PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Tassie Bluefin - Page 16
gday mick...mate i keep on forgeting that that is a big place you live in over there...mate as you know you can drive all most to any end of tassie in about 3-4 hours...mate i dont think i would like to live over there as i think the driving distances would make me go nuts cause im one of those people mate that always wants to know whats around the corner if you know what i mean...any way mate iv'e been a bit quiet on the net lately...i have been burning the candle at both ends a bit lately because of work...... mate i remember now about the trip you are going on the weekend is the one were you might get to take the boat offshore a bit....mate we have a bit of n-east...to... s-east wind forcast for sat at this stage down here so that might cause a re think of our plans...but mate i will be keeping my fingers crossed that your trip is a smooth one....mate you should get that mail tommorow so you will have something to read for a little while when you get time....mate im starting to get itchy feet cause its only 4 weeks to the start of the cray season...we will be down at taroona on opening morning mate and hope fully we will be home by lunch time with our bag limit if last season is any thing to go by.....well mate gotta go now so i will hopefully check you out tommorow night if ya about.........brian
Sorry i havent been able to reply the last couple of days mate butthe computer is giving me hell mate....
Anyway i hope you get out over the weekend chasing your stripies mate....
Mate i dont wanna know about crayfish mate just talking about it makes my mouth water lmao...Seriously mate i hope ya get a few good size crays mate in the upcoming season
Mate Things are looking promising for local fishing in the next few weeks i have had some great reports come in from the tapley shoals mate which is at edithberg on the york penisula, that there has been a good steady supply of 25 pound Snapper heading toward my local fishing area.....
The bloke i was talking to about this is fairly reliable but he had to head back in due to weather and he got sick of a small white trying to steal snapper that he caught....
anyway brian i prolly wont be online now till monday even tuesday morning as i will be away for the long weekend we have here in S.A as i will be over at port hughs chasing me a knuckle mate and hopefully taking out the comp i am in mate.....I am taking a camera with me so hopefully i will have some good shots of some good snapper mate......But at this stage the weather is looking to good here in South Oz but its spose to fine up and hopefully tommorow will be good fine day
anyway mate i will catch up with ya when i get back from pt hughes...
Anyway good luck for the weekend brian and hope the fishing gods are with ya
Mate i bet ya finding it hard to adjust to daylight saving mate...I think its great that we have daylight savings as it means more fishing time mate but S.A doesnt get it for another 2-3 weeks yet....
Anyway how was your weekend mate i hope ya got few mate but i heard she was blowing down in Tassie.....
I only manged to get out 1 day mate Which was on Saturday as the wind picked up on sunday and today so only got the one day in but i managed to catch a couple of decent snapper no big knuckles amongst them my biggest snapper i got on saturday was around 9 pound mate which was on a pilchard mate....and my 6 pounder i got on tommy ruff mate.....The 9 pounder i cuaght duringdaylight and the 6 pounder was caught throu the night....
I actually caught the 9 pounder at the steamers which is situated 30 klm offshore from port hughes... and the 6 pounder i got was from the "middle bank" which is situated about 10k offshore from walleroo mate....
I also got a pick of the 9 pounder mate which was the only fish that i took a pic of mate as during the night session i didnt actually take the camera with me....so as soon as i get the pics developed mate i will get a pic emailed to ya mate...
I also got a bait slammed on the way down which was a big huge hit mate and which i reckon would have been a good decent knuckle mate but i will never know mate as i ost the fish before i even realised.
Also mate i recieved the information on friday which i havent had much chance of reading yet so thanks mate i really appreciate it.....
Anyway mate i better go as i am hel tired mate as the drive back to day was a bit of prick mate as i got cuaght in a 10 km traffic jam mate on a highway....mate count yaself lucky mate that tassie only gets a 500 metre traffic jamat best lmao......but anyway mate as i said i better go and hit the sack so i will catch up with ya soon mate....
Mate i bet ya finding it hard to adjust to daylight saving mate...I think its great that we have daylight savings as it means more fishing time mate but S.A doesnt get it for another 2-3 weeks yet....
Anyway how was your weekend mate i hope ya got few mate but i heard she was blowing down in Tassie.....
I only manged to get out 1 day mate Which was on Saturday as the wind picked up on sunday and today so only got the one day in but i managed to catch a couple of decent snapper no big knuckles amongst them my biggest snapper i got on saturday was around 9 pound mate which was on a pilchard mate....and my 6 pounder i got on tommy ruff mate.....The 9 pounder i cuaght duringdaylight and the 6 pounder was caught throu the night....
I actually caught the 9 pounder at the steamers which is situated 30 klm offshore from port hughes... and the 6 pounder i got was from the "middle bank" which is situated about 10k offshore from walleroo mate....
I also got a pick of the 9 pounder mate which was the only fish that i took a pic of mate as during the night session i didnt actually take the camera with me....so as soon as i get the pics developed mate i will get a pic emailed to ya mate...
I also got a bait slammed on the way down which was a big huge hit mate and which i reckon would have been a good decent knuckle mate but i will never know mate as i ost the fish before i even realised.
Also mate i recieved the information on friday which i havent had much chance of reading yet so thanks mate i really appreciate it.....
Anyway mate i better go as i am hel tired mate as the drive back to day was a bit of prick mate as i got cuaght in a 10 km traffic jam mate on a highway....mate count yaself lucky mate that tassie only gets a 500 metre traffic jamat best lmao......but anyway mate as i said i better go and hit the sack so i will catch up with ya soon mate....
havent posted for a while but now the news
brain
the rumor mill at a club meeting tonight was that the first snapper at the petrels was caught today, led to believe it was about 15kgs. i will see if i can find more details
Mate have you been out there trying for them mate...15kg mate thats pretty good fish mate that would be close to a 30 pound fish...
Mate at the moment here in South oz down at edithberg they are getting snapper that are around the 20-30pound mark quite regluar of late...
Mate another trick i have recently learnt is get there well before the high tide changes mate this can be a crucial time for some big nobbies to show up....
Last weekend i reckon i lost a good fish as my bait was on the way to the bottom which i was fishing around 10 metres of water....and mind you i was 30k out to sea but thats the gulf for ya.....
anyway good to hear ya reports blaze....Also have you heard anything about estuary perch from the arthurs river of late
Hi mick
the snapper caught on thursday were 15kg and 10kg, but appently somebody else got 6 the day before but not as big. I am going to try in the mouth of the river in the morning high tide 6am leaving at three am, 5 minute run to the spot i think they are and i am hoping every body else is runnung over the top on the way to the petrels, about 40min run. I would have thought 2 hours before and 2 hours after low tide would have been better mick than the high tide (less water) just a thought. a group of 6 hardcore anglers come over from vic recently just to fish the arther river for estuary perch, they fished hard for a week with little results, but they are all coming back later as they think they were to early. I will see if i can get a proper report for you mick.
Hi brain
gday mick and blaze.....im finally back on line at long last...mick i wrote ya a short note the other day to let ya know why i havent been around but you prolly wont get it till monday...but anyway it turned out that there was nothing wrong with the computer after 3 days at the repairers it turned out to be the bloody phone line cord....anyway sounds like you had a good time with the snapper mick 9 pound mate is a good fish in any case...daniel and me went to cremorne last satarday and didnt go to well the flatties werent bitting at all...we mannaged a few salmon spinning in the canal and had a bit of fun with them on some real light rods....mick i was just thinking about that fish that you missed do you think that it was a snapper or might it have been a big king fish i suppose you will never know..anyway mate its things like that that keep us going back for more aye...mate i wont be doing any fishing this weekend but you can be sure that i will be going next week...mate i also put my phone number on that note i sent ya the other day in case you ever want to ring cause i suppose when you come over either for the tuna season or for holiday like you mentioned it will be a lot easyier to organise a trip on the phone...any way mate i hope everything is well for you over there and hope to talk to you soon mate.......brian
blaze sounds like things are hotting up up there mate i will soon have to start and get a plan to get up and hopefully catch up with you...hope you caught some on the weekend mate...good to hear from you mate and thanks for the report....hope to talk again soon mate....brian
Mate i was wondering why ya havent been replying mate..i was actually anticapating of good catches of fish mate...
Anyway mate going back to my trip last weekend when i got that 9 pounder mate mind you that 9 pounder is still only a rugger mate.....anyway i dont think it was a kingy mate as the bite gave a tell tale sign of being a snapper but i still aint sure mate and i will never know mate...
anyway mate cremorne chasing flatties well you should have picked up a nice feed from there mate i had always picked up a good feed from cremorne.....Anyway at least ya had some fun on the salmon trout mate......
well i never got out this weekend either mate i spent most of today getttig my brakes done on my car and yesterday getting the boat trailer brakes done as well so i couldnt afford to put the boat in the drink but i had plans to go tommorow(being sunday)but the wether has come in bad once again so ends in a fishless trip once again.....
anyway mate i have read all the info ya sent me mate and just about read it again as i like to read them a few times as there is always useful little tips to use....
anyway mate i better go and get some bueaty sleep so i will catch up with ya later mate
Gday Blaze
Mate really different areas different feeding patterns really mate its just a matter of finding the right time that the fish are on... i have just found that a couple of hours before the turn of high tide to be the better as it brings most fish in to feed of the reefs....but i would say fishing the low tide would also be a prime time for around ledges or drop offs mate as alot of bait fish will be trying to find deeper water so this would be a good choice for the drop offs mate....
headed out at 3 am, fairly choppy in the little 4.1, had trouble holding anchor where i wanted, northeast wind about 20 to 30 and increasing, decided when daylight arrived we would relocate. then the shi.... happened. started the old evy and warming it up while pulling the pick and it died in the ars.. , no spark. I then through the johno on to head homeand that would'nt bloody run either( just back from dealer, serviced and checked and i think it has a fuel prob, not bad fuel either, fur will fly on monday) so got draged home by a club member heading to the petrels. the long and short of the trip is that at one point i had the drag right off and went to check and had nearly been spooled (gummy i reckon) and at this point i think bloody expensive.
gday mick...things were a bit rough over here in tas today rain rain and more rain so i am glad i didnt have any thing planned...mate i stayed home today and watched the great race and what a great race it was if you are a holden fan like myself....anyway mate getting back to fishing the report in the paper today sounds promising for next weekend with reports of trumpeter to 10 kg and the usuall perch and some arrow squid as an added bonus down at the peninsula...mate i was interested in the question that you had to blaze about estuary perch mate is this some new speices that i havent heard of before or are they known by another name ??? anyway mate better go for now talk to ya soon mate........brian
gday blaze.....mate not the sort of trip that any one would like to have for sure.....mate it sounds a bit stange that both motors let you down...mate over the years i have had my fair share of trouble with motors and one thing that i have learnt is that motors that are normally reliable and break down for no reason..is that 98 percent of the time it is always fuel related..1 percent of the time it is spark...and the other 1 percent of the time it was something i did wrong....mate just a thought did you check that the fuel bulb was firm to squeeze as i got caught with that one a few years ago and had to keep primeing one particular motor all the way back to shore...anyway mate it could be something that you find hopefully wont be too costly...better go for now mate work tommorow @##*! and didnt wet a line all weekend i am going to be a crabby boy at work this week...cheers mate....brian
Mate i think the weather stinks mate i may have to try getting out midweek if i can mate as the wind here in South Australia is shocking mate...went for a drive to the the boat ramp and only surfer to be seen surfing into the ramp and the ramp is surrounded by a breakwall so i wouldnt have liked to try luaunching mate she was a shocker i actually should have taken the camera with me but as it was just went for a drive to the local ramp just to see what i was missing mate and dreaming of a 30 pound snapper mate...
Anyway mate Estury Perch was actually stumbled accross a few years vack in the arthur river prolly back in 1995 or near that year anyway....Fisheries was called in and they cuaght about a halfdozen or so and took them to therebreeding tanks down toroona mate...anyway i don't much about them in Tassie as you know they werent a common species caught in Tassie and as i have someone i know heading to tassie soon is wanting to try and catch a estuary perch......
Also i have to ask a favour would you be able to find out which lake(s) hold tiger trout as i am to believe there is a couple of lakes that have tiger trout in them.....you may have to ring inland fisheries up or even go and have a word withthe boys in at the fishing connection or where ever you get your tackle.....
Mate it wasnt a bad race really up there at bathurst i say well done to holden as i dont mind the holdens...
as there wasnt really much else on today....
Anyway mate i havent got much to report on tonight so i will catch ya later
Gday Rob
Mate sorry to hear ya had motor probs mate....nothing worse in getting out there and finding out ya motors wont work....
It was good that you had some guys out there from ya club to give ya hand mate or else ya may have drifted all the way over here to S.A mate where i would then have to teach ya snapper fishing mate...but i do hope ya get the motor all sorted out mate...
anyway its a pitty ya didnt pick up a few fish mate for that trouble....
gday mick...mate i know what you mean about the weather mate it is driving me nuts as well...hopefully mate things will settle down here in tas as soon as we get show day out of the way cause as you know mate it always happens down here every year about this time...anyway mate i am still abit stumped about these perch you mentioned are they comon in mainland waters mate as i cant seem to find anything in any of my books about them ???...mate as far as the tiger trout go i have seen them at the salmon ponds and i was under the impession that they havent yet released them into any lakes as yet..but i may well be wrong mate as i have been a bit out of touch with the trout scene the last couple of years..i will ask daniel mate as he is still up to date on the trout fishing and if he doesent know mate he will find out for me and i will get back to you asap....well mate that it for me tonight looking forward to seeing that photo of your snapper mate when you get the film developed...i will also have to finish that film of mine mate so as i can post a few also....cheers mate..........brian
Hi Brian and mick Jaybee etc
outboard mechanic forgiven on the small motor seems the fuel pump diaphram may have streched after sitting dry for so long. the 70 evi done the black box, took 30 sec with a multi meter to test, new one $290 fitted tommow, over night from melbourne. so the guys at burnie marine are quick to get ya back on the water.so i have a bit of time off work at the moment so thursday i will give it another shot for the old snapper
cheers blaze
ps brian i will see if the boys scored over the weekend, i was a bit pi...., they seem to be hotting up a bit, i would love to find them in the river as its not far away, 5 min, i think every body goes over ther top of them
any
Gday Brian Just got back from the pub mate so forgive me if my post sounds out of wack mate....
Anyway mate estery perch i think they are called a few things mate... if my memeory serves me right an estuary perch could be a callop or yellowbelly i think... i may have to do a bit more research into the the estuary perch mate...
Mate tiger trout i also thought that the the inland fisheries havent released them into any lakes or rivers yet... just someone mentioned to me the other day that they are in 2 alpine lakes mate.....I just want some clarification as to wether they have been been placed into sme lakes....
anyway mate i reckon it will be awhile before i get those snapper pics done mate but then again next sunday i am targetting snapper so i may get a decent one this time......then i may take the camera as well just to waste some pics anyway..
Mate i better go as i have been on the drink with the murdoch clan mate and i feel like a i drank a liquer shop out mate or the cascade brewery out mate.....As mr murdoch wouldnt let me buy my own drinks he had to pay for them.....
anyway until next time mate
Gday Rob
Mate its good to hear that there was only minor probs with the boat mate.....The one thing i do mate when my boat doesnt go in the water for awhile id to run the moter every 2 weeks...Mind you it is costly here in South oz to do it as we have to pay for water..but i tow it down to the ramp most times and do it if i know i am not going to use the boat for awhile...
Anyway Rob mate i wish all the best for thursday or whenever it is your going out for snapper.....Mate i hope ya do pick up a good one....Just remember have a bait on the bottom and drop an unweighted bait down as well mate which i think the unweighted one will do better if the snapper are around as the nobbies mate hang around anywhere between bottom and midwater.....
anyway blaze i better go mate as i have had a few sherbets tonight so i will catch ya later mate