Going to Mud. - Page 2

Thread: Going to Mud.

Re: Going to Mud.

I took my son(4yr) out yesterday from 11am - 3.30ish, Got stacks of bites, had some ripper runs just could not set the hooks(2/o mustads). heaps of bream & small squire. Just about to pull pick, Matthew yells i got a bite, He landed a 41cm Squire all by himself ,absolutely stocked (both of us)
    Bait -salt Mullett strips
    fished western side-spot xyz

Michael

I'm heading over there tommorrow arvo/evening and maybe tues - weather looks good.

Cheech,
    You are lucky you went back when you did. I came back about 10pm. straight into a 20+ Knot westerly, cold and slow.

Hey Cheech,
    I posted my Mud adventure in the reports section.
    Also I don't think I would venture over there in the dark without a GPS.
    I have a handheld with basic mapping, works great, and being handheld I can use it anywhere.
    Hunt

Michaelg,
    2/0 Mustards ???
    I can catch a 20cm squire on a 6/0.

Hunt

the hooks were baitholder type little barbs on them. dont keep the packets but im pretty sure it was a 2 something.

Michael

Hi seahunt

I just caught up with this info about your trips to mud i. Sounds like you enjoy a fair bit of bay fishin and probably have encountered some nice fish over the years.

I was just going to add something to ur query about tld reels from the other day. Now that i have read about ur local haunt and targeted species its probably not surprising that u were spooled once or twice on the shimano spin reel !!

I havent fished much mud in the past but am aware of the critters that live below and im sure could outclass a smallish spin reel. I have read reports of regular catches of 8 - 10kg snapper and largish sharks taking livies.

Given the fish that live in these waters its probably a bit of over kill with the tld25 rig, but may have that elusive 'big one' on board occasionally! Additionally, you could enjoy dabbling in a bit of light game fishin with it. eg. livebaitin for longtails and cobes ect up the northern bay. Its also great for bottom bashin in deeper water and trolling for pelagics.

For the most part a smaller overhead rig should do the trick, or a larger spin reel, probably suggest 10 - 15 kg line caus if a big red hits u in shallow water (like around mud i) he will be headding home..in a hurry!

Good luck
    MicK

By the way Michael, great to hear Matthew getting that fish. I go out a lot with my 7year old and look forward to the day he gets a hold of one similar.