-
Ausfish Gold Member
Peel - Saturday 5th
G'Day Guys,
Me and the boys are heading over to Peel this weekend to try round hole in the wall and around goat island area. Not sure what we can expect out there but we'll see.
Leaving Vicky Point 9am for a day on the water due for return home at around 5pm depending on weather and shit like that. Hopefully i can give the new reel a bit of punishment.
I'd be keen for a shark or two to scare a mate who hasn't been fishing since he was knee high to a grasshopper.
-
Re: Peel - Saturday 5th
not a good place in the SE wind
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yeah that is a bit of a concern of mine actually.... forcasts are for up round 20/25 knot isn't it?
-
I came back from Peel in close to 30 knot winds once, slow trip.
When it over about 15 knots I start looking at Jumpin Pin, Bribie passage , or maybe Pine river.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Just check BOM and they reckon 2m swell... thats half the bloody length of my boat. Bullshit i'm goin out there in that shit. I don't like the idea of surfing a tinny. Looks like i might have to give the pine river a go for the first time.
-
I have never done that well in the Pine, some do.
Ever tried up around Donnybrook in the Bribie passage?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Nup... i tend to stick to south... might give it a shot.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
What a SHIT day out there.... total bloody waste of time. I'd have been better fixing those gates round home i've been putting off.
Got out there at 10:30 and it was windy but not too bad, headed out to Whalleys Guter where the current was so bloody strong it ripped the anchor clean out and sent us into the bloody sand, walked it back out and headed to Kallinga banks... got jack f**k all out there after making a rats nest of the line on my new reel. Headed over to the sand bank in the middle to set a pot then went round the other side. Sat there for 4 hours with only 1 bloody bream that went 28cm.
Got the shits and headed back about 3:30pm... we got bloody soaked to the bone and windblown to buggery.
-
-
Have only been out to Peel once. Was not that windy and rough but still hard work getting back. Maybe the waves are shorter? Happier to head out to Mud in worse conditions.
I am also thinking of having a run in the Pine tomorrow if I don't get out into the bay. But what makes Pine fishing easy for me is that I have absolutely no prior expectation of catching anything edible. (no Kev, I don't include Catfish as edible)
What I don't get about the Pine is that I can go there and cast net prawns and Herring, bit not catch anything apart from lousy catties. With the amount of bait fish, you would expect more predators but they don't seem to be there.
Actually only ever got one legal flattie there about half way between Shelly beach and the bridge. A friend of mine said I should have let it go because it was probably the only one there in the river.
Have a good weekend wherever you end up.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yeah i thought about that but i really don't feel like chasing cat food (no offence Kev) up and down the pine river.
The options of throwing plastics around the brisbane river, bribie, and the pin were all put to my deckies... i think it was decided pretty quickly that we'd abandon the Peel idea and head to the pin (probably like every man and his dog). So we'll head down there with a couple of brown waters and an esky full of fresh bait and see what we can nab. I realise its a complete waste of time but i'm taking the crab pots down... if nothing else but as an excuse to use all the fish frames in the freezer.
I'll report back tomorrow night with photo's of anything decent.
-
Days like that TopEnder make a decent days fishing all that much better. Sometimes i think, if i dont loose anything, nothing breaks and the weather gods are kind to me, catching fish is a bonus
Better luck next time mate, i am sure we've all had shockers like that.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yeah it was made a little better when we got that good bream but then it was pretty crappy out there. Made better by coming home and hosing the thing down with a rum and coke can in the hand. Ah well...
Hopefully i can keep my license under the appeal and can head out next weekend for the long weekend. Might camp out at the pin,
-
hmmm logan river for jew, sound like a good option
wonder if the brissie still produces like it once did ?
-
Ausfish New Member
welll boys if the weekend is shit i bet youll find nugget fishing his second home the logan river and i bet he gets that jew that may bring him in a prize if the boys cant get outside thats if you are fishing the redland bay comp