Thread: Hastings Point

Hastings Point

Heading down to Hastings Point in a couple of weeks for a few days to see what the fishings like down there , can anyone give us a few tips on a few shore based spots

Re: Hastings Point

seeing that may or not be my spot x ..... stay away [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] just joking m8. I would recomend you go down in the day light and check out a few spots as all the water there is very fishable. If you bait fish, fish very light as lots of reef
    Aussiefool
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

check ou these photos all at Hastings
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...7843;start=all

If when you get there and you see a light blue ea falcon parked there that will be me so look me up and I'll sort you out with the good oil, just you have to be early as I get there about 4 am each morning

beautiful spot down there, as you have probably gathered you can get some good fish off the rocks at hastings, but if you are after bread and butter species like whiting, bream and flathead try around the bridge near the mouth of the creek. Last time i was down that way i pulled a few decent flathead from around the bridge using prawnstars just on dusk. Also there was a deeper hole on the eastern side of the bridge which i pulled heaps of bream from on worm baits. Need to fish really light though and i found the run out tide best.
    Good luck

hi there, i have lived around these parts for all my life, and my family has had a house in hasto's for years, yes there is top fishing to be had in this area but you do have to fish light and get in early there is a vast array of species to be had from the rocks with many different spots available to fish, the area isnt only limited to the rocks with some top beach action to be had also, i must say though that the creek is somewhat f***ed compared to what it was thanks to a number of factors which i wont get into.

Anyway enjoy but DONT destroy

boodo

Quote Originally Posted by aussiefool
    seeing that may or not be my spot x ..... stay away [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] ;Andrew
    very sensitive there andrew,,, the poor guy is just after a bit of help mate,,,

your welcome to come and share my secret spot anytime buddy,, dont get offended by andrews reply,, he gets that way sometimes when his not running around chasing fish with a gaff,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

dave
    i used to live at cabba (cabarita beach) and fish the area from tweed nth wall to iluka.
    Hastings Point is a top place to catch some jewfish (schoolies) at this time of year and so is a place nth of the creek called maggies hole.
    With the right beach formations fishing in this area can be hot!!!
    beachworms was my best bait by far.
    hope this helps

Thanks very much for all the info , aussie I will be on the lookout for the car , be down there on the 25 th, once again thanks very much all

i think aussie fool may have got his info off a friend of mine that knows this area quite well and he was kind enough to provide the aus with some info that he has been using , the area is sensitive it may help to keep the techniques a little hush hush and the posting of location photos is just making it too easy

fishingnottake

mate, he's fished there as long as i've known him, the rocks are hardly an exclusive location, it's packed every weekend, 99% of the fish there are caught on technique the whole you can lead a fish to water thing. and i know aussiefool releases a hell of a lot more than he keeps, this site is meant to be a community where we share information etc, and it;s not like he's taking guided tours there. <edited so mod 5 doesn;t molest me>

point taken i agree its a community, but its true that aus was provided with certain tips which he has had a great sucess rate with i am not condeming this good for him he is obviously a good angler but the photo locations are not just of the headland but specific locations where certain fish are there consistantly especially with the technique shown is making too easy especially when someone was kind enough to show the aus these tips onsite at the location one morning, i agree this alone wont catch you fish, and i am all for giving info and sharing knowledge, but i did witness the destruction of the area on easter sunday when there were 18 fish left to die around these locations species included bream, jew and trevally they were left for no reason amidst broken beer bottles and rubbish i am not in any shape or form blaming aus or for that matter anyone who wants to fish the area and look after it but there are people who do rape areas with no thought for the future, i am sure though no aus fish members would be in this categorie.

Any how didnt mean to cause a stir or point the finger, i guess still pissed off about the destruction on easter sunday and the changes of a zone that has been fished by my family for the past 80yrs or so.

Quote from Boodo:

i think aussie fool may have got his info off a friend of mine that knows this area quite well and he was kind enough to provide the aus with some info that he has been using , the area is sensitive it may help to keep the techniques a little hush hush and the posting of location photos is just making it too easy

Quote from Boodo

point taken i agree its a community, but its true that aus was provided with certain tips which he has had a great sucess rate with i am not condeming this good for him he is obviously a good angler but the photo locations are not just of the headland but specific locations where certain fish are there consistantly especially with the technique shown is making too easy especially when someone was kind enough to show the aus these tips onsite at the location one morning, i agree this alone wont catch you fish, and i am all for giving info and sharing knowledge, but i did witness the destruction of the area on easter sunday when there were 18 fish left to die around these locations species included bream, jew and trevally they were left for no reason amidst broken beer bottles and rubbish i am not in any shape or form blaming aus or for that matter anyone who wants to fish the area and look after it but there are people who do rape areas with no thought for the future, i am sure though no aus fish members would be in this categorie.

Any how didnt mean to cause a stir or point the finger, i guess still pissed off about the destruction on easter sunday and the changes of a zone that has been fished by my family for the past 80yrs or so.
    end Quote

Mate I have fished down at hastings point just about everyday for the last 2 1/2 years now and in all that time there has only been one bloke who has given me any advice, and that bloke lives in Murwillumbar. I always give anyone advice who asks for a bit of information. Now that the Tailor are starting to show up I split my time between the beach and Hastings. So if you are in the area and would like to talk to me about fishing in a frendly manner pop over and introduce your self, heck you may even know me already
    your friend in fishing Aussiefool

no worries aus, the bloke who gave the info is the fella i am talking about, any how i hope to see you and have chat one day around the traps hope the waters treat you well.

boodo