Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Townsville - Sat 20th Anyone??

Re: Townsville - Sat 20th Anyone??

Latest chart for this coming Saturday -

looking good! not much run though

Yeah, the run could be a bit better. but i'm heading out no matter what. It would have to be 5kn Variables looking at the chart for saturday. Anyone keen for a fish tomorrow night/friday morning? heading out about 3ish tomorrow. back after lunch on friday. takers?

Lets hope your prediction of 5kn is the right one Shanoss, would take you up on your offer tomorrow but gotta work.
    Looks like my deckie has pulled the pin on me for saturday so might be looking for someone aswell.
    How many blokes do you usually go out with? If I can't find anyone It will be just my 14 year old and me. Makes for an expensive trip for just the two of us but like yourself, gonna go no matter what

Leezor, Quite often end up going by myself. I work out of town and days off often fall during the week. If i go with a mate i generally just take one. i like to have a bit of space to fish. Will be taking the wife on Saturday. What motor do you have on your rig? I put a 200hp Suzuki on mine at Christmas so the trips are not so expensive anymore. What time are you thinking of heading out Saturday? would have to be early if you want to get a park at the ramp.

You don't want to know what I would do for a new Suzi
    Will have to make do with the Stinky 200hp Yammie for the time being, was thinking around 3am, hopefully will beat the mad rush.
    Depending on the weather might stay the night.

What sort of economy are you getting from your Suzi?
    I am getting around the 30lt ph at around 50km/ph

I cant give you any figures because i cant be arsed working them out. But my old 200hp merc was using about 250litres a trip and the suzuki uses about 130. So have amost halved my consumption. I've been trying to drive it about 4200rpm, but when its flat, i find myself pushing the throttle all the way forward. I reckon if i drove it at a more sensible pace i could do better than halve the fuel usage.

How did you go with the bimini covers you were looking at? my boat has a hard top that i want to get rid of. the thing is too low and i cant stand straight under it. Plus i cant fit the boat under the garage.

My tank only holds 170lt so I gotta carry spare fuel in Jerry Cans.

No luck with the Bimini, am looking at buying a TIG and doing it myself.
    Will let you know if I get one and maybe you can do yours with it aswell.

Might try and get Friday off work and stay out on Friday night, will know definately tomorrow arvo.

Whats a TIG? lol. Thats about my experience with welding. Have you tried Beehive? a mate told me they were'nt too bad with pricing and do a good job.
    Cant tell from the photo, but is that a marquee on the back of your boat?

It's a canopy with clears.

Crikey! why onm earth do you want to change that?? its about perfect!

Lee, nice rig. Won't be able to miss you on the water, kendall

Need more rod storage space, or maybe I should just sell some of my rods...

I was wondering about rod storage as well when i get the new cover. But i figured i would get some sort of rocket launcher that is removable so i can get the thing under my carport. wonder if your " soon to be old canopy" would fit my boat? colours would'nt match, but the old girl aint real pretty to start with. \
    How does that boat of yours ride leezor? looks pretty sharp.

Ride is good, comparable to a Haines 600R I used to have. This has more usable space inside than the Haines.
    The SF20's have a pretty good reputation as an offshore fishing rig, I shopped around for a while looking for this exact model.
    Am really happy with it so far, it used to belong to another Ausfish member, Boatboy50.