Tuesday 21/11 back of Moreton

Thread: Tuesday 21/11 back of Moreton

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Tuesday 21/11 back of Moreton

G'Day all,

Heading out to Deep Tempest about 4.30am Tuesday morning from Scarborough with a group of guys from work. I am hoping it doesn't cut up rough as a couple of them are prone to getting crook.

Never been out to Tempest before, anything to be aware of?

I have a stack of GPS points from a variety of books and sites but they cover an area that is kilometers wide, is it a large reef that you drift around or are you better to sound around and then drop the pick?

Any help appreciated.

- Darren

Re: Tuesday 21/11 back of Moreton

Hey Darren, I haven't fished tempest for quite some time. Yes, there is current out there, but through my experience, I have always drifted. I use the parachute as best I can to hold my over position.

Tempest is deep compared to Sunny Coast and 1770 etc. snappa, ( Peter ), kittykat ( Wayne ) may be of some help here as the PBA boys fish that area a lot.

Good luck with the weather etc.

Darren,

We are trying to decide on whether we head to Shallow Tempest, Hutchies or up to Caloundra.

Will be leaving Bribie on Tuesday afternoon and overnighting.

We monitor channel 72 on 27Mhz "Misty Jo"

Rich.

Thanks guys for the input,

A couple of the guys have 5pm appointments so we may be back in by the time you get out Rich, will leave the 27meg on channel 72 in case you give a call and we are in range.

Boat name and call sign is "Bad Eye" and will also be on VHF 21 (unless it is full of useless chatter).

Am I right in assuming that it is a very large reef, or are they likely to be shitty GPS marks that I have got?

Some of the marks I have for Deep Tempest are kilometers apart.

- Darren

Darren, haven't been there myself yet. Was supposed to go before Easter with some mates, they got up there early and met the boats catch limit in about 24hrs. I was going over to meet them on Moreton the next day so never went.

They drifted because of the depth. Got school jew, pearlies, snapper, cobia. You might be lucky and get sampsons as I saw lots of carcasses on the beach when I went to Moreton with the family (no boat just 4x4).

Good luck, hope to see some photos.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

darren
    we hope to be out there just after daybreak
    it is a big area bit hard to fish in a current so drift with a shute
    be on 21vhf

pete

Prolly see you out there Pete.

We will be the boat with a couple of heads over the side, just up from the berley trail

We may not get to DT until a little later in the morning, we will most likely pull up at Hutchies for a look and then again at a wreck further around the corner before moving out to DT around 9-10am.

- Darren

Doesn't it sh$t ya when you can't sleep the night before you go out.

Alarm set for 2.30am and here I am wide awake at 11.30pm.

BUGGER.

- Darren

reel_scream

Darren,

I'd rather be awake knowing i'm about to go fishing , than being awake at work waiting to go see the next sick person >.

Yes DT is a large area. Worth sounding around till you are happy with a mark of fish.

Hope you all have a great trip.

Cheers scott