Rockhampton and Cap Coast Ausfishers! - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Rockhampton and Cap Coast Ausfishers!

Re: Rockhampton and Cap Coast Ausfishers!

Come on Dave, you got this ball rolling, hows about some ideas and times etc

Yeah, come on Dave, I'm hanging out to wet a line in saltwater.

"This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

I am looking at moon phases/tides etc to give us all the best possible shot on a weekend. The weather also is some concern in the near short term.
    I had in mind probably in about 3 weeks time a Saturday mid morning bar-be-que somewhere on the Yeppon coast followed by the rest of the day on the water, either around the close islands eg: Ironpot etc or further afield, depending on your craft of course. Then perhaps a countery and a few beers/rumbo's at the Strand Hotel. Sunday morning could see more of the same but some will probably have to head home.
    I think the coast would be more productive than the Fitzroy and provides greater options. The landbased could fish anywhere around Rosslyn Bay Marina or off the rocks on the Eastern side. If the weather is respectable, even small boats like my 4.4 Jabiru can easily and safely head to Nth or Great Keppel Island.

How does that sound??? Any thoughts on this at all???

Cheers to you all

DNO40

Dave,

Sounds good to me. I am fairly well booked up in Mar with the 10th, 11th, 17th. and 18th booked, and easter is out as is for many others.

Throw some dates around and we'll negotiate as required with HQ Home and others as need be.

The weather in the short term is not conducive to a coastal fish from Yeppoon.

Keep the thoughts coming guys as these things are always easier to organise if everybody is straight up and has thier say.

Soon.

DNO

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

I have a couple of suggestions for your due consideration me hearties!

The weekend of Saturday 1st April holds good tides, and hopefully may suit everyone. Although the moon position is not the best, beggars can't be choosers. It would seem that the weather is not going to lend itself to any form of reliability for the next month or so and therefore I have taken this into account and bypassed the Yeppoon idea and come up with the following suggestions.

Suggestion 1.:
    Meet at Gladstone Marina bar-be-que area, Saturday 1st April, at 0730hrs for breaky (which Sue and I will put on) and meetings and greetings. Then engines fired and fishing. There are many options here which would be up to individual choices. There is the Marina, Calliope River, The Narrows, the Harbour or whatever takes your fancy.

Meet back at main boat ramp at 1500hrs for comparisons and weigh in. Each boat throws in $10.00 (only if you want to) and biggest fish takes all. Biggest meaning heaviest.

1630hrs drinks in the main bar at Phil Daly's Queens Hotel.

1830hrs dinner at the Gladstone Sailing Club - on the verandah.

People requiring a place to shower and change may be able to do so at my parents home or I'm sure we can arrange something!

Pros: Plenty of options for fishing, crabbing.
    Cons: Maybe too expensive for some. Not conducive to socialising with the group exclusively.

Suggestion 2.:

Saturday 1st April shows tides which really lend themselves to wandering down Wild Cattle Creek on route to Hummock Hill Island. High water is 3.72m @ 11.06hrs. Low water is .76m @ 0503hrs. We could meet at the ramp (details of which ramp and how to access will be shown if this suggestion is selected by the majority) at say......0830hrs and toddle off to Hummock Hill, throw a fly up and some overnight accommodation, and kick back until mid morning Sunday. The tides would allow us all an easy exit Sunday morn.

Pros: Socialising with the group exclusively. Cheap -(it is free to camp on the island). A beautiful place in paradise. Heaps of fun with a sleepover!

Cons: If windy, crossing Colleseum Inlet could be hairy.

It's your call! What do you all think??

Suggestion 1 for me

But the 1st of April is the local dance festival so the date is no good.

Harry

I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning

DNO40

Options Options Options, G'Day Dave and Sue,

Option two is obviously more me, no fancy crap and close to home crunch to boot.

Option one is also OK for me, close to home and involves alcohol.

Option three would also suit...........what no option three yet !

If people wish to take up option 2, secure car parking will be available, shower facilities if required and post trip drinks at DNO's.

Suggest you start a matrix listing all the options and mark the choices by the people.

DNO

Option Three: overnight up at Station Point (top end of curtis island).. A bit of a drive to get there from both directions but a great spot mid way from Rocky and Gladstone... Free to camp, plenty of fishing, heaps of drinkin'..

other than that, option's one or two sound good

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

I don't know much about Station Pt Storky but it sounds good. Have you got any more details? Where do we launch from? Camping conditions? Is there some sort of beach where we can moor? Etc etc?

Thanks mate. Very interested!

Option 2 sounds ok after a chat with dave the other night.

Option 3 also sounds quite good, would need to know water depth etc as the Seafarer needs a bit more water than the polycraft did ??

DNO40

Dave,

As far as I recall, station point is fairly open to the weather and would be hairy in a smaller boat (like ours). I may be wrong though, we'll wait and see what Stork71 comes back with.

Had a look at the area in Noel Patricks Curtis Coast, and it is open. For those that have the Curtis Coast - Section D = D8 page 127.

For those that don't, I will scan and post shortly.

DNO

DNO40

Station point

Done!! See you there