Tassie Bluefin - Page 22
Page 22 of 27 FirstFirst ... 12131415161718192021222324252627 LastLast

Thread: Tassie Bluefin

Ausfish Addict

Re: Tassie Bluefin

Hey mick
    Well we got wind up here, my flares are now out of date and need to fix a few financial things up, such is life eh.Anyway congrats on the catch, my mate said he caught some nice whiting down the sand pumping jetty all in excess of 32 cms, only around 8 plus a heap of dart.
    joe.

Hi Mick, Joe ,Brain
    joe I think maybe you may have sent the lousy weather down under, still only had the tri out the once. Pretty keen to go out for a fish , maybe this week as work is quiet again (seem to be flat out or stopped, maybe a job rather than contract might be better, but the time off is a prob then). Still have'nt heard of any more snapper being caught, maybe they made an early run this year. The kingies will be appearring about march.
    Brain Keep us informed of that charter if it comes off mate, Believe i am going on a interclub trip in march down the east coast. Just spent 18 bloody hours building a boat trailer to put the old boat on to sell (nearly finished) try to recoup some dollars.
    Your thoughts on this sinario
    Buying the Boss (Wife) another car after christmas, does that allow me to buy a new outboard( which would be cheaper than the car) Gota be worrth a try LOL

Ausfish Addict

Hi Blaze
    Lost power last night through a storm somewhere to the west. you get that. So how is the new rig performing are you happy with it. I too am keen to get out for a fish, not into wasting time, energy and money the way the weather is though. Pity you have to wait till after Christmas to buy the car. If you can afford it buy both, and slip the outboard under the chrissy tree, and say there is a Santa Clauss after all. Maybe you can leave a note on the tree for the wife to check the driveway, and have a car with a ribbon tied in a bow. just a thought, being Christmas day you would more then likely get away with it eh.

Hi Joe
    Happen to mention my idea's to the boss and she said the outboard will have to wait a bit longer( or i have to work more), so for the time being i will have to look at the car in the driveway and keep checking outboard prices( just looking dear) that will be my story any way.
    Plan to head out today for a fish but as you said Joe not much point in putting the boat in the water to run the motors

Ausfish Addict

Hi Blaze
    no power again when i arrived home, a burglar alarm woke me signifying it was back on. oh well at least you tried give you full marks for that, maybe after the car the boss may make it easier for you eh. best of luck.
    joe

gday everyone... rob not to much to report from the south either mate except the water is warming up ...aparrantly the current inshore temp on the peninsular is about 14,and possibly warmer offshore so i am really starting to think tuna now...mate you mention an interclub trip in march i wonder if it is anythink to do with the tuna club i have joined down here ???.......

joe.... thanks for the reminder must replace my flares also..... i have a few that are also out of date...more bloody money is there any end to it.....

gday mick...hows things mate i hope all is well....mate i know what you mean about things being a bit hectic..im having the same trouble,not enough hours in the day it seems...mate i got all my membership things from the tuna club today... and i have been looking at all the comp dates for the year..i am thinking that this is going to be on hell of a year for fishing as this year i will be able to fish offshore more in the bigger boat...last year they fished mainly the shelf area,so i am looking forward to maybe spotting the odd marlin,as last year the boat i am fishing on was buzzed by one,it checked out every lure in the spread and apparantly didnt see a flavor it liked and dissapeared.....anyway mate thats enough of me for now............cheers mate.....brian

Ausfish Addict

No Brian there is no bloody end to it once you have a boat, my brother once said to me, a definition of a boat is : A HOLE YOU PUT IN THE WATER AND POUR MONEY INTO IT: what do reckon is he right or not. Have a good one guys.
    joe

Yep going fishin
    got up at 4.30 am hook on the boat, got the bait, rods etc, pulled out the driveway, wound down the window in the van (and cleaned the sh.... out of the eyes) and put the boat away and unloaded. All I now asks is how can we control the weather (all i want is a couple of hours) is that to much to ask. the bloody weather has if nothing else improved my typing skills (four fingers now), and lots of backspacing
    checked my flares o/k till 2004
    Brian- do you also carry 2 rocket flares
    Joe- your right, a great hole in the ocean.
    Hi mick
    ps- i wana catch a fish, not learn how to type

Ausfish Addict

Hi Blaze
    methinks you a couple of hundred thousand more are in the same boat at present. Wanna catch a fish. some of the guys are getting out early up here, just local, a k offshore, in the bay, for just a feed. but its out and a feed. but by 8 am its time to pack it in. My bro down brunswick heads hasnt been able to get out again, but he is making it up with oysters, flathead, bream, mullet, whiting, the odd jack and mud crabs in the river. He rings up to rub it in. He walks 30 feet from his back door and he is on the river.
    cheers.
    joe.

Hi mick, joe, brian
    Out of bed 4.30 and went to work, home at 10.30, weather good, no wind , no rain, take a chance and hook up the boat, weather still o/k
    This is finally the day. Headed out to my gps mark for a gummy and flathead. Fishing slow 6 keepers (flathead about 450mm). headed up to an oyster lease about 10km away, 1 flattie about 500mm on a pink franger, still slow, headed across to Robins island and trawled for 4 small blackback about 400mm and 2 snook at 600mm. Drifted about 2 km for 2 parrot fish and 1 lost franger to a school of bloody hungry couta at about 900mm (non boat, I hate them).
    Headed back into the estuary near home, drop the pick at 1 nav boye, no bites, moved further up the river and scored a good feed of silver trevally and a heap of small salmon ( released)
    Finally a day on the water, fairly quite, but still a wonderful day of trouble free boating and fishin.
    I think all my stress just drifted out to sea, what a wonderful part of the world this is
    happy happy happy
    I also read a report the snapper are on the move

gday brian rob and joe

Well some intersting things happening here in the wondful world of south oz latey

Went out fishing yesterday with a mate cuaght a few tommies and a gar bit of dodge tide so not much around but it was just good getting out on the water in 30 something degree day...

Anyway while we where sitting of outer harbour a call came over the 27 meg a 18 foot great white circling and 18foot tinny of hallet cove which is in the metro waters...

Anyway sea rescue replies to the guy do you require any assistance the guy reurns and say nah thanks we aint spooked/shocked enuff yet......

anyway the white would have been hanging around for 1 reason Snapper...as snapper is part of the great white sharks diet.....

anyway there is some great reports of late that snapper are showing up in the metro waters so i will be heading out soon to get me a snapper

anyway guys gotta go take care and i will talk soon

Ausfish Addict

Hi Blaze,Oz n brian, glad to hear you guys got out on the water, my turn will come one bloody day.

So whats the score with the white pointer now oz, shark heaps, fishermen nil LOL. anyway just got home from work need a shower n a sleep catch up with you all later
    joe.

Ausfish Addict

hi guys, was just doing some research when I came across this, reminded me of a chat from a while back about dead and injured porpise.There is some interesting stuff covering SA and tassie
    here is the link to the site

http://www.users.bigpond.com/wildlif...a/fallacy.html

Sunday, 27 October 2002

The claims of the Sea Cage industry protecting native fish stock is highly questionable, disease and nutrients aside, the science and results show the Sea Cage industry require native fish stock to produce adequate quality and quantities of pellets to feed to sea cage fish; they appear to take native fish stock from countries and eco systems that can ill afford to lose them. The problem of collapsing native fisheries is the consequence of the current and past governments failure to ensure our native fish stocks are managed sustainably. Further, poor management has allowed our catchments to be degraded and denuded of bushland, which ultimately impacts upon our coastal resources. A genuine focus on sustainable development and in particular achieving a sustainable human population is needed, not a lack of recognition that there are limits to growth. The Sea Cage industry isn't the solution to our failing native fisheries.

As for the nutrient load, in South East Queensland we have spent 300 million dollars of our taxes and council rates to remove 1000 tonnes of nutrients from Moreton Bay; will the Sea Cage proponents pay their fair share? Even based upon their questionable nutrient figures they will owe Queenslanders 7.5 million dollars for each site, and there are four sites. The so called improvements in technology and management practices such as fallowing - the technique of moving cages from one site to another, still results in the sea floor not returning to original state until between 11 - 14 months. All this will occur in the most pristine part of the Marine Park.

Does the Sea Cage industry help the environment? In Tasmania, the Sea Cage industry's alleged home of best practice, the industry has been given approval to cull protected seals because they scare sea cage fish and damage the cages. Illegal killing of seals has already been happening. The CSIRO shows one disease alone is costing the Tasmanian sea cage salmon industry over 15 million dollars a year. In South Australia 32 dolphins between 1993 and 1996 were killed by sea cage infrastructure and in August this year a whale was trapped. Large numbers of Yellowtail Kingfish, a large predatory fish, have escaped from South Australian sea cages and are identified as a possible cause of the reduction of local native fish stocks.

The question is, do you really want this industry in a Marine Park or are our parks too precious to risk.

Simon Baltais Secretary WPSQ Bayside Branch

gday joe...mate yep sure sounds right to me... i have been having a real prick of a run lately..everything i touch turns to s--t...as you know the yamaha is still carrying on like you woudent beleive...
    (might swap it for a chrysler >)and not to be outdone my dive compressor has just had a big guts ache and pumped oil all throught my filters..so that in the process of a rebuild >..and if thats not enought i lost a $100 dollar mask on satarday...other than all that mate life is great ....so i think that i would say that anything to do with boats is a hole to pour money into...but having just said that i am thinking that these thing are sent to test us and thats fishing........cheers mate.......brian

gday rob....frangers ??? mate you must be fishing to close to the sewage works ....anyway mate i also heard about the snapper, there was a report in the sunday paper down here saying that there was a 6kg snapper caught in the tamar last weekend...so mate things might be looking up....good to see you have been out on the water... anyway mate hows the boat preforming does it handle the water allright ???...mate as far as the rocket flares go i have 2 but like the rest they are also out of date so i will have to get a plan on them also.... i think the price of them was pretty scarey last time i brought them so i bet they havent got any cheaper...oh well its only more money.....cheers mate..............brian

gday mick...mate all these bloody sharks,...hell mate if i ever make it over there i think that i will be leaving the wetsuit at home here in tas...talking about sharks mate there was a bloke telling the wife at her work,that a diver was bumped at tinderbox last week by a small 10 ft shark...but it sounds like bull s--t to me........mate like i was telling joe i have had a hell of a time with gear lately, so i am hopefully finishing work for christmas on wensday...then there will be a lot of work going on fixing gear so that i can go to nubeena for a week over the christmas...mate speaking of christmas will you be coming down under for christmas ???..anyway mate keep your arms and legs inside the boat , and good luck with the snapper....better go mate, hope all is well over there.....cheers mate...................brian

p.s...... mick just checked the email...thanks mate i will get you back some how ...............brian