Thread: Long Tails at Bulwer (Inside Moreton Is) March

Long Tails at Bulwer (Inside Moreton Is) March

these long tail tuna were caught on the drop off at Bulwer - Moreton Is in march. They were caught live baiting a Yakka under a float. 4 were caught in 2 days fishing. The Biggest weighed 29.5 kg which i believe is almost there maxium growing size.
    Cheers Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Re: Long Tails at Bulwer (Moreton Is) March

this is a 22kg one the bigger one is laying on the boat

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Re: Long Tails at Bulwer (Inside Moreton Is) March

awesome fish greg, cant wait till easter..

The are good fish, awful lot of crab bait though

lo. i was going to say that.. what does one do with over 50kg's of tuna greg?

The tuna make great baits when you cut the flesh into long strips of about 10-20 cm long and about 2cm wide. Looks very natural when u put a thin end to the bait, looks like a tail which waves in the current. Fairly tough flesh so it hangs on pretty good. I never use the skin with it but, its way too tough. And the rest goes to make great berly

Cheers Greg

well next time i need burley i know where to visit

If you bleed them quickly and slice a cut into the tail area both sides of the fish, ice them and cut out the blood lines (main ones). Thye aren't bad to eat at all. Marinated in some soy sauce, minced garlic and some sambal olek (crushed chillies) they are pretty good. Seems kind of a waste to make burley of 4 big tuna though, try it next time.

Gentlemen,

You tastes need a touch of refining. I think you'll find that Longtails are an excellent eating fish. You need to expand your cooking repetoire a touch.

Greg - next time you nail a few and don't want them - send it my way - However you'd have to bleed them - which I notice you hadn't in the photo.

Bugman

Gday Brett
    Mate i would rather use these fish for bait to catch me tasty reef fish
    I will keep in mind that you like these fish and be more than happy to send them your way
    Cheers Greg

I'll even prepare some for you Greg