-
Ausfish Gold Member
Wide Currimundi saturday 26/2
Weather permitting, leave from Caloundra at 4.30am, quick run out hopefully, anchor, berley, XOS spots, reefies, home by lunch, bring it on
-
Re: Wide Currimundi saturday 26/2
Sharkbait, are you a local to Caloundra? When I think of Caloundra bar I think of a dangerous bar and needing heaps of local knowledge and daylight to cross it.
Otherwise, it would be a great place to head off from and need very little fuel to get to spot x.
Hope you have a great day. I have to do a system upgrade on Saturday, and unfortunately it appears that Saturday may be the last of the great weather.
-
kris- little bit of swell at the moment up here... might be worth looking at launching at m'ba, still only a 5 or so NM run. easy done.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Gday Cheech, not a local no. You're right, caloundra can be a bad bar, like any bar. My mate came unstuck there (albeit on a jetski) last year and almost lost the ski completely. Had to be towed in by the coastguard after sinking it. No comment on the conditions he was out in because I wasn't there, and I don't go wavejumping!
However, on a run in tide with swell under a metre, it can also be a very simple bar to cross, with the usual cautions. It also helps when there is a decent depth of channel (10 - 13ft near the top of the tide 2 weeks ago).
I certainly wouldn't be crossing it in the dark, right on dawn there is enough light, 4.30 gives enough time to launch and throw the cast net for a few livies.
All that said, I can and have bailed out of a bar crossing when conditions aren't suitable (South passage).
Jeffo, thanks for the heads up, I will have a think about it. "Wide Currimundi" might not be the best description, where I'm going is 22km from Mooloolaba or 14km from Caloundra. I'll check up with you tonight, if there is still a wave on, I might go for a surf instead!
Kris.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Kris
What size boat do you go in for the 22klm run.
Michael
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Michael, thats the point - I don't do the 22km run, I wait for days when I can do the 14!! Sometimes you don't even have to go that far, if there is birds and bait at the 5 mile i will generally start there.
I have left from Mooloolaba many times but generally stay closer in, murphies or close curri, which is usually like a carpark and not that productive in daylight hours anyway (for me).
I've done the 22km as a guest on Lucky Phill's big rig, rebait, no worries! But mine is a 4.2m / 40hp seajay open tinny. 22km is stretching the friendshiip a bit, especially for the decky up front!
Don't think you would have any problems in your rig, should give it a shot if you haven't already
Kris.
-
22km in your boat is fine kris did caloundra 12 mile a few times in the old dory. reports of BIG fin just east of murphies yesterday.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Fair enuff Jeffo...are you fishing?
I have a feeling that the swell is dropping at the moment...should only be half a meter on the bar by the morning...but we'll see. And yes the 12 mile is the destination although its got me stuffed why they call it that, I don't work in miles but it ain't that far surely.
I would love a big fin but i think the boat traffic round Murphies tommorrow is going to be a problem!
Did you end up selling the dory?
-
havent had the dory for about 6 months. i will be fishing tomorrow. we havent decided whether to fish light tackle for little blacks and sails or go wide off the shelf for Mr blue.
1nm=1850meters
good luck tomorrow, this NE'er this arvo has knocked that swell on the head, you should be right. finding a spotty shouldnt be to hard out there.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Cheers mate, that's what i was hoping to hear. Good luck yourself.
-
Kris,
Sorry, I did not mean to come across as Mr negative. Was more curious than anything.
Sounds fantastic weather for a trip out. Hope you do well.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
No worries Cheech Should have given it a miss this morning, pretty sloppy conditions and a bit more swell than expected. Always next weekend though!
Kris.