coochiemudlo island

Thread: coochiemudlo island

coochiemudlo island

I will be going fishing out from vic point this friday night/sat morning. having never fished this aera before was looking for a spot or two to try. i have a 16ft runabout with a sounder but no gps. and would like to get onto a few snapper or sweetlip, even a shark would be a bit of fun. any info would be great.
    rick

Re: coochiemudlo island

Hi Rick
    welcome to the site
    Cant help with the fishin spots as i am in paradise (TASSIE) with the bloody wind blowin at 30 + Knots, sure some one will help ya out though

Rick , i haven't fished out of a boat in the southern bay much .
    Only chasing a few Bronze whalers .

I think you will have a better chance to head up to Peel island .
    The channel on the eastern side is easy to find some toothies , just anchor up next to the channel and berley berley berley !
    Shouldn't take long to get one out !
    Longest we've waited is probably 15 minutes

Also plenty of reef patches around the area for sweetlip and pinkies .
    If you find a good drop , might come across some better reds ..but i can't say for sure .
    I know they're there , just haven't fished for them .
    Launch is coming in a few weeks , then i will find out for sure .

GPS won't really be needed ( unless someone gives you an exact position to find them ) just find the ledges on the sounder .

thanx blaze & billo
    It is starting to look like I wont be able to get out on friday as the mechanic hasn,t finished with my boat yet.
    so i might have to postpone the trip for a week or so. Billo thanx for the tips on peel I will defently have a poke around there and see what I can find and let you know how I did.
    rick

G'Day Goldfish,

Mate, still plenty of options around Coochie: You'll do well to fish the drop offs around the S/E red bouy, good time is on the turn of the tide Keep it light, with just enough to get you down a berley trail. Around the N/E marker will also be worth a try, as with the drop off out from Point Halloran side (N/W). You'll get some protection from the S/Eers there, if its blowing.

Don't be afraid to go into the shallows either

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak