know sunday is the only option for Ron I am cool both ways with a leaning toward sunday myself. Kings point sounds nice what other fish are there to be had? nq

Sunday is good for me.
    Boat ramp at what time?

Kings has some REALLY REALLY good fishing there. But can be a bit unpredictable. As i said, it's the mainland opposite fitzroy. Within bout 40mtrs from the mainland, the water drops to 140+ft! Reef and rock and patchy sand. You get the currents really roaring through there some times.
    Catch all kinds of fish, i've got trout, trevally, mackeral, cobia, sweetlip, cod (big buggers!!!), shark, jewfish, jacks, nanygai, fingermark, umm, basically if you can catch it around cairns, then it's a kings.

We have most success on BIG live baits (live stripies and hussars caught off the bottom, bout 30cm long) floating under some polystyrene, about 30ft under the foam. Also if you can get your hands on wolfherring, GET AS MANY AS YOU CAN!!!! Hook them up whole and drift them or float them out the back. Put a gar or pillie out or smaller livie, for the cobes.
    Heaps of bait available at fitzroy, only 5-10mins away (10 in my boat, cos she a bit on the slow side!) Take a cast net for endless supply of sardines and herring.

The bottom around kings is AWSOME. there is a big plateau (bout 30ft deep) the is out the front of a little bay, then drops down to 140 or more ft. you get fish everywhere, but i tend to try the deeper water.

It now looks like i may not be able to come (AGAIN!!!!!) Floodwaters going down.

I'll keep in touch in the off chance that i can come. Let us know how you go. You can fish a heap of boats around kings, so may be a better option than the wreck if there are a few boats.

If you are heading to fitzroy, try around Little Fitzroy. Big dropoffs everywhere. Last time I was out there, just trolling, there were shitloads of fish sounding on the dropoffs. Good mackies around there as well!

Have a ball. No fish in georgetown

im getting excited now. Lets go there to kings point
    What do you think NQ? Im really not that fussed i just want to go and catch some fish where ever they may be but this kings does sound promising.

NQCairns

Dan you dont happen to work in the tourist industry do you?? That was an awsome plug, i started shaking just reading it, sounds just brilliant .
    What wind direction is the best and worst for the area? also what size waves turn the place to crap? If you have any GPS coords for basic spots that you dont mind giving away pm them when you have time, i promise to recipricate with some goodies when i get more exp in the area.
    Flood waters, how rare that is these days up here, with luck it may keep pissing down, for more reasons than one. Hope to see you at the ramp, if not have a safe trip. nq

Edit: Yeah Tim bloody hell! That place will see the bottom of my hull I an sure. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Edit again : Actually if a person draws a line from the wreck due south-ish then ENE-ish then west-ish it creates a big triangle of fun between the Wreck, kings, telford and back to the wreck will get back with some distances so that we have options for the trip.Cheers

Nah, don't work in the tourist industry, just love the spot.

As for wind direction etc, it's really hard to say. There have been times when i've nearly not made it out through the leads because too rough, then got to kings, dead flat. Other times, made the trip out, and had to turn around once got there.

As long as you don't mind a bit of bumpy stuff, you should be able to head out fairly often. Anything up to 15knots i head out in. Just make sure got some bailing equipment, had some real rough trips out there, taking water over the bow!

Distances, well, i'm not sure exactly. it takes me just under an hour (40-50mins) to get there, but that's with a 25 with two or three blokes on board with a full chest full of ice and gear etc. More like 50mins to get there for me. Get out ther in bout 25-30 in mates 4.75 cuddy with 75 on the back. So it's not all that long. i run the motor flat out (have to to get anywhere) and i use just over a tank to get there and back with a bit of trolling, and moving around out there. That's a 20ltr tank by the way.

As for spots, I dont' actually own a GPS!!!! Uni student wages don't permit it! I have to rely on the good old triangulation.

I'll PM you with some good areas to try.

Word of advice!
    watch out for the mud flats on the eastern side of the inlet! Just watch your sounder if heading over it at low tide. Should get over fine in a tinny, but i normally don't risk it too much.

Also, as you come around the headland at Kings, there are a couple of rocks/bommies that are away from the coast bout 15-20mts. Just keep an eye out for these. take it slow around the headland, drop some lures out the back for a troll. watch your sounder, you'll be amazed at the bottom!

NQCairns

Hi Guys, here is the weekend forecast so far
    Saturday: NW/NE winds 10/15 knots.
    Sunday: SE/NE winds 10/15 knots.
    looks like the dont know what is happening sunday.
    It has been raining cats and dogs here all morning, and had been gusting to 27kn, should be some minor flooding around, might help the fishing soon Cheers

Hmm hope its all better, I couldnt wait for the rain to hit but now i want to go away on the weekend i wish it hadnt.