PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Tassie Bluefin - Page 11
gday blaze...thanks for the post mate i have been looking forward to hearing from you so i could find out whats going on up there....i have been reading the report every sunday in the paper and its much the same as you have said...mate there was a thing about a tagged white pointer on the net i was following a while ago..(neil the shark)i think its still there and its worth a look mate cause they tagged this shark i think in victoria somewhere and there is a map of where they tracked it by sattelite...it crossed bass straight and hung around the north and north east coast of tassie for a fair while..the c.s.i.r.o. said that they thought it followed the snapper over..so mate if you look up the c.s.i.r.o. web site mate it might give you an idea of where to look for snapper maybe... any way mate just a thought its well worth looking up anyway mate very interesting...anyway mate hope to talk to you again soon .....brian gday mick...mate it i blowing a bloody gale over here at the moment and there is not supossed to be any let up for a while.. hope it stops for the weekend mate i will be real savage if it dont cause we have arranged our trip to fortescue..... anyway mate i would love to come over there and fish with you,but i am not real finacial at the moment mate i have got to find about a billion dallars before the dive season starts..lincences,new wet suit out bourd service...not to mention the $ i have got to spend on reel services and tuna gear before the albacore and yellow fin turn up hopefully in january...mate i havent got around to ringing the pig yet mate but i have got all next week of work mate so i plan to get a lot of these little jobs done then....mate i wouldent be a bad idea if you emailed him as well mate and ask him any questions you may have,tell him in your email that i will be ringing him next week to talk to him about it.....mate i have been out in the shed tonight making sinkers for our trip satarday so i am abit behind tonight so i will have to go and get my act together...so talk to you again soon mate....brian
Mate i know what ya mean mate its been blowing pretty hard since sunday night here with a few heavy spits of water mate....i hope it dies down here by Thursday morn so i can get out fishing for these salmon.....
Mate Sinker making hmmmm me and a mate of mine are going to get into making our own sinkers as well as he can get the lead for nothing of a mate....
Mate Neil the shark i can remeber watching his travels across the net as well mate...Mate I have to say one thing when there is a possible white Pointer hanging around they are likely feeding on Snapper and i think Shark is the only predator to the snapper but dont quote me on that one...but generally when there is a white hanging around mate there should be a few snapper lurking....
Mate alot of the boats over here in South oz head back in specially when there is a possible white sighting as there is a particular white out in the spencer gulf that usually shows up every year and likes to chew up outboards mate.....pretty scarey when ya gotta get back into shore.....
Mate you will get over here one day mate i'll make sure of that mate... as you can come over here and chase a few of our bluefin one year.....
Anyway mate i better go as i have to do some work in the garden tommorow as it is looking very untidy
gday mick..mate talk about a rough day we have had a real shocker down down here... it snowed at snow today at work and i heard the weather on tv for tommorow and its going to be bad again...there forcasting a 8 meter swell for the south coast ....mate sharks have allways been a real intrest to me for years i have been reading about them and i have a collection of news paper cuttings mainly of shark attacks and a lot of tasmanian sightings and pictures of sharks caught before they become protected...mate a bloke i know was showing me last year what a very large mako done to his outbourd leg when they were berlying off eagle hawk neck the leg has deep scatches all over it were it went mad and try to eat it..mate i would loved to have been there as i am yet to see a good size shark close up...dont get me wrong mate i am no hero and some of the places i dive really spook me at times..i have just allways wanted to catch one or see a large one while in the relative saftey of a boat... mate last year ..(now your going to think im really nuts) me and another mate of mine took about 40 kg of berley to fortescue in my boat and headed out almost to the rock and punched the whole 40kg through my berly pot we had a slick happening for miles mate but nothing came anywere near the boat probebly a good thing in hindsight mate cause we were a long way from shore if something turned up and got nasty...anyway mate i supose we all got to do something a little bit crazy now and then just to get the heart ticking so that we know that we are still alive...anyway mate the boss told us today that we can start our holidays after tommorow so i hope this wind goes away cause i think that 8 meter swell would be a bit to much excitment for me....well mate that enough of me tonight...talk to you soon mate......brian
Mate Sharks well i think we have to give them respect mate specially whites not long ago really it would have been last summer a abolone diver was taken by 16 foot white pionter over at port lincoln way mate the thing is really mate alot of the people over there wanted this white killed fair enuff as it has killed a community man... but in all fairness to the shark i still say it should survive as that shark has more right to be there then us humans....Dont get me wrong mate i hate hearing about shark releated deaths but Some people dont respect sharks becuase they are a predator....Some say the Diver has more right to be in an area just becuase he makes a living out of it.....I think this is a very wrong attitude by alot of people i include myself in that attitude really becuase really us humans are entering the domain of sharks wether it will be a beach or diving fora living we take these risks mate and know what to expect if we enter the sea we do it our own risk and that we shouldnt kill a shark just becuase it thinks its feed time for him......
Sorry Mate i am just a bit passionate in ways about sharks as you are specially living in a well known white pointer area.....
Mate a few months ago we had a whale die here in South Australia Down near Cape Jervois and the amont of white pointers that were feeding of this carcass i wish at the time i was able to take the boat out and view what was going on down there but work commitents stopped me there....What really upset me mate there was this lunatic and held his ten year old Son on his shoulders and stood on the rotting whale carcass while 20ft whites feed of the rotting carcass i will never forget that and if i ever meet the lunatic well i wont go there....But the stupid thing Some people goto and then there families want the shark dead just becuase a lunatic did such a stupid thing....
Mate I also would love to catch a shark mate but i would have to say iwould release the shark back into the wild mate as these fish are glorious fish of the sea and ones that should be respected....Mate don't get me wrong mate i am not having ago at you as i know you wouldnt pull crazy stunts like that fellow with the whale carcass.... Anyway mate i will stop talking about those gracious animals mate......
Anyway mate i am up at 4 in the morning for a 5:30 start mate chasing a few salmon down at waitpinga mate but i wont be able to spend the whole day down there as i may get called in to load some trucks up tommorow mate i got a call at 2pm today to be at toll ipec to load some trucks mind you the pay is good 20 bucks an hour but the hours mate could take anywhere from 4-8hours but they try to keep it at the minimum mate and depends on how much they have to send of interstate...
Mate i think i will let ya have ya swell mate it looks as if you maybe confind to the like of the derwent pitty ya didnt go and get that trout licence mate you could always shoot of up around bridgewater around the lime kilns for a trout or 2 and even get a bream or 2 up that way...
anyway mate better go as i am expecting a big day tommorow fishing and possibly working as well...
gdaymick...yes mate you are right about how sharks should not be killed because of attacks on humans..while i can understand how the familys of victims might feel in regards to this subject,i feel the same as you when it comes to the great white...mate they are to be treated with the highest respect for what they are; the greatest predator ever createted...mate as you know my second great love is diving and every time i get in the water i know the rules..i am an intruder in an environment that i have no real buisness being in...mate while i have no great wish to ever be eaten, i accept the risk gladly and would not whish any harm to a shark if i was to be attacked..dont get me wrong mate i would be more than a bit pissed if i was ever unfortunate enough to be attacked..but when all is said and done they are only doing what they were designed to do...so having said that mate i should make it clear that i would have no problem catching a mako to keep,other than the fact that the white is protected i would never dream of killing such a perfect animal....anyway mate sounds like we have something else in common, that being loading trucks...mate at the risk of incriminating my self mate i am a logger and my job is to load log trucks...mate its not a job that i like its just that its about the only job i have ever been any good at and it feeds the family for now... anyway mate if you are still talking to me after all that how did you go today did you fish ???..mate we have already postponed our trip to fortescue cause the wind is not going to ease down here right up to monday so far...mate i started my holidays today wouldent you know it....mate the elephant fish have just turned up in the derwent so i have been told buy a reliable source so i will be out after them asap,and i have promised my dad that i will take him to cremorne through the week sometime to target some flathead his favorate fish...anyway mate thats about it from me tonight so i will talk to you again soon mate....brian
Mate i wouldnt stop talking to you just becuase you had just a different opinion mate gee that would be a bit petty mate thats what makes us humans mate having our own opinions geesh mate I wouldnt hold it against you if you wish to keep a mako mate no problem what so ever....You are quite entitled to its like myself mate i would bring home a 15 kg knuckle mate.......Mate loading trucks mate not to bad a job little bit heavy at time loading the trucks and unloading but hey as ya said it puts food on the table.....
Mate i did go fishing this morning and it wasnt a bad day really up at 4.30am and finished fishing about midday for 1 cocky salmon but we were were getting bites but it was a battle bringing the buggers in as we lost them mainly in the surf as it was a full on surf mate......It was quite good fun as it was with some people i also talk to on the net mate and we just had a ball mate just chatting and having a fish we didnt really worry to much about the the fish it was just a great day all round mate but i only just got home an hour ago mate from work got called in for a 2.30pm start so i havent had much rest for the day as i was on my way home from fishing when i got the call in and i was just leaving Victor Harbour which is about 100k out of Adelaide....So i was in a bit of a mad rush to get home and changed out of the fishing cloths and into work mode so i am hell stuffed mate fishing early this morning to an hour ago takes abit out of ya but doesnt matter mate it was a good day out and was lucky enuff to have a fish through the week...
Anyway mate i better go as i am just about falling asleep here at the keyboard mate...
Mate go and chase them elephant fish mate on light gear you will have a ball.....Mate cremorne mate i love flat head fishing down there mate the only thing i dont like is beach luanching but its great to get out there chasing a few crocs mate they will certainly give ya feed down there mate....
so cheers mate looking forward to talking to ya again prolly tommorow night....
gday mick...mate sounds like you sure did have a big day...its great that you got out for a fish mate..surf fishing aye mate i've never had a go at that... as you now mate surf fishing is not that big down here in tas,not as popular as it seems to be over there on the big island...anyway mate the weather still sucks over here but i might cheat a bit tommorow and go down the wharfe in hobart throw the rods in and sit in the car...mate last time i did go to the wharfe i took a tin of cat food and spooned a bit in every now and then it wasent long before i had a school of snottys going mad..they were only small ones so i kept on throwing them back but i had a bit of fun while it lasted.......anyway mate going back a post or 2 you said that you was going to make your own sinkers...mate i made some more today and mate i have got a good tip for ya..the melting pot i was using the other day was a thin bottom pot and it took ages for the lead to melt,so i went to a second hand shop today and brought a small thick bottom one...mate it sure made a lot of differance in melting time...another thing you are going to need is some welding gloves expecially if you are making big snapper leads like i have been making,cause mate after a few pours the mould gets real bloody hot.. anyway mate i think it is a good idea to make your self some cause you will save heaps of money in the long run cause they are not cheap aye and it doesent take long to loose $20 bucks worth of sinkers on a bad day...anyway mate thats about it for me tonight hopefully if i get down the wharfe tommorow i will have something to report to ya tommorow night...ok mate have a good weekend and going on our uasual proformance i will talk to you tommorow night.......brian
Hi Brian
don't know why they dont surf fish down there but when the words out up here mate ya cant find a spot on the beach to park. the spots are mainly east inlet and seven mile beach (yep we have one up here to) at the heads of the duck river. one of the club members was telling me last year they found a blue eye trevalla of 18 pound wash on the beach at seven mile and only dead about 1 hour he reckons. just been given a heap of snapper photos to put on the Circular head sportfishing web site (when i have time) the fish were all caught last year. still not happening at the moment brian but soon, weather blown and rainin like a ba........ so no one really fishin but there is plenty of itchy feet waiting to go, so on the first good day i thing there is going to be about 20 to30 boats headin over. any way i will keep ya posted
and
also
Hi Mick
cheers blaze
Hey guys you are turning me off saving for a trip to SA or TAS with this shark talk..have been in a 5mtr boat n belted up the stern by a shark and that was enough for me...no prop chewing tho..n e ways..in the past few weeks have caught some nice bream but not much else...in sunny and windy qld ...cheers.
gday blaze..mate this bloody wind is driving me nuts..i bet you are getting a real hammering up...mate that will be great when you get those photos up mate let me know will ya when it happens...mate you have got me thinking about what i said about not many surf fisherman down this way...maybee i am not looking in the right places..its just that i dont see any in the areas that i fish in....mate i think that the wind is supposed to slow right down wednesday so being on holidays i will be going then hopefully...anyway mate nice to hear from you and thanks for the update...hope to talk to again soon mate........brian
gday jaybee...sunny windy queensland mate sounds like the weather we have been having down here in tas except its been snowing at the same time...i was outside today mucking around and the sun would burn your eyes out but at the same time it was snowing on mount wellington which is just up behind my house...mate if you like your bream fishing you should come to tas there is a river full of them here in hobart...(thats if the sharks dont get em first)...anyway mate great to hear from you hope to talk to you again soon......brian
Mate this sinker making is fairly easy stuff mate i have made plenty myself in mytime mate...I am actually thinking of making a couple of die cast up mate using green sand and the device i am thinking of making ya wont have to handle hot lead. it just a matter of getting a design drawn then building it......ya see i have had a bit of experience in foundry work mate.... so with that experience mate i should be able to come up with a fang dangled device for sinker moulds....
Brian it was my first time surf fishing mate over here in South oz i did go a couple of times over in tas mate as i know there is quite a few surf beaches down South mate on the neck of bruny is good spot for surf fishing and down south arm way mate....
anyway it has been cold and miserable here the past few days it seems we are copping tassies weather this time.. i was hoping to get the boat out today but shes gale force here mate...anyway i better go mate as the lady of my heart wants to go somewhere tommorow i better hit the sack...
mick
hiya rob hows the fishing going mate ya like the weather i pushed over from S.A mate
gday Jaybee
mate nothing to worry about the sharks down here in south oz there only baby whites at 16ft mate......
gday mick... mate green sand aye...mate at the risk of sounding like an idiot what the hell is green sand... ???....anyway mate i never went anywere today as the weather was bloody shocking,snowing, bloody windy,and tons of rain..and i have a suspision that you are sending it all the way from adelaide cause thats the way it appears to be coming from...so mate i made some more sinkers today instead this time i made some real big bombs for when the current is strong out on the deeper reefs...i made them in a lenght of aluminium vacum cleaner hose cut into peices... put each peice one by one into the vice and got a swivel and a nail..put the nail through the swivel and rested the nail across the top of the pipe..poured the lead into the pipe so so that the lead filled one end of the swivel and then sliced the alum pipe of with a hack saw and hey presto one chunky big sinker...mate another way i have made them in the past is in potatoes that works allright as well as long as you dont want to take a photo of them...anyway mate i better shut up about sinker before we get lead poisoning ...not much else to report on this end mate so i will probibly catch up with you tommorow night mate......brian
brian i have been using plaster of paris for all my moulds(after making mould let dry for a week before use)
weather lousy put the gear in the van three times today and unloaded three times. might through a 2 kg rod in tomorrow and goto the stanley wharf and catch a few small sweep and stick some tags in them I NEED TO FISH SOON INSANTITY IS CREEPING UP AT AN ALARMING RATE
Mate greensand iswhat they use in making die cast moulds....it is like sand but hardens like a rock and can with stand molten metal mate.....
Mate yeah i know mate my folks rang last night and they was telling me the weather has been arather cold and shocken mate....so i dont blame ya for not going mate...the same is happening here in S.A mate except we aint getting the snow....
Mate there isnt to much more to say but hey lets hope next weekend is alot better