-
Going Darwin 5thJune-13June
Three flying to Darwin for a week in June anyone suggest any good one or two day organised fishing trips out of Darwin.
Suggest any good attractions to see while there or things to do. Just need a break.
-
Re: Going Darwin 5thJune-13June
corrobiree (not sure of the spelling) billabonge
-
G'day Max,
Yeah Coroborree billabong is very nice, it is only about 70 k's out of darwin with the last 20 k's being gravel, a two wheel drive is fine,there are a few guides who fish there,but can be pricey, i would suggest hiring a boat,i think they are about 100 for a full day,there is a boat hire place called gecko boat hire who are reasonable and come with a sounder,fuel and the like, they can take 3 easy..... another place to look at might be hardies billabong, it is about abother 2 km,down the arnham highway past the coroborree turn off, both places are great for wildlife,crocs brids etc,and the fishing can be good, depending on how cool it is,the billabong fish get very lazy when the water tempreture drops,so a trip to a big river might be the go If you were looking to get a guide for a day, i would sugest one that is going out to the south alligator river or maybe the daly, they should be able to get you onto some nice fish there. a good guide for barra fishing is fishing and outdoor adventures. if you are looking to do some blue water,which can be great, equinox is a charter place that has a good name up here, and usually get onto some big dewies and snapper. When not fishing i would sugest a trip to litchfield national park, its about a hour and a half out of town,. theres about 4 water falls and you can swim in 3 of them,take the esky for a few quiet ones and have a bbqc. about half hour outthere is a place called berry springs, a fresh water hole where u can swim as well, again a few beers and a bbq is good down there...
Anyway Max, hope this helps, if you have any more queries let me know
-
Thanks Nomad,
Coroborree and Billabong sounds the go, I have done shady camp, yellow waters and south alligator but was looking for something different, the other blokes have never been up there, air fares were cheap but a little different when you do not have the tinnie and gear with you. You mention Litchfield that was one of the reasons for going I watched it on getaway and it looked like a real good place to visit so will be a cert now. Have you got a number or contact for fishing and outdoor advertures also equinox would be good. Thanks for allthe info.
-
Yeah max, the numbers for equinox is (08) 8942 2199 or freecall 1800 19 9000, the number for fishing and outtdoor adventures is 0407 355458 the blokes name is marty. Yep Litchfield is a must, when on a tight schedule, most people go to litchfield in stead of kakadu, i have been to both and if you arent fishing,litchfield is the way to go, alot less traveling time,and more options for swimming.... Anyway Max, hope this helps and have a good one
-
-
I'm going to Darwin 12th June for 6 days I have got a campervan and will probably head towards bynoe harbour for some fly action. There is an excellent book available called Nothern Australian Fishing or something similar. Got mine down here but you can also try www.fishfinderbooks.com. Good luck and leave a few fish fo rme
-
I have been on quite a few trips to Darwin Barra fishing and the only way to go is to get a GOOD guide. Guides up there are a dime a dozen and you must be carefull otherwise you will waste the $800 per day they charge. I strongly reccomend Scott Eccles of First Choice Barra Fishing (he advertises in the Queensland Fishing Monthly), his phone no. is 08 8931 1848.-Beatle. [smiley=beatnik.gif]
-
Hey DazB,
At the moment,bynoe is going off for Queenies, Salmon, and if you can find a dewie hole you should do well,whatever you do,dont forget to grab a couple of crab pots either as the muddies are abundant out there at the moment, i would recomend using chicken carcasses out there,which you can get from lenards or the like... tides are neap at the 12th...... If you have time i would recomend trying to get out to one of the billabongs, which are only a hour from darwin, it can be really good fishing with fly out there,and they actually have a fly comp out at corroborree billabong now...... a top spot to see the wildlife, and i would recomaned fishing the early mornings and late arvo,or evan into the night for the best results
-
Thanks Nomad_seagull. quite partial to a feed of muddies. some one told me that you can keep the Jennies in NT. Is that true?
-
Yeah Mate, the legal size for bucks are 13cm and the legal size for the jennies are 14cm....and you can only take if there are no eggs.... i usually toss the jennies anyhow..... had a mate who was out around the bynoe area 2 days ago, got 16 muddies,all were bucks except for 4 jennies,said they were all full of meat.so its looking good for ya.