Thread: Cardwell/Hinchenbrook

Cardwell/Hinchenbrook

Am thinking of going up to Cardwell /Hinchenbrook some time this year for a week.I have never been there before and I was wondering what would be the best time of year to go regarding fishing and weather? Would like to know best places to stay as in cabins or units. Is Kookaburra Holiday Park ok. Will be towing 4.5m open tinney with 40hp would this be suitable? If I decide not to tow the boat can you hire boats there?-Beatle.

Jack_Lives_Here

Re: Cardwell/Hinchenbrook

Have fished the channel several times - always in September around the full moon, but only stayed at Lucinda at the southern end. Differnet times of the year will see different species active. What were you looking to chase?? A smorgasboard of options. A 4.5m tinny is just the ticket. An electric motor will increase your chances if you are lure fishing. Not sure on boat hire at Cardwell. Hinchinbrook is a magic place - you'll not be disappointed.

Jack -I like any sort of fishing and am partial to trolling and throwing lures about ,I like Barra but I would like to make my first trip up there when there was a fair chance of fine weather. I realise you cant always have good weather and fish to you take what you get! What fish would be on when??-Thanks for your reply I have just got to decide when to go.

Jack_Lives_Here

The hot weather gets the mundi fish going, that's why we usually go late Sept. We fish both drains and snags - just depends where the fish are. Haycock Island, about midway in the channel is a top spot for a troll. Deep water, rocks and current [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] We've caught good barra there, mackeral, queenies, cod, GT's etc. Had a few unstoppables also. Last year was a bit quiet due to a sudden blast of cool weather. We looked for crocs at creek mouths and scored fish this way. Figured where there's crocs there's tucker.

Try the Beachcomber Caravan / Motel ph 4066 8550.

Mate a group of us (about 9 or 10) were up there in Feb and they looked after us. A cabin would set you back about $80 but it sleeps five. Own shower, stove, A/C and lots of room for the boat. Great bar to sit at in the arvy and watch the sun go down and spin stories, very nice resturaunt.

Didn't do to well with fishing bar Snelly,NQCairns and FNQ Tinnie getting into the GT's with Poppers.

I myself am famous among the group for catching and eating Mother-in-Laws.

gee robbo u've just got it too good up there(i'm stuck in brissie now) ???ur gunna drive a couple hours north 2 chase fish when the weirs on the ross(Applins is my fav) practicly hand hand u standard meter+ barra & throwin a lure or live bait nearly anywhere in the salt, foreshores included,produces all kinds of toothy critters. And all this can b easiest done from the shore!!! Well all the luck 2 ya mate Make sure u drop in 4 a beer at the pub at Dungeoness, local knowlege at any time of year is the go. ask the barman who the charter opeeraters r,they'll generaly trade u some rather broard info on wots goin on 4 a beer or 2! so your biggest problem will b WHERE FIRST!!

Have been to Hinchinbrook and will keep going back. Always gone to Cardwell and have never looked back. First trip 18 mths ago , we got into jack up to our ears in the northern creeks. This year, two weeks ago got into barra, jacks, and some huge grunter to five kilo's. Barra in the passage, try the creeks, especially where the crocs are ( as previously mentioned).

The weather bothers you less at Cardwell end. We fished two of the six days in twenty knots without a problem, including the trip out and back. We were in tinnies between 4.1m to 4.3m with thirties and fourties on the back. Travelled up to fourty nautical miles per day.

The run off this year stopped a lot of good fishing.

Kookaburra Holiday park is a great place to stay. E/Mail them and they will suggest the best package for your group. They look after you like champions.

All the best. I'm going back in October just before the closure. Worked 18mths ago and I'm going to give it a go again. Three boats so far going.

All the best

Stilltryin

just got back in march and am off up there in the next week. i have a 4m hornet and it was fine. blokes there took a 435 hornet older style to missonary bay just fine overall great place. kookaburra is a great place. owner lets you park boat on any spare room and there is was down area as well. they also had a free to use chest freezer that they drop off to your room plus for a small deposit they will let you have some crab pots and cast nets. villas are great. as rex said food for the soul