Hervey Bay - Christmas Break

Thread: Hervey Bay - Christmas Break

Hervey Bay - Christmas Break

Hey guys,
    Due to a family tragedy, I will be in Hervey Bay for a few days over Christmas.
    So if you see a white Quintrex 4.55 Escape towed by a white GU Patrol with a big green triangle on the door, say g'day.
    Murphy is really doing his job the Christmas, so I have a engine problem to sort out, but I'm hoping to take the boat.
    Got my kids for the first time for Christmas in five years, so I'd love to pick the brains of some locals on some good spots to take them for a fish and maybe drag them around on a tube.

Hope you all have a happy and safe chrissy

Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Re: Hervey Bay - Christmas Break

I should be up there by the 8th jan Scalem maybe we can meet up for a fish i have fished there a few times.

azzman

Hi Azzman,

Do you have your own boat and how well do you know the waterways there? I have a few GPS marks, and was thinking I need to purchase a better map of the area so I can get a clear picture of distances. My 65ltrs of fuel safely gets me 30 mins travel to a spot each way, with plenty in reserve for moving around in between arriving and the trip home. The artificial reefs around woody island looks like the place I want to try, but I don't know how far from Urangan ramp in travel time. Tell me what you think? I 'd love to follow another boat out there because I will have my wife and two daughters with me. Always feel more confident buddying up with another boat.

Thanks!

Don't have a boat i fish off the peir or around the harbour. My dad has gone out in his boat from up there a few times to the reef that is around woody and he has heaps of luck from bream to tuna it takes him about 20/30 mins to get there and it only takes 25lts there and back that is with a 90hp Chryslar so you should have no problem. Mybe we can meet up and go out for a bash together if you get the time. If you want live bait the pier is the go heaps there.
    good luck and merry xmas.

azzman

Have a look at [ftp]http://www.fishntales.com/index.htm[/ftp] you should find heaps of info.

James

Thanks for the replies guys.
    Unfortunately I couldn't take the boat.
    Still got some engine problems
    Had a bit of a fish off Urangan jetty with no luck.
    Couldn't get over the amount of bait there! [smiley=shocked.gif]
    Anyway, back in Gladstone now, but I'll probably be back down there in a few weeks, so I might see you all around.
    Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Gidday Owen,

Not sure what days you are talking about, but I will be there on the 8th Jan for a week. I am New to the area too, but I might keep an eye out if you are still around.