Invite tag along Green Is Wreck
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

NQCairns

Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

Hi, If you have not got out there because of "single small boat syndrome" we are extending an invite to anyone with their own boat to tag along tomorrow morning to fish the green is wreck. Anyone with a little tinny, safety equip and 50ish metres of anchor rope especially invited, all are welcome, so far 2 small tinnys (14footers) are going weather permiting. Leave the Cairns trawler ramp at approx 5.30 back by 12. Damn late notice i know Cheers Nq
    Send PM or email. cheers again.

Re: Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

Mate I"d love to go but I'm too crook (is that possible for a fishing trip?). Anyway you can't fit more than two boats on the wreck. Good luck and let us know how you go!!

I'll be heading out around Fitzroy, hitting Kings etc from about midday tomorrow, till some time monday. How good the weather looking at the moment? The reports look awsome. Hopefully will hold out for a bit! Best of luck guys, let us know how it all goes.

Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
    Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'

How'd it go out at the wreck? Any luck?

NQCairns

Hi Dan, it might be more interesting to hear about your trip. Mine got called off at the last moment and the weather was so fine . So how did you go? All the fishy details?. Dont make me feel too bad ,please be kind .nq

Hey NQ sounds interesting(except the part where you didnt go out fishing in great whether), will you be planning another trip any time soon? If you are id be keen to tag along in my tinny and give it a go sometime. Just let me know with as much notice as possible, i need some time to smooth over the misses to let me spend some money.

Fitzroy eh dr dan, ive seen some damn big GT's floating round the jetty there(one around a metre which visits the jetty frequently). I had alot of luck while fishing a morning session with a hand line a few years back. Would go back any day, just hope i dont throw up a banana paddle pop on the way like last time

My trip was one of those days where the weather was awsome, fishing a bit slow. But i spose you can't always have it both ways. Went out to kings point bout 2pm sunday, heaps of fish on the bottom in bout 140ft, some good size arches too. Buggers just weren't interested in baits. Got a massive run just on dark on a live stripey bout 20cm long. Line snapped as something jumped in the distance. Nice size fish, but just on dark, so couldn't see whta it was.

got bricked a couple of times on the bottm, not fun trying to snap 100lb handline in 140ft of water in a little tinny!!!

Lost two fish on whole wolfies, had half a dozen gangs in the bait. One was a mackie about 120cm, snipped the wolfie, took all the bait on the hooks, left only the tail where there weren't any hooks. Stuffed if I know how the hell it didn't hook up.

Lots of fish around, some real nice size tuna around little fitzroy, but were feeding on tiny little fish out of the floating weed, less than an inch long, so had no lures smal enough to tempt them.

Headed back to Cairns bout 1pm monday. Highlight of the trip, me catching a big green turtle on handline off the bottom, and also a moray eel at night. Felt sorry for the poor turtle, never had one take a bait out there before.

All in all, an Awsome day on the water, just a pitty bout the fishing. Heading out on Aqua-Cat on Sunday. Hopefully a bit of a more succesful trip than last weekend.

Pitty bout your trip. Get out again soon, the weather looks awsome for a while

Later [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

NQCairns

Hi Tim sounds like a plan! I am itching to get out there soon. The last and first trip I did out to the wreck I buddyed boats with FNQTinny and we had an interesting day to say the least, FNQtinny took water over the back, some minor motor trouble, we couldn't find the wreck for quite a while, we each left an anchor behind and my dog wiped my feet out from under me in the rough stuff, we were like a couple of southern tourists which we both sort of are with 1 years FNQ experience each. Not trying to scare you off
    I will keep you informed, the 3 day forecast is about the best i can do for notice though, is that enough?

Hi Dan sounds like someone had fun , whats the go did you sleep on the tinny? The first sea creature i caught in FNQ was from a beach a small GS Turtle he happily swam away then hung around so we had to stop fishing in that spot. Possibly we should hold future turtle encounters as secret mans business in the current exclusionary climate
    I have yet to encounter a Mackeral anywhere near that big!! or did you mean Mack tuna . Your experience really gives me the 'gee-up' to just get out there. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Let us know how your weekend trip goes.
    Cheers nq

Ps anyone know the correct term for a bunch of little tinneys all heading heading out together? (No not stupid). A gaggle?? or a hunt?

Quote Originally Posted by NQCairns
    Hi Tim sounds like a plan! I am itching to get out there soon. The last and first trip I did out to the wreck I buddyed boats with FNQTinny and we had an interesting day to say the least, we were like a couple of southern tourists which we both sort of are with 1 years FNQ experience each.
    I will keep you informed, the 3 day forecast is about the best i can do for notice though, is that enough?
    Yea 3 days is good, i am heading to innisfail on the 17th and 18th weekend for some fishing with ausfish member vertico so maybe if we made it that weekend if it suits everyone else and the whether is good. Is it fairly protected out there eh? What sort of fish are being caught out there? Also what sort of motors people running? i may get left behind with a 30hp.

[/quote]
    Ps anyone know the correct term for a bunch of little tinneys all heading heading out together? (No not stupid). What about a gaggle?? or a hunt?
    [/quote]

Haha not sure bout that one.

approximatly how far is it from the boat ramp also?

NQCairns

Hi again Tim, it's 27km from the ramp, we both run 30 2st, i used 28litres round trip and Ron used about 30l, I did 78km in total. Good conditions it is a 40-50min trip and when bumpy near 1.5+ hours we got both last trip. Not really protected at all esp with our sized boats 10kn is fine 15kn is still safe but a bit uncomfortable, last trip it was gusting to 23kn on the way back into Cairns, we stayed dry but it was slowwwww. Will keep an eye on the 17th and 18th with view to a trip out, feel free to email me anytime. I dont know what is being caught around here at the moment, I caught a couple of GTs last trip.cheers Nq

Yeah NQ, I meant a Mackeral. Damn thing followed the chewed up wolfie right to the back of the boat. wouldn't take it again tho, they were only hitting them whole. Yeah, me an my brother in law slept in the tinny. Not too bad hey. Pretty comfortable. I couldn't get over how clear the water was. Could clearly see the bottom in around 30ft! AWSOME!!

Let us know about the trip to Green. May be able to join you. My tinny is a 4.1 savage runabout with an OLD 25 evinrude on the back, reliable motor, just a bit on the slow side. O well, as long as it gets you out there and back hey.

How does the trip out to Green go? All the weather reports from the beauro have green being windier than the reef. Often by bout 10knts???

cheers [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Sounds good. Is there much live bait out there?

NQCairns

Ha Ha Dan sounds like you know and get on well with your BIL better than most, 4.1 is pretty small for a campover of two
    The slowspeed just gives a person less chance to miss interesting stuff on the way out, no problem.

I know what you mean about the difference in wind speed green is to cairns makes it hard to judge. Last trip it was still 5kn at green and 20+ at the cairns airport ??? ??? ???.

The more the merrier we fished 30m of the wreck and still caught a couple, we will all just be close enough that we dont have to shout

Tim I dont know about livies at the wreck, last trip there was none anywhere we went? there is a creek at the mouth of the inlet where there are a few to cast up. Only 2 mins out of our way.

FNQTinny, Ron are you up for a trip??

Daintreeboy, you feel ing any better? up for a fish yet??.

Nq

NQ you just want to catch one of those big GT's I posted here a while back. I went in to Erskines tackle shop the other day and they have a cast of a big GT in there on the wall. The bloke reckoned it was 36 kg. I'm happy to say mines was bigger... only just though, maybe 40 kg. Good luck guys if you get out, I can't make it, all my boats are up at Wonga Beach so unless I locate a mate to go with in Cairns, I'm out of action, unless you guys have a spot?